Photo by Melody
Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.

The scoop on 'Peony Garden'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
Peony Garden

Mailing Address:
95 Franklin Street
Center Point, Iowa 52213 (United States)

Phone: (319) 896-1120

» E-Mail them

Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company specializes in:

  Feedback History and Summary  
5 positives
No neutrals
2 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative o2bcu
Rowley, IA
(1 review)
September 7, 2006
I live abot 12 minutes from the Peony Garden and must say that the previous owners were more than accomodating and wonderful! They loved what they were doing and would take the time to take you on a tour in their golf cart without notice! I purchased a $75 yellow tree peony from them and was totally dismayed that it never bloomed at all! Nothing!! I hate to complain, but when I bumped into the previous owner and mentioned it, she told me that her husband had taken over the business and she told me to contact them via email. I have tried to contact the now owner and have had no response. I am disappointed and know that I will probably never get my money back nor see my yellow tree peony.
Negative connoisseur
Indianapolis, IN
(22 reviews)
November 26, 2005
Beware! This company is in upheaval, undergoing a change in ownership, and is not resolving (or even answering) phone calls or letters about warranties (e-mails are being referred to a lawyer). In the past, a number of wrong plants were sent out, but with changes in ownership, warranties are not being honored. I repeatedly have requested reimbursement or replacement, with no response from the owner or his lawyer. This is too bad because the previous ownership was very accommodating, even though they admitted they made mistakes.
Positive Allieok
Oklahoma City, OK
(2 reviews)
April 15, 2005
I wish there was something between neutral and negative, because really I'm disappointed. Two of the three peonies I ordered did not come up at all. I took great pains to plant them exactly as they instructed. The three that did grow are looking fine and even have buds the first year, but 2 out of 5 is not a very good average. I paid a bunch for the peonies too. When I wrote peony garden an email, they did not respond with any offer to replace, refund or even a note to say they were sorry.
On April 24th, 2005, Allieok changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:

I finally heard from the Peony Garden and was promised a refund. If it doesn't come through, I'll let you know, but I'm sure it will. When I did hear from the Peony Garden, Dan Whetstone couldn't have been more accommodating.
Positive Ticker
Lisbon, IA (Zone 5a)
(7 reviews)
January 28, 2005
I have ordered Peony from these folks for the past several years and have always be very pleased with what I've received. They are a good up-standing peony nursery and they stand behind their stock. They truely do believe in customer satisfaction. Dan, Mac and Ruth are wonderful people to do business with. I can't say enough nice things about these folks.

Diann
On May 26th, 2007, Ticker added the following:

I spent a couple hours up at the Peony Garden in Center Point today, May 25, 2007. Elvin Mackerman is the sole owner of the business these days and he knows there have been problems for folks in the past couple years. He said if you have a problem please contact him directly at the Peony Garden and he'll try to make it right. Mac is a nice man and a wonderful asset to the peony world. I sincerly hope things turn around for him and the Peony Garden.
On December 7th, 2007, Ticker added the following:

I ordered a Lemon Dream Itoh Hybrid from the Peony Garden in May. I got a call the first week in November that it was ready and they would be mailing them out. I said I'd come pick it up that next Saturday. I did and it was fine, not terribly huge but had lots of eyes. About a week later I got a package from the Peony Garden with another Lemon Dream in it. I immediately called and left a message for Mac, the owner to call me. I figured it had to be a mistake, since I had already picked up my peony. Mac called back last week and my husband explained what happened and told him I would return it or wanted to make it right with him. Mac said that they have had problems with shipping and order coordination all fall and that I should keep it and consider it a Christmas bonus. I know that there have been problems lately with the Peony Garden, but my experience with them is that Mac does try to make things right with folks.
Positive jameseavesjo
Coralville, IA
(4 reviews)
September 28, 2004
Plants were larger and healthier than expected. Each peony had a large number of eyes. They were nicely packed and each one was in perfect shape. Additionally, the selection is fantastic.
On April 5th, 2005, jameseavesjo added the following:

All my peonies are coming up very nicely. They over-wintered well and are showing healthy growth.
Positive PeonyLuvver
(1 review)
December 1, 2003
Dan Whetstone is extremely patient, provides an impressive informational brochure with planting instructions and his customer service before, during and after the sale is top-notch. He really cares about the plant, isn't just in it to make money off of them, like some sellers out there. The love and nurture he's taken in caring for his plants is evident. The specimen I received (I only just found him very late in the season because I am very much a novice to all aspects of Peonies, in general) is truly sensational and magnificent, very healthy and lovely. I will definitely look forward to buying more and more of his plants, in the future. I can't wait to go see his display on Memorial Day weekend! I am very fortunate to have found him and whole-heartily recommend him to anyone looking to find the "perfect" Peony!
Positive beck02
Newalla, OK
(22 reviews)
November 5, 2003
Ordered a few peonies late in the season, and they all come in looking great. There were a couple of smaller plants, but all were healthy & of good size. They've got a nice selection. Would recommend ordering from.

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America