Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Boxwood branches turning pale yellow

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 19, Views: 249
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
GreenGuvnor
Somerset, NJ
(Zone 6b)

April 6, 2009
12:50 AM

Post #6369565

Hi,

I have 3 large boxwoods that have been at the front of my house with no problems for the last 6 or so years. This year I've noticed that one of them is developing pale yellow leaves and the sections of the branches where these leaves are yellow seem to be drying out. I'd hate to lose it as I've been nursing this thing for the last 6 years from a small gallon sized pot.

Anyone have any ideas what could cause this and how/if there's anything I can do about it?

Many Thanks!!!
ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

April 6, 2009
1:58 AM

Post #6369824

Can you post a picture?
GreenGuvnor
Somerset, NJ
(Zone 6b)

April 6, 2009
3:19 AM

Post #6370220

Here's a photo. If you need a closer one, please let me know...

Thumbnail by GreenGuvnor
Click the image for an enlarged view.

GreenGuvnor
Somerset, NJ
(Zone 6b)

April 6, 2009
3:23 AM

Post #6370243

And here's a closer look...

Thumbnail by GreenGuvnor

chris_lcf530
Peachtree City, GA
(Zone 7b)

April 6, 2009
12:28 PM

Post #6371251

Im not sure if this if your problem was the same as mine, but I have had that happen twice.

Once was because I had the house power washed and the spray bleach killed off sections or small branches that got hit with the spray. The bushes came back fine after I cut off the dead pieces.