Here at The Growers Exchange you can expect reliable advice, healthy herbs and flowers and sustainable tools and accents for your garden. We strive to be your "local" garden center on the Internet, offering the same "sage" wisdom you might get at the garden supply store you grew up with. Request a free catalog, browse our website or give us a call with any questions--we look forward to growing with you!
I ordered two white sage plants, and one lavender. Upon arrival the lavender was mostly fine for having been shipped, if not a bit dried out on a few ends, but both white sage plants were so tiny, with little to no real root system. The smallest white sage plant was dead and desiccated; beyond hope. The larger of the two only had a few small leaves near the center that appeared alive, as they were not dried out, curled up, & crumbling like the rest of the leaves & the other plant. Within a day both plants were undeniably dead. The lavender is doing ok.
Upon reading the returns section of the paperwork that came with the order; It was very negative language, and I did not feel confident my purchase would be honored, so rather than deal with what could potentially be a bad experience with no solution, I simply took the loss and will now shop locally, as we've plenty of very friendly nurseries nearby. I initially did not intend to give feedback; I took a chance with an online store, found it lacking, and didn't feel my feedback would be taken well, so I saved myself the time and grief and skipped it.
I was then sent an email requesting my feedback, which I was leery to do, so I've held off, but eventually I figured they need to know about the issues I've had with the two plants, so I signed up, logged on, and was directed to the feedback page which had several paragraphs similar to the negative return / replacement policy, only this seemed a bit threatening; below is a direct quote from the feedback page.
.."If your experience was negative, you should try to resolve the matter privately before posting your comments. Use good judgment when leaving feedback, and be certain it is constructive and factual; inflammatory language is strongly discouraged. Under federal law, the Garden Watchdog is not legally responsible for your comments; however if a court finds your remarks constitute libel, you could be held responsible for damages to the company's reputation..."
What company threatens customers with libel damages for a review they requested? -! I can understand reminding customers to respond responsibly, but threatening them with libel damages due to a bad review is disquieting.
This type of language is exactly why I did not contact the company for replacements / a refund for the dead plants they shipped in the first place.
My experience as a customer was not satisfactory. I can confidently say I will not be a return customer. .. and hopefully I don't get an email with similar threatening wording regarding a review THEY requested.
And no, I haven't contacted the company directly to resolve the matter privately, because based on the language they use for "customer satisfaction" within the paperwork sent with the order, I didn't want to deal with the negativity in person, I will simply shop somewhere else; there ARE other options.Company representative comment on November 27, 2016: On Nov 27, 2016 10:14 AM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower\'s Exchange) responded with:
We are very sorry that you experienced an issue and we are always here to help, but honestly, we have no way of assisting customers unless they get in touch.
There seems to be a misunderstanding, as the negative language you are quoting is from the Dave's Garden policy, not The Growers Exchange. We don't threaten folks with libel damages, but I'm guessing that this is the forum's way of protecting themselves and their company. Maybe the good people from Dave's can help us out here, as we are members in good standing!
We have a guarantee, and include lots of information regarding how to proceed with us if you have an issue. We are here to HELP and if you read the language carefully, that is it's essence. Please contact us within 48 hours if you have an issue upon arrival. If you had, we'd be shipping new plants, refunding you or providing credit for a new order.
We apologize for all of the misunderstanding on this issue, but please know that we can't address issues unless we know about issues. So, if you would like, please contact us at any point and we'll can provide a remedy. We'd at least like a chance to prove ourselves worthy!
tropicalkaren The Villages, FL (Zone 9a) (3 reviews) November 4, 2016
Best customer service EVER!
Bfanta Bossier City, LA (1 review) October 28, 2016
Unlike other online purchases, my plants from The Grower's Exchange arrived well-packaged, hydrated, and healthy. I had to plant them immediately as I was leaving town the next day. When I got back, they were all in beautiful condition and have continued to grow very nicely. The Grower's Exchange will now be my go-to place for online purchases!
I have ordered twice. One was mint plants and the last one was Sweet Woodruff. Absolutely beautiful plants. Packaged extremely well. The plants were large and healthy. After planting, all are doing well. This is the best experience I have had ordering plants online.
I'll be back in the future.
Dracena Walnut Creek, CA (1 review) October 28, 2016
I ordered plants I could find no where else, they were shipped in great condition and the price was very reasonable. I highly recommend this company.
