Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Tomatoes: Best tasting Zone 8-9 tomatoes

Communities > Forums > Tomatoes
bookmark
Forum: TomatoesReplies: 22, Views: 402
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
margaran
(Maggie) Jacksonvill, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 11, 2009
12:44 PM

Post #5991860

Hi,

I'm quite new to growing tomatoes and never before in the heat of Florida. The only tomatoes I've grown previously are Better Boy and Big Boy- nice tomatoes, not as rich in flavor as I'd like. Most important is full rich balanced flavor, not overly sweet; meaty, firm. Yield is not a big deal if the flavor is wonderful. I would like some slicing tomatoes, some paste tomatoes, and some grape tomatoes- our Publix carries Santa Sweets and these taste/smell most like a real tomato to me but they're tough to slice on a sandwich!. I've been looking @ tomatoes in the Territorial Seed Company catalog http://www.territorialseed.com/prod_detail_list/s because they have other products I want.
I've been looking @:
Super Marzano http://www.territorialseed.com/product/1187/s
Purple Calabash http://www.territorialseed.com/product/1206/s
Old German http://www.territorialseed.com/product/7286/s
Cabernet http://www.territorialseed.com/product/1186/s
Sweethearts http://www.territorialseed.com/product/7283/s

I'm also interested in flavorful, crisp cucumbers. I've eaten pickling cucumbers fresh and they were quite good. Are there bigger (faster to peel in quantity) cucumbers that fit the bill? I was looking @:
Fountain http://www.territorialseed.com/product/633/s
Alibi http://www.territorialseed.com/product/633/s

Thanks for looking and any advice you can give. If there are tomatoes from another company that better fit the bill, I'd appreciate your recommendations.

Maggie
twiggybuds