Photo by Melody

Beginner Vegetables: Newspaper to prevent weeds in Garden?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Vegetables
bookmark
Forum: Beginner VegetablesReplies: 12, Views: 149
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Dredly
Saylorsburg, PA

February 4, 2009
3:45 AM

Post #6090652

I'm new to gardening but my Mom has been doing it for years... I tried a "small" part of the garden last year (mostly just strawberries) and lost horribly to the weeds.

My garden area has been unplanted, turned over... basically left completely alone for at least 5 years at this point and the weeds have definately appreciated it, they grow extremly thick and take over the entire space very rapidly. This year I'm planning on planting a real garden with a variety of veggies in an attempt to hold off the rising cost of produce, I'll be able to dedicate time to weeding and maintaining but I will need some weed stopping power or I'll be out there 10 hours a day... and spending big money on weed blocker isn't an option.

I'm considering putting down newspaper between the rows covered with straw to keep the majority of weeds down, how effective will this be and how thick do I need to layer the newspaper? Is there anything I need to be concerned about?
ladygardener1
Near Lake Erie, NW, PA
(Zone 5a)

February 4, 2009
4:18 AM

Post #6090762

I have been using newspapers for years, between rows and cutting holes to set tomatoe plants in the ground. I usually use a folded sections about 5/6 pages and over lap, the idea is to cut out the light. I cover mine with compost and/or shreaded leaves from fall raking, keep mulch away from the stems of the plants. I don't use the shiney ads. If it is windy wet down the paper with water or use a rake handle to lay on the paper to hold it down till you get the mulch down or you will wasting time chasing newspaper around the yard.
Don't worry about the ink, it is now plant based, or call your newspaper office if you have any concerns.