-
AuthorContent
MySharona
Amelia Island, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 26, 2009
11:02 AM

Post #6052234

Took a hit during our 3 day deep freeze last week. Any ideas on how to get her back on track?

Thumbnail by MySharona
Click the image for an enlarged view.

AuntB
NE, KS
(Zone 5b)

January 27, 2009
2:02 AM

Post #6055530

Aw, poor girl, but look at the vines! Nice display... Might have to be patient, is all.. The plant is established, yes? How deep was the freeze? If temps don't fall too far below 32, a sheet thrown over the arbor may have saved the leaves.. they look a little limp, not slimy or mushy or black. She may lose a lot of leaves, but the stems and roots are probably okay. I think it will regrow leaves, if the stems were not frozen and it will regrow from the roots if the stems were frozen. I'm not an expert.. but I've grown passies for almost 10 years and LM's for 4 or 5. Paul? Anyone else down there have passies that got bit? MySharona, hope you've got warmer weather and your plant rebounds quickly, she's one of my fav passies.
LouisianaMark
Baton Rouge, LA

January 27, 2009
4:24 AM

Post #6056261

Dont worry MySharona--that is a well established plant, and they are pretty hard to kill. I have one in the ground that looks the same way. They will drop a lot of leaves, but will come back once the weather warms up.

Mark
MySharona
Amelia Island, FL
(Zone 9a)

January 27, 2009
5:42 PM

Post #6058049

The plant is established. We had 3 8-12 hour freezes last week in the low 20's. I couldn't keep it covered with the strong winds. I'm going to trim it back to get some fullness back in it.

This is what it looked liked before the freezes.

Thumbnail by MySharona
Click the image for an enlarged view.

ladybarber101
Lancaster, OH
(Zone 6a)

January 27, 2009
11:45 PM

Post #6059427