Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Heirloom Vegetables: Heirloom lettuce

Communities > Forums > Heirloom Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Heirloom VegetablesReplies: 7, Views: 109
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

beebonnet

beebonnet
Coos Bay, OR
(Zone 9a)

September 15, 2008
11:44 PM

Post #5556320

I have been growing an heirloom lettuce for several years now. It's called French Heirloom lettuce and I got the seed from an exchange on GardenWeb. I love it and it's beautiful. It has green and kind of a rusty red leaf. It grows nice and big even though I use the cut and come again method of harvesting. It just keeps producing nice big leaves. Eventually goes into a rosette. Great taste and easy to grow in the cooler weather times. I save seeds from it every year and plan on putting them on my seed exchange page soon. I would love to trade for other heirloom veggies, especially Amish Paste Tom. and maybe that great looking gray zucchini I saw on this thread or whatever tastes great. I have some young ones growing now for fall and plan to take a picture of them soon. I went to the Italian Seed Co. others have posted and I see two there that remind me for this great lettuce. Anyone like to try it??
LenaBeanNZ
Brisbane
Australia
(Zone 10b)

September 20, 2008
12:43 AM

Post #5574055

Id be interested in a trade. I havent found a lettuce variety that I like much yet, or one that grows well in winter. Winter is a better time to grow I think, because theres less bugs around! I grow organically so refuse to spray. Whats your lettuce called?