-
AuthorContent
3bebad2
Manteca, CA
(Zone 9b)

March 1, 2009
1:30 PM

Post #6205672

Hello, newbie here. I have decided to plant some veggies. And before I head out to Home Depot or Lowes
I was wondering how high do I need the raised bed to be? I noticed some used one board while others use
two boards for height. Which is preferred and why? Is it more for convenience or to get better soil?

D'
MaryMcP
Phoenix, AZ
(Zone 9b)

March 1, 2009
1:37 PM

Post #6205702

I used bricks for my raised bed(s), they are about 2' deep. Probably depends on what you are planting and the root system of those veggies. Some veggies are shallow-rooted, others need to go deeper. Am interested in what others have to say on this subject.

This is an old picture. I have broken this bed down and reconstructed it into 3 separate beds approx 2'x3' and still 2' deep - all are planted in garlic. I don't have a digital camera but took a roll of film yesterday and can post the pics later today of the garlic sprouts.

Thumbnail by MaryMcP
Click the image for an enlarged view.

ladygardener1
Near Lake Erie, NW, PA
(Zone 5a)

March 1, 2009
1:44 PM

Post #6205722

What do you intend to grow, and what type of soil will the raised bed be sitting on?
If you want nice long straight carrots and other root vegetables deeper soil is better.
If you are placing the raised bed on hard clay soil, (I hope you are breaking up the soil underneath the bed) then go with the deeper bed.

My experience is hard clay underneath will cause the beds to dry out sooner, as you do a deep watering of the top soil the water will peculate down and then drain off quickly.

I'm sure others will have their thoughts, but this will give you something to consider. Happy gardening.
tarheel2az
Tonto Basin, AZ

March 1, 2009
4:17 PM

Post #6206277