Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Article: Pears and How To Grow Them: know your pears

Communities > Forums > Article: Pears and How To Grow Them
bookmark
Forum: Article: Pears and How To Grow ThemReplies: 5, Views: 72
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
pejiduta8
Denver, CO
(Zone 5a)

August 20, 2008
8:09 PM

Post #5442817

I was under the impression that pear trees don't last all that long, but then again, I have had zero experience with them. In the subdivision next to mine, the contractor planted pear trees in nearly every yard. But almost all of the trees eventually split down the middle and had to be removed. My friend was one of the last to succumb to this tragedy, having to yank out her tree last year. Do you know what the problem is that causes the trunks to split in half? Maybe the trees were the non-fruiting el-crappo ones you say should be avoided?
MitchF
Lindsay, OK
(Zone 7a)

August 20, 2008
8:39 PM

Post #5442981

They are the non-fruiting ones. The real fruit trees are very long lived and do not look perfect and round.
jazzzy704
Fenton, MI
(Zone 5b)

August 25, 2008
3:09 PM

Post #5465263

pejiduta8,
The pear trees that split are the landscape non fruiting version. The problem is that they have VERY heavy branching and unless a knowledgeable pruning is done at regular intervals the top gets too heavy and the tree can not support the weight of the branching. We see here in Michigan subdivisions full of these beautiful pear trees and i know they are one storm or strong wind away from death!!
PS does anyone have any variety preferences? Do you need 2 different varieties?
Julie
pejiduta8
Denver, CO
(Zone 5a)

August 27, 2008
2:08 PM

Post #5473913

Thanks for the replies. Now I am better informed and that's always a good thing!
GardenWhisperer
Barnegat, NJ

September 8, 2008
1:22 AM