fruit orchard

San Marcos, TX(Zone 8b)

This is my first year with my fruit orchard and I have encountered my first pest. It is the spotting cucumber beetle. We are trying to stay away from pesticides so I was wondering if anyone had some ideas. Our local guy said to put DE (diatomaceous earth) on the trunks of the trees but I hear that will kill any insect including the good ones. We are about to bring in about 10 chickens to help with the clean up too. I also hope that when the neighbors plant their corn it will lure some of them out of there as well.

Ferndale, WA

What a great neighbor you make, wishing your problems on them. For shame.

San Marcos, TX(Zone 8b)

Well, I am talking about a few thousand acres of corn next to my dinky little orchard. The pests wouldnt be here in this number if it werent for the corn in the first place. So I stand by my statement. I hope they plant soon. At least, I will find out what trees are resistant to the little suckers.

Sapello, NM(Zone 5b)

Oh Juju... if you don't know, Haystack is a querulous old cuss... just take a vacuum out to your orchard, suck up a few million beetles and send them COD to him. LOL He's just pulling your leg.

Really Haystack, for someone who looks at naked chickens, you've got a lot of nerve saying 'for shame' to anyone. LOL

DE is indeed non-specific, not to mention a lung irritant if you apply without protective equipment.

Ferndale, WA

Hey there Jay! You have got to quit following me around. AND your just jealous of all my naked ladies. O K !!! I'll behave myself. Sorry Jujube (sob's) NOT your still a lousy neighbor. REPENT!!! REPENT!!! LOLLLL Have a great day Jujubee, and yes you also Jay. Buddy.

Sapello, NM(Zone 5b)

Following you around!? In your dreams... which is probably all you've got left. LOL And repenting... only those who have lead an unremarkable life have nothing to repent for... I 'spect you and I are freaking experts in that category...

Have some fun
Repent
Have some fun
Repent...