Calling all "judges" for the annual DG County Fair! Vote for your favorites here!

Excited to share some pics of my first water lily

Saint Cloud, FL(Zone 9b)

I got a Tina tropical semidwarf, and it bloomed! I'm new to gardening and am so excited! It's blue/purple color is so vibrant! I'm trying to get it to propagate vivaporously, but so far no luck, although almost every leaf has a nub.

Thumbnail by flowerehj
Perth,, ON(Zone 5a)

that is beautiful!

Driftwood, TX(Zone 8b)

Lovely, flowerehj. Just enjoy it for now.

Saint Cloud, FL(Zone 9b)

Thank you, nothing I did! One of the lilypads is showing the tiniest growth on it! It could be taking off! What is your experience with viviparous propagation?

Tucson, AZ

wow...that is beautiful! i miss my tina. she went to that giant lily pad in the sky. :(

where did you get yours flowerehj? i am determined to try again! :)

Driftwood, TX(Zone 8b)

If you're asking me, flowerehj, I collected hardy water lilies and added a couple of tropicals on a lark, but the hardies held my interest. As such, propagation for me consisted of simple division of the plants each year.

Your waterlily is lovely, and I suspect that it's only the first of many - better start digging those extra ponds! (Get a lotus - you'll play for hours sprinkling water droplets on the leaves).

Saint Cloud, FL(Zone 9b)

Slocum Watergardens: http://floridaplants.com/Store/slocumindex.htm
I went to see them and they were very helpful. Plants arrived exactly when they say they did, with buds already on the waterlily. It's been blooming non-stop since the first flower came out. (We're on the 3rd flower now!). What is the magic with water droplets on lotus leaves? Macatmom, you made me curious!

Thumbnail by flowerehj
Tucson, AZ

thanks for the link. they must be huge for those prices?!?

Saint Cloud, FL(Zone 9b)