Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Victoriana Nursery Gardens'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
Victoriana Nursery Gardens

Challock
Nr. Ashford, Kent, TN25 4DG
(United Kingdom)

Phone: 01233 740529

Catalog Order Page: Hyperlink

» E-Mail them

Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 1
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 1 1
This company offers a variety of gardening supplies and plants.

  Feedback History and Summary  
7 positives
1 neutral
2 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Negative Beauclere
Bleadon
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 1, 2014
I ordered 6 fruit trees from Victoriananursery and they were delivered within 5 days with minimal damage, so no problem there. However one of the pear trees has a truly awful graft, it is gnarled, scabby, blackened and with holes and gaps in it. Not the clean join that I would expect. Serena Shirley tells me it is perfectly healthy and the tree will thrive but if it does not come into leaf in the Spring she will replace it. My concern is that the tree will struggle and never be a healthy throughout its life. I don't want to wait and replace it at some time in the future, I'm 69 and may not have the time! However because she says it's healthy and I've sent her pictures of it ( a candidate for Specsavers methinks!) she refuses to exchange it or refund me. So that's the way to avoid your responsibility - tell your customer a bad product is good and there's nothing they can do about it.
Positive Zany1
Isle of Arran
United Kingdom
(1 review)
August 27, 2013
First class company. Very down to earth and sensible. I've had a couple of orders with them, and despite the logistics of getting live plants all the way out to us, they've managed to do it. Of course some of the plants looked exhausted after their journey, but once planted out, they soon thrived. Personally, I prefer this. There's nothing more disappointing than buying a pristine looking plant, that just withers before your eyes because you can't provide the absolutely perfect conditions it was raised in. There's just something about the Victoriana plant range that just reeks of hardiness. And that's saying something when planted out in Scotland! There was an issue of a missing plant which was addressed without hesitation. As we were both understanding of unavoidable delivery costs, we went with mutual patience and waited to address the issue on our next order, which worked out just fine. Victoriana Nursery's communications were great. It always amazed me that after a full day of running the nursery, they still managed to get e-Mails out after 9:00pm. I look forward to further dealings with them.
Positive whp
Dorset
United Kingdom
(1 review)
January 13, 2010
I have used Victoriana a few times and have always found them polite and helpful, and that they supply good quality plants. I also like the way the plants tend to be packed in compostable materials and not loads of plastics. Would be happy to recommend them.
Positive vstock
Ipswich
United Kingdom
(1 review)
September 14, 2009
I just wanted to let everyone know about the fantastic service that I received from Victoriana Nursery when I purchased a Ruby Anniversary rose bush. I ordered by telephone and spoke to a lady who was very helpful and polite. I received the rose bush in time for my Mum & Dad's anniversary, beautifully looked after and very carefully packaged. Even though it is going into Autumn, the rose bush is very healthy and even had some buds on it. My parents love it and can't wait to see the first flower which they plan to press so that they can keep it. I truely had wonderful service from them and I will not hesitiate to recommend Victoriana Nursery to friends and family.
Negative Sgreener
London
United Kingdom
(1 review)
June 23, 2009
My experience with this company is best demonstrated by our email communication. The derisory way in which I have been treated as a customer since has left me upset, angered and £20 out of pocket. I feel it is extremely important that other potential customers should be for-warned, especially since the website promotes a friendly, family run company.

...From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 18 June 2009 11:23
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Order 71940

Further to our telephone conversation about your rose, I have investigated the matter further and unfortunately I am not able to offer any further refund, we did as we were requested and dispatched a healthy rose. We are sorry that you were not happy with the plant that we sent but we cannot have flowering bushes all year round and at the moment most of our rose bushes do not have flowers on them.

The returned rose has been put back with our stock and will be used to fulfil a future order as we know that it will continue to grow into a beautiful rose.


----- Original Message -----

From: Greener, Stephen
To: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: Thursday, June 18, 2009 12:47 PM
Subject: RE: Order 71940

Iíve noticed that the reference in the email is for Order 71940. Our invoice no. was 26117. Are we even talking about the same plant?

Assuming that we are, I have every intention of pursuing this further in whatever way necessary. I believe it is important that other potential customers of yours are aware of the appalling customer service to which they will be treated should they fail to share your Ďprofessional opinioní.

Please note that your own trading terms and conditions do not stipulate in any way that the issue of a full refund is dependant upon your own opinion on the health of a plant.

ĎAll our stock is covered under a seven day guarantee meaning if you are unhappy with your purchase from us simply return it to us within seven days for either a replacement or full refundí

Secondly, as I have stated, when I spoke to one of your colleagues she confirmed that on receipt of the returned plant, you would either send a replacement, or would issue a full refund. I specifically know that this agreement included all carriage costs, because I had questioned whether we had to send it back ourselves and would the cost of this be covered. If this is not your policy, then you need to make all of your staff aware, since I would never have agreed to pay for its return.

There are several personal reasons why my mum would not wish to cause any aggravation through this unfortunate incident. I know she was upset enough that she had to tell me that she wasnít confident of the plants survival. However, I do not feel it necessary to dwell on this or provide some kind of sob story when what we are dealing with is an issue of basic customer service.

I am hopeful that this matter can be resolved to our satisfaction without me having to take any further action. Should you require, I am happy to send you a copy of the post office receipt for 9.58 from the plantís return. This provides a total of £19.58 which I do hope can be refunded to my account without further delay.

Yours sincerely
Stephen Greener

From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 18 June 2009 20:20
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Re:

From your description and the plant we had returned, I do wonder whether it is the same plant!

We have issued a full refund on the products that you ordered, if you purchase something from the high street and returned it you would not expect to be re-reimbursed for your petrol and car parking. In the light of your opinion of the rose you returned we assumed you would prefer a refund over a replacement.

