Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Article: Garbage Gardening: Grow a Pineapple Fruit Tree Plant!: Are they dead????

Communities > Forums > Article: Garbage Gardening: Grow a Pineapple Fruit Tree Plant!
bookmark
Forum: Article: Garbage Gardening: Grow a Pineapple Fruit Tree Plant!Replies: 1, Views: 31
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
bigdogz5439
Jacksonville, FL

May 15, 2009
6:32 PM

Post #6552829

Ok, this past winter, we had a couple real hard freezes, in Jacksonville. I have 4 potted pineapple plants that I keep outside. Well, the whole family got the flu & I forgot to bring them in for those few nights. When I finally did bring them in, the leaves became very mushy and then rotted off the base of the plants. Anyways, I have been nurturing them for a few months now. Only 1 plant seems to have 2 old green healthy fronds. the others are brown stumps. Should I give up???? I don't want to keep nurturing soil. LOL
JaxFlaGardener
Jacksonville, FL
(Zone 8b)

May 16, 2009
3:27 AM

Post #6554779

Hi, bigdogz - it is always nice to hear from a Jacksonville neighbor. My pineapple plants also suffered this year from the sustained 20s F temperatures that we had on several nights this past winter. Nearly all my bromeliads (the pineapples included) had freeze damaged leaves that turned brown and died. What I am just now seeing is that the bromeliads and some of the pineapples are making suckers around the base of the parent bromeliad. Also, some of the bromeliads that looked totally dead are pushing up new leaves immediately around the cup in the center. In time, I think additional leaves will come up from the center and create a new rosette of leaves.