Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Beginner Landscaping: Are ashes good for my garden/compost?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Landscaping
bookmark
Forum: Beginner LandscapingReplies: 10, Views: 157
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
rco
Toms River, NJ

January 25, 2009
12:51 PM

Post #6048135

I heat my shop with a wood burning stove and therefore have a great deal of (hardwood) ash each week. My question is, would it be good to use the ashes in my compost bin or to till into my soil in the garden?
youngershirl
Orange Park, FL
(Zone 9a)

February 4, 2009
2:41 AM

Post #6090385

I can't help you because I am a newbie gardener, but I copied this from a post I found, I hope this helps.

* If you heat with wood, save your ashes to spread in the garden and mix into your compost pile. Remember to use sparingly, similar to spreading lime on your garden.
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

February 4, 2009
3:31 AM

Post #6090595

There was a good article on biochar a few months ago, you may find that helpful http://davesgarden.com/guides/articles/view/1669/
youngershirl
Orange Park, FL
(Zone 9a)

February 4, 2009
11:09 AM

Post #6091243

Ecrane, you were right, it is a very interesting article. Thanks.
WeeNel
Ayrshire Scotland
United Kingdom

February 8, 2009
11:54 PM

Post #6111731

I spread about an inch of wood ash on top of my soil and fork / rake it into the soil it is full of nutrients but dont over do it at any one time, it is so fine and powdery you dont want to block out air getting through to the soil if the ash forms a crust, also when you sweep the soot from your fire chimney, it is good for spreading around the base of roses as it helps to keep woolly mites and scale insects away from some other shrubs too. good luck. WeeNel.
Soferdig
Kalispell, MT