Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Cameras and Photography: DSLR or Superzoom?

Communities > Forums > Cameras and Photography
bookmark
Forum: Cameras and PhotographyReplies: 17, Views: 172
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
lisabees
Centennial, CO
(Zone 5a)

April 18, 2009
10:37 PM

Post #6429379

Once upon a time I was an avid 35mm SLR user, but I have gone digital (and gotten lazy) and I have been using digital point & shoot cameras for several years now. My current Nikon P3 has a lot of miles on it, so I am looking to replace it before a planned trip to Japan in June.

I have sorely missed having a viewfinder, and the ability to carefully frame a composition that I had with an SLR. I've also been wanting better wide angle and telephoto capabilities. But as I said, I have gotten lazy and I really don't miss lugging around a big bag with multiple lenses.

So, I have looked at the Nikon D60, but I am leaning towards keeping it compact (and less expensive) and going with one of the new Superzooms instead. I like the Nikon P90 with it's 24x zoom, but I'm also considering the Canon Powershot SX10 IS and the Olympus 590UZ.

I would love to hear your thoughts on the title question, or on any of these camera models in particular :0).

David_Paul
Clinton, CT
(Zone 6b)

April 19, 2009
8:45 AM

Post #6431133

You might want to take a look at the Panasonic FZ28. Bought my sister one for Christmas and she loves it. She takes a lot of indoor photos of people and while any camera in this class isn't as good as a DSLR for this work, the FZ28 is good enough for the prints she needs.