I have purchased multiple lavender plants over the past year. They arrive looking great but many (half of the most recent order) die, despite every careful care.Company representative comment on October 8, 2016: On Oct 8, 2016 10:37 AM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower\'s Exchange) responded with:
We are sorry to hear that you have experienced issues with our lavenders, and are anxious to figure out what is happening AND resolve the issues. Could you please send us an email and include the order number, we'll get right on this ~ again, we are not in the business of upsetting customers and we want you to have SUCCESS with our plants!!
I just received my first order from this company today.
Our temps are already in the 90's so I was concerned that I'd receive cooked or dead plants.
I did pay extra for faster shipping which is something I always do when ordering live plants.
I ordered 2 lovage plants and 2 yarrow plants.
They were delivered in great condition!
They were very easy to remove from the box and all of the plants had substantial roots.
I gave them a quick soak in the sink before planting the 2 yarrow plants and one of the lovage plants. The other lovage plant is a gift for a friend.
It wasn't easy to find lovage plants which is how I found this company, but I will order from them again in the future.
The plants I ordered from The Growers Exchange arrived a little over a week after ordering. Never having had good luck in the past with mail order plants, I was a little worried but optimistic to say the least. My plants arrived looking like they had just been placed in the box! I am VERY pleased with this company and will definitely be ordering from them again! I would not hesitate to recommend this company to anyone looking for high quality potted herb plants!
weasel23 Elma, WA (Zone 8a) (1 review) May 11, 2016
When I first got my herb plants, they didn't look so hot. They were well packaged, but pretty tiny and kinda feeble looking. The included information said they might be dormant, so rather than contact the company, I figured I'd stick them in my garden and give them a chance.
It's been about a month and the plants look so so much better! They have grown a ton, and look pretty robust. Most of the plants are probably at least five times the size they were on arrival.The two comfrey plants, which barely had a leaf between them when I got them, are now hardy looking rosettes. It's been overly hot and dry here and my soil is pretty cruddy and sandy, so they must have been pretty strong plants. If they die now, it's on me!
I wasn't so happy with the way the plants looked when they arrived, but I am very happy with them now. I would definitely order from Grower's Exchange again, especially since they carry so many very hard to find herbs.
I stumbled on the Growers Exchange a few years back on a Google search...so happy I did. Not only do they have a very good selection of herbs that I adore, the plants arriving are healthy and ready for planting.
I was especially impressed by the careful way the plants are packaged for shipping. They remain secure in their own spots, and very rarely have any broken or damaged leaves. I have purchased plants from other places that just toss the plants in a bag or box and ship. I value the care Growers Exchange takes in shipping my "babies".
One plant in particular I have come to love is the "Holy Basil". The aroma is just so different and unique. Many times, when not picking the leaves to use, I just gently brush my hand across the leaves to release the scent. Makes me happy!
I recently purchased the flower press...love it! The flowers pressed stay true to color and are like precious rice paper when they complete.
Will continue to be a loyal Growers Exchange customer.
StephenR Austin, TX (Zone 8b) (1 review) April 24, 2016
I am enjoying my third year growing plants from The Grower's Exchange. I am very satisfied with the quality and service I have received.
Georgia57 Woodbury, GA (Zone 8a) (1 review) March 21, 2016
Posted on March 17, 2016, updated March 21, 2016
I just received my order of 10 herb plants this afternoon and could not believe that I paid this much money for these plants. 3 of them were in decent shape; the other 7 had broken leaves, were coming out of their pots, squished due to the way they were packed. They were so small (even with the top of the pot or just barely over it) that they looked like they had been shoved in the box and pushed up against the cardboard. The French Tarragon is so small it\'s about the size of a quarter/half dollar. My comfrey is sideways and has only 1 leaf since all the others were broken off. Both the hyssop and the roman chamomile have yellow leaves and were squished. The Tagetes is wilted, dry (though soil is wet) and looks like something off the 50 cent clearance rack at the end of the gardening season. The Borage also has broken leaves and looks very sad sitting there with its 1 leaf.
The Anise Hyssop is the only thing that looks decent. The German Chamomile and the Lemongrass are passable although I certainly wouldn\'t have paid the price I paid Grower\'s Exchange if I was buying locally. Actually wouldn\'t have bought them if I was buying locally and they looked like my shipment of plants.
