Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Article: Shake down your plants for free seed: an introduction to collecting seeds: First year seed gathering

Communities > Forums > Article: Shake down your plants for free seed: an introduction to collecting seeds
bookmark
Forum: Article: Shake down your plants for free seed: an introduction to collecting seedsReplies: 7, Views: 38
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
ACWinOH
Sandusky, OH
(Zone 5a)

October 20, 2008
7:25 PM

Post #5695550

I've been gardening for many years but decided to gather seeds for the first time this year so I was pleased to see this article. I have some plants screaming, "hey, here are my seeds!" like cleome and blackberry/candy lily, so of course I have scads of those and I saved dried heads of some favorite annuals planning to plant the whole thing because I just could not figure out where the seeds were, as in Melampodium and a lovely Marguerite daisy. Now I'll see if I can find the actual seed, but there's always Plan A - plop the whole thing in the ground. Thanks so much for this article! I'm so happy there are folks here willing to share what is obvious to them for folks like me who need Dick & Jane directions! - Carol
critterologist
Frederick, MD
(Zone 6b)

October 20, 2008
7:32 PM

Post #5695581

It sounds like you're off to a great start!

I was looking at a dried Melampodium flower just yesterday, trying to remember what the seeds I'd planted looked like... I picked it apart, and I *think* I saw some bits that had darker things inside the pale straw colored flower fragment... I just saved the whole thing. LOL

Some flowers with teeny seeds will drop just the seed into your baggie if you bend the flowerhead down into the bag and rattle it around. :-)
ACWinOH
Sandusky, OH