Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Seed Germination: Germinating buddleia davidii and butterfly weed in zone 10

Communities > Forums > Seed Germination
bookmark
Forum: Seed GerminationReplies: 8, Views: 132
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
khabbab
lahore
Pakistan
(Zone 10b)

March 4, 2009
12:18 PM

Post #6219555

Hello,
kindly tell me how and when to sow seeds for buddleia davidii and butterfly weed (asclepias tuberosa) for zone 10. Spring has just started here. I am not an expert and i do not know how to judge soil temperature, although weather temp is around 26c here and will get warmer as the time passes.

kindly also tell me how to sow seeds for phaseolus caracalla and bauhinia climber.

i have successfully germinated seeds of annual gaillardia in pots, by just scattering the seeds over ordinary soil and covering the seeds with peat moss. they have just sprouted yesterday, is the procedure same for annuals and perennials mentioned above?.

thanks,
Khabbab

blomma

blomma
Wyoming, WY
(Zone 4a)

March 4, 2009
7:57 PM

Post #6221285

Hi:
Buddleia davidii is easy to sow. I sow the seeds in fine seeding mix, cover lightly. Grow at 68F degrees. They should germinate in15 to 60 days. Usually it more like 15 days.

Asclepias tuberosa isn't as easy. They need stratification (cold treatment). My method is to use kitchen paper towel method: