Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Beginner Gardening Questions: Is my passiflora dead?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 12, Views: 85
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Fynci
Leiden
Netherlands

April 18, 2009
5:07 PM

Post #6428258

Hi there, I'm very new to gardening and bought my first passiflora last year. I was told that it was a hardy plant that would grow and vine, which is what I was looking for... however, after the winter it still hasn't returned - there are no green leaves, and the branches look "dead" to me. What can I do? Is this a doomed project?

The pot has holes, it was watered over Xmas, and some plantfeed was put in the pot.

Thumbnail by Fynci
Click the image for an enlarged view.

ecrane3
Dublin, CA
(Zone 9a)

April 18, 2009
5:22 PM

Post #6428301

Do you know what Passiflora species it was? And do you know what zone you're in? Some varieties are less hardy than others, so it's possible depending on what zone you're in and what passiflora this is that it wouldn't be hardy in your zone. Or if it is one that should be hardy in your zone, then it could have been a problem with watering or something. If it's one that should have been hardy in your area I wouldn't give up on it yet, sometimes if things are damaged by cold they will take a while to wake back up in the spring. You could try scratching the bark with your fingernail down somewhere near the base of the plant--if it's green underneath then it's still alive, but if it's not green then it's most likely dead. Some things will come back from the roots though so you could still wait a bit.
Fynci
Leiden
Netherlands

April 18, 2009
7:16 PM

Post #6428704