Photo by Melody

Self-contained Box Gardens: What type of fertliizer in EBs?

Communities > Forums > Self-contained Box Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Self-contained Box GardensReplies: 20, Views: 276
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
mom2goldens
Carmel, IN
(Zone 5b)

April 12, 2009
1:42 AM

Post #6397579

This is my first year using Earthboxes. Does anyone have any suggestions for the type of fertilizer to use with the EB as the recommended fertilizer strip? Everything I've found locally is water-soluble (such as Miracle Grow). Does any one have any suggestions for a good 12-12-12 or something similar that would be good for Earthboxes (I'm using BocaBobs coir, but don't have a watering system set up that would incorporate his fertilizer). Locally, my sources are Home Depot (found dolmite lime here), Lowes, and Ace Hardware. Thanks for any advice.
BocaBob
Boca Raton, FL
(Zone 10a)

April 12, 2009
1:53 AM

Post #6397617

You should be able to find 10-10-10 at one of the three big box stores I would think. That's what Tplant uses in his Earthboxes
David_Paul
Clinton, CT
(Zone 6b)

April 12, 2009
4:10 PM

Post #6399427

I've used generic 10-10-10, organic 3-4-4 (you need to use more of this), a combination of both and the fertilizer which came with an Earthbox (7-7-7 I think). Didn't notice a difference between any of them except the organic was more expensive.
mom2goldens
Carmel, IN
(Zone 5b)

April 12, 2009
4:45 PM

Post #6399575

I guess what I'm trying to figure out is should it be a granular-type fertilizer? Should I be looking in the lawn care section rather than the flower/plant section? Nothing in the flower/plant section is anything except Miracle Grow (water soluble) or Osmocote. I don't think you're supposed to use either of these in the fertilizer strip, are you?
BocaBob
Boca Raton, FL
(Zone 10a)

April 12, 2009
5:00 PM

Post #6399639

Look for 40 lb sacks of fertilizer. That's where it will be. Usally on the lower shelves so us old folks can get to it.
David_Paul