Photo by Melody
Congratulations to all our photo contest participants! Check out the winning photos here. We will have the 2015 calendars available to order from Zazzle soon.

Garden Talk: An ode to....

Communities > Forums > Garden Talk
bookmark
Forum: Garden TalkReplies: 8, Views: 54
Add to Bookmarks
-
AuthorContent
KaperC
No. San Diego Co., CA
(Zone 10b)

June 6, 2009
5:39 PM

Post #6650390

I was doing my weekly shopping yesterday which involves a drive on a major highway to a nearby town. It's a nice drive, with slopes on either side where native plants grow. At different times of the year, the hills turn bright with wildflowers, blue with Ceanothus (our Mountain Lilac), etc.

Yesterday I realized the Eriogonum (buckwheat) was in full bloom. I have a thing about buckwheat - it's an underrated plant in my opinion. And to see it covering the roadside as I did yesterday, I wished I was a writer so I could describe it. Hence the title of this thread.

We have buckwheat growing naturally on our property that thankfully disguises some ugly (to me) cactus each spring. Also, we have a St Catherine's lace (Eriogonum giganteum http://davesgarden.com/guides/pf/go/59548/) that is one of my favorite plants. When it blooms I will post a picture - right now she is sneaking up on us, getting ready to knock our eyes out.

What do you see in your neighborhood or on the highways and byways that make you sigh or want to jump for joy or grab someone and say, "Isn't that beautiful?"

Kathleen
Sharran
Calvert City, KY
(Zone 7a)

June 6, 2009
6:46 PM

Post #6650587

Ahhhh, Kathleen, you always show us plants that make me sigh, if only they would grow in my world. How very pretty.
KaperC
No. San Diego Co., CA
(Zone 10b)

June 6, 2009
6:55 PM

Post #6650611