Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

Self-contained Box Gardens: Some stacker stuff I have experienced.

Communities > Forums > Self-contained Box Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Self-contained Box GardensReplies: 18, Views: 286
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
Jaywhacker
Kerrville, TX

May 8, 2009
5:03 AM

Post #6520415

Some of this stuff might be usefull to new stacker owners. I have been playing with them for about 5 years now and have made some misstakes and some discoveries. Forgive me if I repeat some stuff I have mentioned before.

A fast draining mix like coir or coir/perlite or perlite/vermiculite are ideal for stackers. Peat based mixes work fine too but what problems you can have with peat mixes can be amplified in stackers. The one time I tried peat mix, I ended up with a big dried out gob of peat that was only fit for the compost pile. You just have to get used to how fast your stacks drain and how often they need watering and the right grow mix is an integral part of that. That varies a lot with the weather too. Also the size and maturity of your plants. Large leafy plants suck a lot of water in hot and windy weather. If you plant the complete stack in one type crop that gets water hungry, be prepared to water about 3 times a day.

It is best to have a fast draining mix...not one that holds a lot of water for a long time. And it is important to put enough water through a stack to flush out the fertilizer salts. This is called a "drip to waste" system and you really do wont some of the water/fertilizer to drip to waste.