In the circumstances I am prepared to offer a further refund of £2.05, being the difference between the enhanced specific day delivery charge your Mother requested and our standard charge, but unfortunately there if nothing further we can offer.


From: Greener, Stephen
To: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: Friday, June 19, 2009 5:13 PM
Subject: RE: Order 71940

I have attached the original fax sent by my mother on May 28th to ensure complete clarity, since in your response below you have been unable to confirm that we are discussing the same plant.

Your comparison to high street purchases is irrelevant to the point of being legally redundant. I must repeat my previous statement that your own member of staff
confirmed on the phone that, on returning the plant, the full refund offered would include all carriage costs, including those costs incurred by us for its return.

If this is not your company policy then your staff member should not have led me to believe otherwise. Additionally, your full trading terms and conditions do not include any such caveats to your returns policy. I note that responsibility for covering carriage costs only sits with the customer in respect to cancelled orders.

It transpires that my mother took a photograph of the plant on arrival. She did not envisage that we might actually be required to use it. Please let me know if you would like me send this onto you via email. I would also ask you to please double check the details of the order with your staff, notably Maggie and Karen, who my mother spoke to and who were both able to provide a decent level of customer service - although one of them admitted that she could not verify the quality of the plant that was sent, since Ďthe boys pick them outí. I reiterate that your quote of order 71940 does not tally with out invoice no. 26117 , so it would be in both our interests if you would invstigate this discrepancy.

Although I remain staggered by the way that you have so far dealt with this matter, I remain hopeful that this may give rise to a satisfactory settlement of our £19.58.

Should we continue to disagree, please advise so that I may instruct my solicitor, whose colleague routinely deals with such petty small claims.

Yours Sincerely
Stephen Greener

From: Serena Shirley, Victoriana
Sent: 23 June 2009 09:39
To: Greener, Stephen
Subject: Re: Order 71940

Having now spoken to both Karen and Maggie as requested they both confirm that did not and cannot authorise refunds. My offer for the difference between the enhanced delivery service and the actual cost of £2.05 still stands but nothing further as the plant was in a perfectly good saleable state.

Order 71940 does relate to Invoice 26117 so is all the same order.

Should you wish to send the photo then you are welcome too, but we do have the plant here and have seen that but we will happily look at the photograph as well should you wish.

I would deal with any claim that you may wish to pursue.


Stephen Greener sent Tue 23/06/2009 12:50



Is there anyone else at your company to whom I can speak since you are clearly now too embarrassed or stubborn to back down?

For the record, the simple fact is that a member of your staff told me we would have our carriage costs reimbursed. Whether or not they had authority to do so is irrelevant and something for you to deal with internally. If you refuse to believe this, then you are calling me a liar. A fact which you admitted in our last phonecall shortly before hanging up on me. I have never been more upset or treated so badly.

Stephen Greener


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------








Positive thebairns
edinburgh
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 10, 2009
found victoriana nursery garden on google as was looking for plants, ordered whispering willows which arrived quickly and packed really well, as they had to come up to edinburgh. they were just what i wanted and cant wait to plant and enjoy them. there website is really good and colourful, will definatly use them from now on, and will be telling one and all about victorianas nursery garden. 10 out of 10 for a lovely choice of plants. x
Positive Carl_Meachem
Newark
United Kingdom
(1 review)
December 20, 2007
Dear Victoriana Nursery,

Thank you for being better than your word!

My order came quicker than expected. Thank you. Iíll aim to order from you again.

May you all have a meaningful CHRISTmas and a great New Year.

Carl Meachem

Positive ATTILLA
CAMBRIDGE
United Kingdom
(1 review)
October 11, 2007
This is my second year of trading with this company. The seeds I have bought have been reliable and productive. I have now added plants to my order and they have been delivered promptly, well packed and of excellent quality.
I recommend this company for both quality and variety of products.
Positive boonannie
Newcastle
United Kingdom
(1 review)
July 25, 2007
I found this nursery via Google, looking for some vegetable plants that another nursery had let me down on.
Some of the things that they sell I have not seen for sale elsewhere and I got rather carried away with choosing.
I ordered a couple of things which were available and some which are to be sent in November. This information was clearly stated unlike some other sites where this is contained in the small print.
I received my order within two days by courier, well wrapped and in good condition. The instructions were excellent and the written information included will be invaluable over the years. I wish I had the money to buy all of the interesting things this company sells, allowing for my cold, exposed situation, I am confident the information they provide on the web site will help me make the best choices. This may be my first experience of Victoriana but it won't be the last.
Neutral xxxNatashaxxx
Essex
United Kingdom
(1 review)
December 17, 2006
My daughter bought an Almond tree for my birthday, Even though it was ordered early November it didn't arrive until after my birthday which is 26th Nov. OK not a big deal as they did say that the trees would be available at some point in November, but.... when it arrived it was wrapped so tightly that 6 of the branches had broken. (only has about 12 branches)

I've left the branches in place in the hope that they will somehow magically *stick* :)

Anyway, in conclusion, not terribly happy with the service so have left a neutral.
Company representative comment on February 28, 2007:

On Feb 28, 2007 6:56 AM, Victoriana Nursery Gardens added:

Leef fall in Autumn 2006 was late; we do not lift and dispatch plants until the leaves have naturally fallen (which we consider best for the long-term health of the plants and ultimately the customer) and consequently our Autumn dispatches started late which we consider 'beyond our control'.

Had the customer requested a specific delivery date, every effort would have been made to adhere to this.

Similalry had we been notified at the time about the damage we would have been happy to refund or replace - no notification was made directly to ourselves.

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America