Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Cut Flowers and Floral Design: Flower show and designs HELP

Communities > Forums > Cut Flowers and Floral Design
bookmark
Forum: Cut Flowers and Floral DesignReplies: 56, Views: 244
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
susan505
Roswell, NM
(Zone 6a)

April 10, 2009
5:53 AM

Post #6390177

Help, I'm new to this and my granddaughter who is 9 wants to enter the flower and iris show at the end of the month and I don't understand what they are wanting when they list one stem or a spray with open bloom under the horticulture like for annuals. And under the rose it list the miniature, grown disbudded, does this mean a potted plant or just a stem from one? And under design the theme is Welcome to the Wild, Wild West and one of the class names is Dance Hall Dolly, design incorporating rhythm and motion, not sure what this means, I asked one of the lady's in garden club that does design and she looked at me like I was a dunce and said the flowers should show movement, and I went but their cut and in the foam stuff how can they move. Please I would appricate any help, I've never done any of this and as my husband say's this is the first girly, girl we've ever had, out of 5 girls raised on the ranch and I don't want to discourage her from doing this she is really good and enjoys it and we enjoy her designs when they come home. Sorry this is so long, but I really don't have a clue where to begin getting info to help me on this and everyone on Dave's has always came threw. Thanks Susan
susan505
Roswell, NM
(Zone 6a)

April 11, 2009
5:02 AM

Post #6394381

bump
soilsandup
Sacramento, CA
(Zone 9a)

April 12, 2009
3:37 AM

Post #6398116