Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Cooking: Any Spatzle makers here?

Communities > Forums > Cooking
bookmark
Forum: CookingReplies: 45, Views: 270
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
andidandi
Arlington, VA

October 20, 2008
11:05 PM

Post #5696390

Does anyone here make spaetzle? If so, how do you form it? And if you have a recipe that would be great. I am new to it, and can't get it to turn out. (The recipe I had suggests forcing it through a spaghetti strainer. That sounds great, but didn't quite work.) Thanks.

-A

This message was edited Nov 10, 2008 2:45 PM

This message was edited May 23, 2009 4:28 PM
ladygardener1
Near Lake Erie, NW, PA
(Zone 5a)

October 20, 2008
11:19 PM

Post #5696445

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00004UE89

If you can get your hands on one of these, they work great! fits right over your pot of boiling water and slide the hopper back and forth, dought falls right in the water! Don't need the expensive Stainless Steel ones, the cheap one works just fine.
andidandi
Arlington, VA

October 20, 2008
11:38 PM

Post #5696503

Thanks ladygardener1! One more gadget for the kitchen!
Kenarden
Bar Harbor, ME

October 24, 2008
1:42 PM

Post #5711334

I agree w/ladygardener. The tool is very helpful.
MsKatt
Mid-Michigan, MI
(Zone 5b)

October 25, 2008
3:44 AM

Post #5713751

I make spaetzle quite often. I do it the old-fashioned way and just pinch of tiny bits of dough...with buttered fingers, of course. :)
ladygardener1
Near Lake Erie, NW, PA
(Zone 5a)

October 25, 2008
2:33 PM

Post #5714694