Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Strawbale Gardening: Newbie here. Please help me not mess this up! ;-)

Communities > Forums > Strawbale Gardening
bookmark
Forum: Strawbale GardeningReplies: 63, Views: 797
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Hondo_Lane
Memphis, IN

March 17, 2009
1:32 AM

Post #6278074

Let me toss this out first, my whole gardening experience revolves around growing a few tomato plants in five gallon buckets. So I don't know much about this but have been reading everything that I can. I love forums and this looks to be a great one! So many people that are willing to share. Not that it really matters, but I also have a disability that simply doesn't let me get down to ground level and work there. However I am confident that I can do this bale thing.

I live close to Louisville KY on the Indiana side. I am a little confused about a couple of things that I have read. First is that I have read instructions for positioning the bales with the strings not touching the ground. Then I found other folks saying that it works better with the strings against the ground?? Is one better than the other?

Also there seems to be some debate about using straw or hay and I have seen some folks talking about how well that hay works.

The kids are all excited about doing this so I would really like to hit a home run and use whatever system will work the best. Any suggestions that you have to help are greatly appreciated!

Jeff

2ndChance
Tempe, AZ
(Zone 9b)

March 17, 2009
12:49 PM

Post #6279677