Photo by Melody

Beekeeping: Making a living from bee keeping?

Communities > Forums > Beekeeping
bookmark
Forum: BeekeepingReplies: 2, Views: 94
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Fanman72
Pawling, NY

January 9, 2009
6:16 AM

Post #5984192

I was assigned a topic on agriculture in one of my classes at school. Having grown up near the city in suburbia, I've had limited experience to anything farming related. I've made a similar topic in the other farming forums.

My questions are what has been your experience so far with bee keeping? Do you consider this more of a hobby, or is it possible to making a living off of it? Would you recommend it? What tips would you give someone just starting out?

Thanks!

curzio
Kenosha, WI

January 9, 2009
9:09 PM

Post #5986080

I hope you are going to get some interesting feedback. This blog is very quite ... you may need to find a more active forum. I've subscribed to Dadant's ABJ - an industry published magazine that has lots of interesting info, including a class room where you can ask questions and get professional advise. Just google American Beekeeper Journal.

As to your questions: Beekeeping for me is a hobby because the sales of honey do not cover the expense. I have invested close to $1000 for two hives. First year harvest close to 11 gallons - I use some for myself and some for gift - but should be able to make about $200 - $300 in honey sales. So, if you figure that you can use the equipment for 10, maybe 20 years with proper maintenance ... you do the math ... but you can certainly make a living if you make this a part-time job income, keep reinvesting to grow the number of hives to 100-300. My neighbors have almost 40 hives ... but also grow produce and raise animals. I guess to generate enough business to be a professional full-time beekeeper you probably need over 100 hives, and I estimate about $30K capital investment.