Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Heirloom Vegetables: How has climate change affected your growing conditions?

Communities > Forums > Heirloom Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Heirloom VegetablesReplies: 8, Views: 86
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
roseimp
(Rosie) Belturbet
Ireland

August 25, 2008
6:54 PM

Post #5466199

Hi, I'm a newbie to DG and just wanted to know if anyone has any tales to tell of the changes in their gardening methods or the plants they now grow? I moved here to Ireland from the UK two years ago and we have had no summers at all during that time - just rainy day after another rainy day. I'm not used to gardening in bogland and have given up - I am growing in containers and planning a couple of raised beds. But am I doing the right thing? I'm especially interested in growing vegetables but are there any types of veg you can grow in extremely wet conditions? I mean on ground that NEVER dries out.
This year I grew some of the red flowered heritage broad bean but they haven't matured. I've grown broad beans in very wet soil last year and they produced a reasonable crop but this year - no luck.

This message was edited Aug 26, 2008 5:48 AM
sgriffith
Beaver, WV
(Zone 5b)

August 26, 2008
2:04 PM

Post #5469660

This year has given me some new puzzles to deal with. The summer has been so cold here. Day temperatures have been 5 degrees or so colder, but the night temperatures have been cold.

As for crops, it has been hard to raise melons and peppers with the cool weather. My tomatoes have done well. I've had some new things such as phosphorus deficiencies to deal with, but overall my tomato crop has been awesome this year. We'll be canning tomatoes for the first time in years.