It\'s very disheartening to wait 2 months from the time I placed my order (which I understand that they can\'t ship until weather permits); however, this has been a total waste of money.
As soon as I opened the box, got the plants out, and saw how small and damaged they were I called The Grower\'s Exchange but they were already closed. However, I did leave a message and hope they will make this situation right. Incidentally, the box arrived in perfect condition from UPS so it was not their fault for the condition of the plants.
So disappointed - and pissed off - in Georgia.On March 21st, 2016, Georgia57 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
UPDATE: I received a call from Cathy on Friday morning at The Grower's Exchange regarding the message I left them Thursday afternoon. I took photos and sent them Saturday. On Monday I spoke with Kenan who apologized for the ordeal I went through, and stated she would do what was necessary (refund or replacement) to make me happy as they stand behind their shipments and they want their customers to be satisfied.
Although my plants were damaged as I wrote in my original comments, I am changing my rating from Negative to Positive simply on the fact that their customer service is excellent, and in speaking with Kenan (co-founder) she was very easy to talk to and I could tell very sincere in her concern that this situation be made right.
Shortly after we got off the phone I received an email with an apology and another email regarding how they were rectifying my situation as I had asked.
I must say that the Anise Hyssop they sent is absolutely beautiful.
I ordered 8 herb plants to replace some that were tired from summer production. The shipment was timed so there was not a weekend involved, which would have lengthened time in transit. The order was delivered on the date specified. Everything was in great condition. Grower's Exchange packaging is excellent. The plants were well rooted and well grown. (I already used some of the sage.) They responded well to next-day repotting. They are now housed for the winter in my little herb garden/greenhouse. I am pleased to know they will be part of my meals for the next months.
wbird Fort Lauderdale, FL (1 review) November 2, 2015
I have been ordering from The Growers Exchange for a few years. Plants arrive healthy and are packaged perfectly each in there own section of the box and plastic neatly around the pot so the soil stays in place.
The majority of what I order I cannot find locally, I was happy to find a mail order company that had exactly what I was looking for and one that took care in there packaging.
jennygen Hendersonville, TN (1 review) October 29, 2015
I have shopped the Grower's Exchange several times. The plants are healthy and hearty and arrive quickly and packed well. The communications from Growers exchange are helpful and prompt. I love being able to get healthy unusual herbs in such great shape.
I will continue to shop Grower's Exchange in the future and highly recommend them.
Frannieve Lady Lake, FL (1 review) October 29, 2015
My experience with Growers Exchange has been wonderful. The herbs that I ordered came well packaged and in excellent condition. They are thriving after 3 weeks of adjustment to our central Florida climate. The quality of the herbs was exactly what I was looking for. I sent a comment to customer service and received a reply the next day. They are my go-to site for wonderful herbs.
I have placed several orders with this company and have been very pleased each time. The plants have arrived in robust condition. The packaging is wonderful and designed to make sure that the plants arrive in great condition with no damage. Plants arrive at correct planting time for my area and are hardy and healthy. I could not be more delighted.
I recently rented a house in a wooded area and want to control insects organically. My first experience with Growers Exchange was easy and pleasant with a heaping of sound advice on planting my Lemon Grass plants. I highly recommend Growers Exchange, healthy plants, well packed and fast shipping.
Foodlover Bellingham, WA (1 review) October 29, 2015
It's a fun site to find and learn pretty much anything you want to for your yard and garden.
I have ordered many plants from the Grower's Exchange (GE) and my stevia plant is doing wonderfully. I bought a stevia from a local garden center around the same time I ordered one from the GE and the one from the local garden center is doing poorly compared to my one ordered from the GE even with the same soil conditions, water schedule, and location. I don't know how they do it but I am very pleased.
In January I ordered 17 herbs from The Growers Exchange. They arrived in early April at the appropriate planting time for my area (Zone 8B). Each plant had been placed in a separate compartment of the box and each was covered with a plastic bag. They were all well rooted in their containers, healthy and thriving. I planted the herbs within a few days in my garden and all have thrived except one, the Tagetes "Mexican Mint Marigold".....for some reason one of our doggies loves to pee on it.
I will definitely purchase more herbs from The Growers Exchange. I just need to find a different spot for the Tagetes.
