| Author | Content |
marieortiz Tolleson, AZ (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 03:53 PM Post #5387334
| This add is not really selling anythign just directing us to their web site. Is this ok?
http://davesgarden.com/products/market/view/2327/ |
Dutchlady1 Naples, FL (Zone 10a)
August 08, 2008 04:37 PM Post #5387453
| I would think that is not what is intended for the marketplace, since any sales would be outside of DG and therefore generate no revenue for them. Maybe a good time to notify Dave.
|
ecrane3 Dublin, CA (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 04:39 PM Post #5387461
| That's something that looks like it would be better off in the Classifieds instead, there it's perfectly fine to direct someone to a website but the marketplace you're supposed to have an item to sell. |
plantladyhou Katy, TX (Zone 8b)
August 08, 2008 04:41 PM Post #5387466
| Did you see the "joined" date? 8/8/08Maybe a little confused or not well enough indoctrinated.
Ann |
Dutchlady1 Naples, FL (Zone 10a)
August 08, 2008 04:44 PM Post #5387469
| I agree, it belongs in the classifieds the way it is. |
june_nmexico Albuquerque, NM (Zone 7a)
August 08, 2008 04:47 PM Post #5387477
| That person just signed up today. Obviously not at all familiar
with how the marketplace works.
Hopefully Dave will enlighten her.
|
marieortiz Tolleson, AZ (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 04:51 PM Post #5387501
| I was thinking maybe he/she did not understand but I had no clue who to tell so they could inform them. I hope this was the right place to post. |
june_nmexico Albuquerque, NM (Zone 7a)
August 08, 2008 04:57 PM Post #5387527
| http://davesgarden.com/aboutus/
There is a link there to contact Admin |
ecrane3 Dublin, CA (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 04:59 PM Post #5387537
| I wonder if maybe they are selling Moringa seeds (although the item title doesn't make it clear that it's seeds)...if you look at the other listing they have, it's for jatropha seeds which they're selling for 1 penny each, so it could be they're selling Moringa seeds for 10 cents each. Here's their other listing: http://davesgarden.com/products/market/view/2328/ |
marieortiz Tolleson, AZ (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 04:59 PM Post #5387538
| See I knew some one would direct me!! |
marieortiz Tolleson, AZ (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 05:00 PM Post #5387546
| Well maybe I read the ad wrong then. |
ecrane3 Dublin, CA (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 05:11 PM Post #5387582
| Their listing is really confusing--they talk about so many other things too so it does seem like the main point might be to send you to their website, only reason I thought maybe they were really selling an item was because it was a little more obvious in their other listing. Still probably worth letting Dave know about it though, something still does seem a little fishy. |
june_nmexico Albuquerque, NM (Zone 7a)
August 08, 2008 05:17 PM Post #5387601
| It really does seem like a fully commercial website
which doesn't fit with the premise of DG Marketplace.
|
ecrane3 Dublin, CA (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 05:24 PM Post #5387629
| Well, we have commercial vendors here who list things in Marketplace and seems to me I've seen some of them list their websites on their listings, so I'm not sure that's against the rules as long as people are selling an item. |
june_nmexico Albuquerque, NM (Zone 7a)
August 08, 2008 06:07 PM Post #5387784
| Sorry, I misunderstood. Thanks for clarifying, Ecrane.
June |
KatG Port Charlotte, FL (Zone 10a)
August 08, 2008 06:50 PM Post #5387939
| Okay...what about something like this? I've just recently put together a website (mainly because of the communication problems with people who sign up as new members after finding my products on other sites). However...I have the Dave's Marketplace banner directing them here???? (I'd rather they bought on Dave's and I'm not listing all the products on the website!)
http://stonefacecreations.homestead.com/
Is that a Bad on my part?
Kat
|
Marylyn_TX Houston, TX (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 08:00 PM Post #5388149
| Since Dave made that image and therefore is the copyright owner, you need to ask his permission to use it. Chances are very good he'll have no problem with it, but you do need to ask him first or you are violating his copyright. There is no problem having a link to the Marketplace on your site, however. :-) |
glendalekid Tuscaloosa, AL (Zone 7b)
August 08, 2008 08:34 PM Post #5388275
| I went to the web site in the ad above. If you can figure out how to purchase seeds and how much they cost on that web site, you are way ahead of me. At least the Marketplace ad has a "buy now" button with a drop down -- although there is no mention of shipping costs or anything like that. I thought maybe he was confused -- language problem or something -- but after looking at his web site, I don't know what the heck he's doing. Maybe in India a customer decides what he or she wants and e-mails the seller for a total.
Karen
|
ecrane3 Dublin, CA (Zone 9a)
August 08, 2008 09:48 PM Post #5388700
| Kat--I think you're fine, lots of vendors have things for sale on their websites but sell some selected things here too. And I think the banner is fine too, that's why Dave made it so that people could put a link to the marketplace on their websites. |
KatG Port Charlotte, FL (Zone 10a)
August 10, 2008 10:47 PM Post #5397456
| Thanks Ecrane - Nah...I don't think there's a problem as Dave put out the banner for everybody's use!
Kat
http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/860407/ |
Marylyn_TX Houston, TX (Zone 9a)
August 11, 2008 01:17 AM Post #5397965
| Ohh... I'm sorry!!!!! I totally forgot about that... For some reason I was thinking that banner was on the top of the Marketplace page. Forget what I said about asking Dave's permission!! |
UniQueTreasures Beaumont, TX (Zone 8b)
August 12, 2008 05:25 AM Post #5402990
| Kat,
I gotta tell you that was a fun read (The Cranium Family). Hilarious!
Good Luck and be sure to invite us all to the wedding. :-)
Janet |