Photo by Melody

Cut Flowers and Floral Design: Advice needed: Wages for florist with basic skills?

Communities > Forums > Cut Flowers and Floral Design
bookmark
Forum: Cut Flowers and Floral DesignReplies: 5, Views: 47
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Danita
Cobb County, GA
(Zone 7b)

January 29, 2009
2:35 PM

Post #6066205

Hi All,

I've never posted on this forum before but I need a bit of advice.
I worked as a florist about 7 years ago doing most of the basic arrangements. I thought I might try to pick up some temp work at a florist shop for next couple of weeks before Valentine's Day. I'm sure it will take me very little time to brush up on making rose dozens which is 95% of Valentine's orders anyway. Since it's been so long since I've worked in the industry, what I need to know is... What is a reasonable wage per hour for a florist with basic skills?

Thanks in advance for any help! :)
Danita
terriculture
london England
United Kingdom

January 30, 2009
5:40 PM

Post #6071120

Hi Danita,
Thanks for posting on this forum, nice to meet you!
I'm afraid I cannot answer your question, but good luck with the temp work.
Terri
Danita
Cobb County, GA
(Zone 7b)

January 31, 2009
6:24 AM

Post #6073761

Thanks Terri, it's nice to meet you too! :)
pastime
Waterman, IL
(Zone 5a)

January 31, 2009
12:11 PM

Post #6073965

It's been several years since I worked in my DD's floral shop. I often think I should apply at a local store for part time work, but it's been so long. One thing I know, they will probably ask you to put together an arrangement on the spot to see your work. I was always slow at bow making.

I don't think they pay very well. Maybe $7/per hour. I was making $9 at the time (1999), but it was my daughter's shop. I'd love to try it again. Good luck, hope you get the job.
karmaplace
New Orleans, LA
(Zone 8b)

January 31, 2009
3:49 PM

Post #6074605