Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Vegetables: Volunteer Tomato Plants

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 7, Views: 157
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
quiltygirl
No Central, AZ
(Zone 7b)

November 24, 2008
2:21 AM

Post #5824390

This is my first year with a vegetable garden and have read may threads in Dave's Garden. I have something I haven't read about - tomato plants setting off babies/volunteers. The first ones I saw were near the base of the tomato plant that grew 5 ft tall, but only produced about a dozen smallish (for beefsteak) tomatoes. I never let any fall to the ground to go fallow. Next I have a couple small plants started from seed in pots transplanted mid Oct that have a volunteer next to them and lastly a volunteer in the middle of the growing beets that were planted mid Oct too (and are 6 - 8 in high).

This is probably all a moot point since we may FINALLY get cool weather this week (mid to high 60's) and continue in the 40's at night. I guess it will be too cool for tomatoes.
tucsonjill
Lincoln, NE
(Zone 5a)

November 30, 2008
4:16 AM

Post #5843136

You could be getting some scattered seeds from little critters sharing your crop with you. I've got volunteers coming up all over the yard from the fruit snatched by the ground squirrels last year. If they were in a half-way decent spot, I left them (but provided no special care); of those, some did well some didn't.
quiltygirl
No Central, AZ
(Zone 7b)

November 30, 2008
3:35 PM

Post #5843956