Photo by Melody

Self-contained Box Gardens: Is potting soil supposed to be so muddy?

Communities > Forums > Self-contained Box Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Self-contained Box GardensReplies: 17, Views: 271
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Plants4myPots
Palm Bay, FL
(Zone 9b)

April 9, 2009
12:17 PM

Post #6385749

Hello!

Last Sunday, I planted three nasturtium seedlings in their sprouting pellets to a windowbox, filled with (OK, everyone shudder) some cheap potting soil from Country Farms. This morning I realized that I'd tamped down the soil too tight in the box, so I stirred it all up to loosen it, watered them, and tried to stir the soil a little more, 'cuz I'm a newbie and I just wanted to fuss with the dirt.

That's when I noticed how sticky and muddy the soil seems to be. It doesn't seem right. It isn't like Miracle Grow Potting Mix at all - not that I expected it to be... all the info I see on Nasturtiums says they like poor soil - so I thought the cheapo potting soil would be good. There isn't a whole lot of the mulch-y bits in it. Maybe I should get some mulch and mix it in? Or can anyone recommend another product for me to switch the plants into before they get too big, or I kill them or something. Some of the leaves were getting a little curly and yellow too - which got me worried on such small plants...

Here's what they look like... I put some 2" wide ceramic bisque tubes lengthwise in the bottom of the planter to take up space and help drain.

Any suggestions?

Thumbnail by Plants4myPots
Click the image for an enlarged view.

lycodad
Hornell, NY
(Zone 5a)

April 9, 2009
12:49 PM

Post #6385855

Some of the cheapie "potting soils" are just awful stuff. I don't know what the retailers are thinking other than making a fast buck. They should never be muddy or sticky like garden or top soils. It might be easier to just dump it and start over with a better soil. Let your local store know your concerns and how you feel about this product.