-
AuthorContent
Pottager
Mid North Coast NSW
Australia

May 7, 2009
3:05 AM

Post #6515334

Thanks for the great info Tamara. Wondered if you could help with my question about a 6 month old lemon grass plant that is growing seeds. I've never had that happen before & don't know whether to be worried or pleased. The photo shows the lemon grass in front of my asparagus - cut back for winter here in oz & being closely cuddled by a sweet potato vine.

Thumbnail by Pottager
Click the image for an enlarged view.

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

April 23, 2010
10:40 PM

Post #7731935

Hi Pottagr
It depends on the strain you are growing, I have been growing lemongrass here on Reunion island for twenty years and never had a single seed, then a friend gave me a small plant he ha obtained from seeds he purchased and this one does set seeds, it can even become invasive. I would say that the seeded one is somewhat larger and with tougher seeds than the non seeded one.
TexasTam
Plano, TX
(Zone 8a)

April 26, 2010
8:33 AM

Post #7738493

Hmm, not sure at all how to answer this one - a true sign of a great question! For many plant species, going to seed means that it's reaching the end of its life. I can't say if this is true for lemongrass. If it were me, I would cut off the flowering stalks in hopes that it would extend it.

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

April 28, 2010
3:28 AM

Post #7744359

Well, I had lemongrass flowering last year and the year before and they seem to just keep growing larger and larger! Pretty tough material actually.
TexasTam
Plano, TX
(Zone 8a)

April 28, 2010
11:23 AM

Post #7745547

I think you're right Jacques - especially since Pottager said his plant was only 6 months ago, I doubt it's on its way out. Maybe just a different type...?

jjacques

jjacques
LE TAMPON
Reunion (French)

April 29, 2010
6:01 AM

Post #7747722

It is obviously a perennial anyway but there certainly must be different types.
katsu
Columbus, OH