Post #5869855

There are a total of 285 votes:

I start many plants by sowing them in the winter months
(104 votes, 36%)
Red dot

I have not had much luck with this method
(38 votes, 13%)
Red dot

This is my first year to winter sow. I'm excited about doing this.
(52 votes, 18%)
Red dot

I never winter sow seeds
(62 votes, 21%)
Red dot

What is winter sowing?
(29 votes, 10%)
Red dot

Previous Polls

onewish1

onewish1
Denville, NJ
(Zone 6b)

December 8, 2008
11:08 AM

Post #5869925

I start seeds indoors & out
plantladyhou
Katy, TX
(Zone 8b)

December 8, 2008
1:22 PM

Post #5870130

I never winter sow. I throw out seeds in the fall that need to overwinter outside, some in the very early spring (actually March or so) and then maybe later on in the summer.

CountryGardens

CountryGardens
Lewisville, MN
(Zone 4a)

December 8, 2008
2:32 PM

Post #5870310

All seeds are started in our basement or greenhouse, later. Don't understand what is meant by winter sowing. So I checked "What is winter sowing ?".

Lots of things come up in the spring in my flower beds. I have to pull most of them out because they are way to thick. But the term for that is "Self-seeding".

I am cutting way back on annuals & doing more perennials this year. It's been a number of years since I sold lots of perennials, so people should be in need again. The seeded perennials I can sell for a couple dollars. Nursery's charge $5 7 up for same ones, but grown from bare root.

Bernie
dahlianut
Calgary, AB
(Zone 3a)

December 8, 2008
3:56 PM

Post #5870589

I voted that I winter sow but if it means in containers like milk jugs then I lied. I start seed in in my growop and greenhouse and I sow some things outside directly in the ground.
nifty413
Garland, TX
(Zone 8a)

December 8, 2008
4:01 PM

Post #5870617