-
AuthorContent
dmdja
Fort Walton Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

July 30, 2008
10:38 PM

Post #5345526

Hi everyone. A newbie here. I have been reading the FAQ page but I couldn't find anything about "Mutant" seedlings. I bought a bunch of seeds off of EBay in August of 2006.
This is one of the seedlings that came up. This plant is almost 2 years old. The seeds were sold as Mardi Gras. I have plants from the same batch that are 3 feet tall. This plant is only 6 inches tall from the soil line. Is this common? Any chance it will ever flower? Could it be Grafted? Any info or insight would be appreciated. Thanks!! Dave

Thumbnail by dmdja
Click the image for an enlarged view.

dmdja
Fort Walton Beach, FL
(Zone 8b)

July 30, 2008
10:40 PM

Post #5345533

This is another shot to see the height.

Thumbnail by dmdja
Click the image for an enlarged view.

karmaplace
New Orleans, LA
(Zone 8b)

July 31, 2008
2:37 PM

Post #5348373

No advice here. . .I'm a plumie newbie myself. I think the variegated leaves look really cool and hope that it's not a virus or anything. I just ordered some Mardi Gras seeds. Have any of your seedlings bloomed? And if so, do they resemble "Mardi Gras" at all?

Lana
Clare_CA

(Zone 10b)

July 31, 2008
10:18 PM

Post #5350143

Whoa! I think you are one lucky person if that seedling stays variegated. It might even be a dwarf variegated -- highly desireable and worth a lot of money. It's beautiful! Keep a close eye on that.

You might try potting it up to a five-gallon container as the one-gallon container may be stunting its growth a bit. It's lovely. The variegation in the leaves is not caused by a virus but is a chimera.
Clare_CA

(Zone 10b)

July 31, 2008
10:20 PM

Post #5350152

I forgot to mention that, if you bought the seeds and sowed them, then it couldn't be grafted. It's a seedling. I do see what appears to be a graftline, but that couldn't be possible if that is a seedling from seed that you sowed.