Photo by Melody

Needle Arts: Does anyone know anything about antique spinning wheels?

Communities > Forums > Needle Arts
bookmark
Forum: Needle ArtsReplies: 6, Views: 102
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
DrDoolotz
Oxford, NS
(Zone 5b)

January 7, 2009
12:37 AM

Post #5975229

I just got this antique spinning wheel today. It belonged to the grandmother of someone who I guess to be in her mid 40s. Her grandmother lived in Germany and the lady I brought it from came here from Germany in her teens. It needs a small fix, but otherwise the wheel runs nicely. It has a foot treadle and as you can see it has these white headed pin tacks all the way around. I'm not sure if they are original - they feel cold to the touch, like they might be glass and not plastic. What, if anything, can anyone tell me about my new wheel.

I am just starting to learn drop spindle spinning, and the opportunity to own this wheel came up because of a small furniture repair that DH did for somebody - it was in exchange for the work. I am excited to learn to use it, but also interested in learning more about it.

Thanks for any info!
Claire

Thumbnail by DrDoolotz
Click the image for an enlarged view.

DrDoolotz
Oxford, NS
(Zone 5b)

January 7, 2009
12:39 AM

Post #5975238

Here is a picture of it a little closer up

Thumbnail by DrDoolotz

DrDoolotz
Oxford, NS
(Zone 5b)

January 7, 2009
12:41 AM

Post #5975243

One more.

Thumbnail by DrDoolotz

elsie
Lafayette, NJ
(Zone 6a)

January 7, 2009
1:24 AM

Post #5975386

I don't know what kind of wheel that is. I have a Saxony type wheel and it's configured differently. I built my wheel in college and we all learned to spin from our county extension service in NH - that was many, many years ago. It was for shearing sheep.

Here is a link to a site that show many different styles. http://www.pacificwoolandfiber.com/Spinning%20Wheels.htm

Also Knitters Review has a spinning section - someone there might be able to help you.
fiberholic
Saint David, AZ