Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Water Gardens: Excited to share some pics of my first water lily

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 152, Views: 567
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
flowerehj
Saint Cloud, FL
(Zone 9b)

May 2, 2009
8:23 PM

Post #6494100

I got a Tina tropical semidwarf, and it bloomed! I'm new to gardening and am so excited! It's blue/purple color is so vibrant! I'm trying to get it to propagate vivaporously, but so far no luck, although almost every leaf has a nub.

Thumbnail by flowerehj
Click the image for an enlarged view.

drivenbonkers
Perth,, ON
(Zone 5a)

May 2, 2009
11:22 PM

Post #6494704

that is beautiful!
mocatmom
Driftwood, TX
(Zone 8b)

May 2, 2009
11:33 PM

Post #6494746

Lovely, flowerehj. Just enjoy it for now.
flowerehj
Saint Cloud, FL
(Zone 9b)

May 4, 2009
1:09 AM

Post #6499506

Thank you, nothing I did! One of the lilypads is showing the tiniest growth on it! It could be taking off! What is your experience with viviparous propagation?
tucsonplumeriaz
Tucson, AZ

May 4, 2009
1:41 AM

Post #6499672

wow...that is beautiful! i miss my tina. she went to that giant lily pad in the sky. :(

where did you get yours flowerehj? i am determined to try again! :)
mocatmom
Driftwood, TX
(Zone 8b)

May 4, 2009
2:05 AM

Post #6499772

If you're asking me, flowerehj, I collected hardy water lilies and added a couple of tropicals on a lark, but the hardies held my interest. As such, propagation for me consisted of simple division of the plants each year.

Your waterlily is lovely, and I suspect that it's only the first of many - better start digging those extra ponds! (Get a lotus - you'll play for hours sprinkling water droplets on the leaves).
flowerehj
Saint Cloud, FL
(Zone 9b)