Photo by Melody
Are you ready? It's time for our 14th annual photo contest! Enter your best pictures of the year, for a chance to win a calendar and annual subscription here. Hurry! Deadline for entries is October 21.

Water Gardens: building floating islands of plants for the pond?

Communities > Forums > Water Gardens
bookmark
Forum: Water GardensReplies: 32, Views: 393
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
gloriag
Floyd, VA
(Zone 6b)

May 16, 2009
1:16 AM

Post #6554298

I was just thinking that I could build a floating island or two to float
around the pond. I am just beginning to think about it. I could use
styrofoam for flotation and maybe capped plastic juice bottles. The
raft could be constructed of those plastic net storage containers,
maybe a couple attached to each other. I could line them with
landscape cloth, fill them with good, rich soil, and plant them with
primrose, dwarf cat tails, etc. I guess that just sounds crazy?
flowerehj
Saint Cloud, FL
(Zone 9b)

May 16, 2009
3:20 AM

Post #6554753

Sounds like fun! take pics of finished product? I guess you'd have to sink your pots with those bogplants a bit within the network of (mostly filled) plastic juice bottles, so they have contact with the water? Interesting project!
HollyAnnS
Dover, PA
(Zone 6b)

May 18, 2009
12:51 PM

Post #6564141

I'd love to see how it all goes together. Take a few pics of the whole process and the end results. There were a few threads several years ago with different ideas on making floating islands. One of them was taking foam pool mats and cutting holes in them to sink the pots.
You might want to add a tether with weight to the island to keep it from moving around. Maybe two one that hangs straight down and one to the edge of the pond so you can pull the island in when you want to work on it.
gloriag
Floyd, VA
(Zone 6b)

May 18, 2009
1:08 PM

Post #6564214