Frost seeding

Sapello, NM(Zone 5b)

I'd like to do some frost seeding in my pasture this year... how does one judge the timing? And any other experience and advice welcome...
Thanks,
Jay

Waddy, KY

Frost seeding in our area is usually done during the middle to end of this month. In fact, DH has been seeding red and white clover this week and last. Your pasture needs to be grazed down pretty close because the most important thing is that the seed be able to make contact with the ground so that the freezing and thawing of the ground works the seed into the dirt. Also with most overseeding the pasture will need to be grazed or perhaps mowed to keep the established vegetation short enough to allow the seedlings to get light to grow.

Some folks sow seed by the moon signs. I have no experience with that so I can't comment on the correct signs for that. We end up doing it when the weather's right and we have the time.

We bought a seed sower to go on the back of our 4 wheeler this year. It allowed us to get on the fields and do less damage than taking the tractor and big seed sower out on the extremely wet ground.

Janet

Sapello, NM(Zone 5b)

Thanks... what are conditions like in your area right now? So I can match them with my area....
Moon signs would be great if they coordinated with my schedule, but they don't... I just do things when I can get to them (and the weather's right) LOL
Jay

Waddy, KY

Wet, wet, WET. Did I say wet? Oh yes! Wet!

Right now our weather changes from one day to the next. Early this week we were in the 60's. Today we may not break 35 and there's a possibility of snow. I think it's going to be back in the 50's for next week. But it's the freeze/thaw action that gets the seed in the ground so if that's the case this is the time of year for us.