Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ShinyOldLady
Spokane, WA

July 4, 2008
7:32 PM

Post #5204124

I'm just a hobbyist, so I need some help. Most of my guidance is from books and I seem to have questions not specifically answered there.

Two years ago, I had one hive and they were all gone by the following year, so I took the hive apart, also bought a new one, and got 2 nucs this spring from a local honey farm. The first hive (the old one and its frames, which looked nice and clean) took off like the bees were on crack. I inspected them 10 days after I hived them, and they had already filled up 9 frames and were working on the tenth. Frames looked busy and healthy, so I added a second deep body. Yesterday (two weeks after the first inspection) , they had drawn out 7-8 of those frames, emptied their hive feeder for a second time (about a gallon of syrup each time) so I took off the hive feeder, put on a queen excluder, and put a box of supers on top. Whew!

Second hive, after first visit, was fine, but not prospering. The frames looked healthy, with a small amount of chaulk brood the bees were busy getting rid of, but otherwise, there were eggs, and only one of the new frames was being worked on (the five from the nuc were busy). At this last inspection, they still had 3 frames relatively untouched, but seemed to be more active, so I interdipersed, the new frames in between some busier ones. They hadn't finished their syrup either time, but I put in fresh stuff.

I should mention that the syrup looked a bit moldy after first inspection, so I took both hive feeders off, washed them with soap and very diluted bleach and refilled with fresh syrup that had a few tablespoons of Honey-B-Healthy. They like this better, and no mold.