Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Ornamental Gourds: nicking gourd seed

Communities > Forums > Ornamental Gourds
bookmark
Forum: Ornamental GourdsReplies: 14, Views: 118
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
d_lilly
Vandalia, IL

March 12, 2009
2:09 AM

Post #6254186

Im in zone 5-6 Central Illinois,,and starting seed today,,and why cant I just get the center part out of the hard shell and plant it?? Does the outside serve a purpose?? I got a gift of african gourds and I dont want to mess them up! Does anyone start their seeds 6wks before last frost date expected?? any info would be appreciated..this is my first year w/a glass house,,and so far Ive planted things too soon,,,Im runnung out of room :):): Dee
Gourd
Mesilla Park, NM

March 12, 2009
2:45 AM

Post #6254340

Dee, when is your last frost date? These babies grow really fast, so if you plant them, they need to be in a big container because once they get too big, their roots don't like being disturbed and most likely will stunt the plant.

The other thing, don't remove the shell off the seed, you will ruin it, it is like taking off the protection it needs, moisture will get in there too fast and probably rott the inside, it should be left on. When you say the hard shell, do you mean the gourd itself or the hard shell which is the seedcoat? If you can, make a small round circle either in front of the gourd, or on the bottom to get the seeds out. You can make a birdhouse or something else if you take care how and where you make the hole.