Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Garden Talk: What's growin' under your lights?

Communities > Forums > Garden Talk
bookmark
Forum: Garden TalkReplies: 17, Views: 334
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
poppysue
Westbrook, ME
(Zone 5a)

February 15, 2001
12:52 PM

Post #1397

I thought it would be fun to hear what everyone has growing under their lights and on the window sills. I know it's still early here but I've got quite a few of the slower perennials started that I'm pretty excited about. This is my first year growing hosta & daylilies from seeds. I can't believe how easily the seeds germinated & I'm looking forward to seeing how these little babies turn out.

Some other first timers for me that I have growing already are hardy geraniums (a slew of different kinds), black berry & candy lilies, regal lily, pumilla lily, pulsatilla, heuchera, achillea clypeolata, brugmansia sanguinea, baptisia minor, callirhoe, pelargonium geraniums, passion flower, and lavender. I also have some iris seeds that germinated really easily from seed. I'm wondering if these are a tender species because they sprouted with out any cold treatment. My trader just called them native iris.

I have oodles of other seeds chilling in the fridge and out on my porch. I also went out last week and dug a pit in the snow to bury some flats. I'm really excited with all my traded seeds this year & I'm wondering where all these new seedling will go!! The last few years I've had a plant sale and I always have done a lot of planting just for that. This year I'm taking a break from the plant sale and growing just for myself.

Lets hear what you have growing? Anything you're excited about? Are you starting seeds for the first time? Anything shock you by jumping out of the soil way before its time?
dave

February 15, 2001