Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Gingers: Can anyone ID this one?

Communities > Forums > Gingers
bookmark
Forum: GingersReplies: 8, Views: 71
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

wind

wind
Mount Laurel, NJ
(Zone 7a)

November 5, 2008
8:39 PM

Post #5756171

Hi, I'm just getting into growing gingers and got this plant from a friendly neighbor. She said it blooms pink for her. It just started to bloom about a week ago for us and it is white and VERY FRAGRANT :)

Thanks for any help on the ID
~Diana

Thumbnail by wind
Click the image for an enlarged view.

gothqueen
Gainesville, FL

November 5, 2008
8:45 PM

Post #5756186

probably Hedychium coronarium, but there are some other white hedychiums. In zone 6B I would guess coronarium though, its the most common white in the trade

wind

wind
Mount Laurel, NJ
(Zone 7a)

November 5, 2008
9:02 PM

Post #5756253

Thank you, I was just wondering and thinking the same thing after seeing a similar photo a few posts down in the forum. I was mistakenly thinking it was Z. officinales.

this is the bottom and what the leaves look like

Thumbnail by wind
Click the image for an enlarged view.

gothqueen
Gainesville, FL

November 5, 2008
9:42 PM

Post #5756364

Zingiber officinales is the common kitchen ginger you buy at the store. Its blooms are basilar, not terminal. It blooms with little green and yellow "pinecones" like a shampoo ginger.

Your plant is a Hedychium, a butterfly ginger. It looks like it is supposed to, but it is badly in need of repotting. Yo need to cover those rhizomes with fresh soil and put it in a larger container.

wind

wind
Mount Laurel, NJ
(Zone 7a)

November 5, 2008
10:32 PM

Post #5756532