Photo by Melody

Article: Uncommon Nutrition from the Common Fig ~ Ficus carica: Good article!

Communities > Forums > Article: Uncommon Nutrition from the Common Fig ~ Ficus carica
bookmark
Forum: Article: Uncommon Nutrition from the Common Fig ~ Ficus caricaReplies: 6, Views: 45
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent

darius

darius
So.App.Mtns.
United States
(Zone 5b)

February 25, 2009
1:52 PM

Post #6187830

Diana, I bought 2 different figs last summer... they are marginal here and I have no experience with figs.

This winter, my 2 pots have been stored in my root cellar and it's nearly time to bring them out and check for survival. If they are alive, I now have a place to plant them... and with your help, some idea of winter protection. The larger fig (variety is on the tag but not committed to memory) came with 2 small fruits, but both eventually fell off before maturing. I'm assuming the early fruiting was because of the initial greenhouse growing conditions.

The other one is a Brown Turkey Fig... well, at least a small rooted seedling of it. Both will be interesting to watch.

wind

wind
Mount Laurel, NJ
(Zone 7a)

February 25, 2009
2:55 PM

Post #6188071

Hi Darius,

It is great you have a root cellar. We don't have one. Our neighbor has a deep hole in the ground with a cover as her root cellar. It works great for storing her dahlia tubers.

You saw the photo of our little stick, I hope it survives too. Assuming it does, as soon as the weather warms up we are going to dig it up and move it. I planted our fig tree too near a trellis and our brick path walkway. After learning how figs have shallow, lateral root systems, we thought we should move it or roots may interfere with the bricks. Harry installed the path himself and would not be a happy camper if it got ruined!

All the best with your new fig trees.

Happy & Healthy Gardening,
~Diana

adinamiti

adinamiti
Balotesti
Romania

February 25, 2009
6:38 PM

Post #6188979