-
AuthorContent
dayflower
Gonzales, LA
(Zone 9a)

February 6, 2009
12:19 AM

Post #6098917

What is the best easy cement or concrete recipe mix for good easy steping stones to make with kids. I want them to be able to write their names in the blocks or put in marbles, etc, for decoration. I would like something that all you do is "add water and mix like you do when you make pancakes" Thanks
azreno
Mesa, AZ
(Zone 9b)

February 6, 2009
1:29 AM

Post #6099195

Go to the craft store and get "stepping stone mix".
imapigeon
Gilroy (Sunset Z14), CA
(Zone 9a)

February 6, 2009
1:53 AM

Post #6099322

If you can't find it locally, here's an online source:
http://www.shopatron.com/product/product_id=MPC903-16104/239.0
hillabeans
Chaska, MN
(Zone 4a)

March 8, 2009
6:56 PM

Post #6238343

Hi Dayflower-
I am new to Daves but I have made stepping stones before. You probably already bought stuff, but if not, I would suggest a hardware store, and buy concrete mix there, not at a craft store. Craft store would likely be lots more expensive. the ones I made I did not put stuff ON the wet concrete- I poured the concrete OVER the design. It worked really well- but of course we could not do handprints or anything. I put contact paper sticky side up on plywood (just taped the sides down with masking tape). then I bought bags of those glass beads/stones- used in the base of decorative flower vases-
those are available at wal-mart or craft stores. then I draw out the circle and layout the stones- you can make flowers, birds, turtles etc. then I used aluminium flashing - about 3-4" high and taped it with masking tape into a ring- and taped the outsides onto the contact paper. then just pour over the mix- You can buy a bit of tint for the concrete too- right at the hardware store. then once dry- about 48hrs depending on warm wx- you sometimes have to use a wire brush and water to expose the design. but they turn out well.