Photo by Melody
It's time now to VOTE in our 14th annual photo contest! Voting ends November 7, so be sure to cast your votes for your favorites in each category here. Good luck to all contestants!

Beginner Gardening Questions: Help! Frost advisory tonight. What do I do?

Communities > Forums > Beginner Gardening Questions
bookmark
Forum: Beginner Gardening QuestionsReplies: 38, Views: 252
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
alayah
Butler, PA

May 12, 2009
1:27 AM

Post #6536556

I'm fairly new at any sort of gardening or landscaping. I thought we were past our last frost since the weather has been hovering in the 60-70s lately. So this past week we planted a small vegetable garden (probably about 8 by 10 foot with strawberry, cherry tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, zucchini, cauliflower and jalapenos), planted new cistena plum bushes between my salvia that I planted last year and somehow survived! Oh and a row of impatients along our fence.

Our local news keeps chirping that we have a front advisory tonight and I realized I have no idea what I'm supposed to do to protect my new plants in such a predicament. So what should I do?

RachelLF

RachelLF

May 12, 2009
1:30 AM

Post #6536583

If you are in a frost advisory area, cover your plant's with a large tarp/plastic/blanket.

Rachel
threegardeners
North Augusta, ON

May 12, 2009
1:31 AM

Post #6536586

Sheets. My yard always looks halloweenish this time of year. Sheets cover a large area. If you have individual plants to cover put a flower pot over them held down with a rock or something equally heavy.
Mojoquilter
Wichita, KS
(Zone 6a)

May 12, 2009
1:31 AM

Post #6536591

if you have old sheets, cover the plants and weight the sheets down on the edges with rocks but not so tight as to smash the plants. Tall buckets, big bowls, 2 liter bottles with the bottoms cut off, milk jugs, paper bags with the edges weighted. Use pretty much anything you have on hand.

This message was edited May 11, 2009 8:32 PM
alayah
Butler, PA