Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Bird Watching: Hello! A question about Suet please

Communities > Forums > Bird Watching
bookmark
Forum: Bird WatchingReplies: 18, Views: 113
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
darkmoondreamer
(Karen) Frankston, TX
(Zone 8a)

November 23, 2008
1:45 AM

Post #5820985

Hello, I am Karen. I am a real novice concerning birds compared to you guys, but popped in to see if any of you could answer a question that I can't get solved by Googling...

The suet I put out in my yard goes untouched, like forever! I put some out last year and it wasn't touched. I have many, many birds that feed in my yard, although I am not familiar with the varieties other than Cardinals and Bluebirds. The suet stayed through the winter untouched, went through the summer untouched, melted and then had to be thrown away.

3 months ago, I bought more suet. The blocks came from a Wild Bird store, so they are better quality than WM I think. I bought peanut butter, hot pepper and some with fruit and nuts in it. I thought I was really providing a treat for them, and am very disappointed that not one nibble has ever been eaten. I feel like I'm wasting my money. Why won't my birds touch the suet? Thank you very much for any advice!
Methodical
Clinton, MD
(Zone 7a)

November 23, 2008
1:56 AM

Post #5821017

for one the 2 birds you mentioned don't eat suet - Cardinal (seeds, insects) and the Blure bird (insects). Do you have a feeder with seeds (i.e blackoil sunflower, safflower etc.)? If you put those out the birds may come and then notice the suet.

For me as it's getting colder the birds don't come like they use to but I do get some and when the seeds are gone they began eating the suet.

This message was edited Nov 22, 2008 8:57 PM
darkmoondreamer
(Karen) Frankston, TX
(Zone 8a)

November 23, 2008
2:33 AM