Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Needle Arts: Need help with adding crochet edge

Communities > Forums > Needle Arts
bookmark
Forum: Needle ArtsReplies: 14, Views: 61
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
CindyMzone5
Hobart, IN

March 12, 2009
11:10 PM

Post #6258158

I'm a beginner knitter and just completed an Elise tank top for my granddaughter out of Hushabye yarn in a stockinette stitch on size 10 needles. And of course it's curling like crazy. I added a hdc crochet edge around the bottom (after teaching myself by viewing online videos) and also to the armholes (which IMHO turned out rather sloppy because I didn't use a fluffier yarn). The hem and the armholes are fine but I'm now trying to add the same hdc to the neckline but now it doesn't stretch enough to fit over her head. I have since learned in the last 15 minutes that crochet doesn't stretch as much as knitting. Is there a stretchier crochet stitch that I can use? It can't be too wide or it will be out of scale to the garment. How can I salvage this project? Any suggestions are appreciated.
elsie
Lafayette, NJ
(Zone 6a)

March 20, 2009
9:20 PM

Post #6296249

Cindy, how are all the edges finished in the pattern? Is the pattern online?
CindyMzone5
Hobart, IN

March 21, 2009
11:56 PM

Post #6301142

Hi Elsie -