Rosegirlnj Egg Harbor City, NJ (1 review) May 6, 2015
I placed several orders and received beautiful plants last year.
This year I placed another order. We had some crazy weather in South Jersey when the plants arrived. So several did not survive.
I notified the Growers Exchange and just told them about the problem and that it was not their fault do to Mother Nature.
Their customer service is awesome. They replaced all the plants that died, without any problems.
I definitely recommend their service
virginiarose Portsmouth, VA (Zone 8a) (64 reviews) April 21, 2015
I found this company through a google search. I ordered without checking Watchdog, not something I do very often and I was a little nervous. When I got the shipping confirmation it had a come-back-coupon for 10% and a tracking number.
I watched the mail and there it was on time in a very nice box which turned out to be packed very well and the plants were safe, moist and healthy looking.
I would definitely order again, and I recommend them to anyone looking for good mail-order plants.
The unusual or hard to find plants offered here are packed in shipping materials that actually protect your plants, which makes the shopper's experience & success with these herbs much improved & provides for a heartier plant when it arrives.
I grow lots of herbs that I harvest & use for cooking, soap making, & extraction, so getting good stock plants is very important to me & I think this site is one of the best. Hope they continue to offer the nice varieties/choices & continue with their great customer service. I would recommend this site to family, friends & fellow gardeners & fellow crafters.
Easy to obtain hard-to-find herbs. Love the packaging. I recently placed an order for delivery in the Spring and am excited to see how this will work out for me. I also appreciate their discounts and/or volume buying offers.
MonicaLLane Summerdale, AL (1 review) November 12, 2014
This is the first plant company I am giving a 5 star rating to. They have healthy plants that survive the shipping process, and grow wonderfully in my garden. I will be a repeat customer for years to come.
barbara02 Dobbs Ferry, NY (1 review) October 25, 2014
all plants arrived on time for spring planting and were so healthy. They thrived all summer. Can't wait until late winter to order more plants for summer 2015 from Growers exchange
All of the plants I received from this company have been in excellent condition and packed very well.
Teresa48 Kuttawa, KY (1 review) September 28, 2014
I ordered and received Basil 'Holy (Sacred) Green' . I did container gardening with it and it flourished. The plants were quite wonderful. I have them by the back porch and have harvested so much for this winter. Even a little brush fills the air with the most unbelievably great fragrance. I highly recommend this plant and nursery to all.
jasarthur Brentwood, TN (Zone 6a) (4 reviews) July 23, 2014
This was our first time ordering from this company, and I was so impressed when the box arrived. Everything was so well packaged...it looked like they truly cared about pleasing their customers. Then a couple plants took a turn within a few days and I immediately submitted a form on their website asking for replacements. They replied and opened a ticket, but requested photos of the plants in question, which I thought was odd since no vendor has ever made that request in our 40 years of gardening! But I went ahead and sent them photos--and heard nothing back. After almost two weeks, I wrote to them asking if they were going to honor their guarantee. NO REPLY. Then I submitted another online form from their site asking what the problem might be. STILL NO REPLY. My only recourse is to call them and hope I reach someone who cares. As it stands today, I am thoroughly disgruntled by their bad business practices and will never do business with this company again.
Mr. or Ms. White, if you have any interest in making this right, the two tickets opened by your so-called customer service are:
Ticket #879-7740 and Ticket #124-8730Company representative comment on August 4, 2014: On Aug 1, 2014 10:50 AM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower\\\'s Exchange) responded with:
Hello! We are working hard to find you! We\'ve searched out Customer Relations Management databank (where all communication comes in and out) with the ticket numbers above - unfortunately, we can\'t post a screen shot but it says: \"opps, we couldn\'t find a match\"! You may have just spoken to our Customer Support member, Cathy, who is trying hard to figure out where any communication may have gone using all the email addresses you provided. This is a really easy fix, but I can promise you that we HAVE NOT been ignoring you ~ the email address you provided doesn\'t turn up in a search either ... a quick call back and we\'ll fix the issue but it wasn\'t that you were being ignored. We have NO IDEA where any and all communications have gone, but we probably need to use the phone!
The Growers Exchange
On Aug 4, 2014 9:35 AM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower\'s Exchange) added:
Please give us a call: 888-829-6201 so we can figure out a remedy! We are here to help and make this right but we need a bit of help! Ask for Customer Service: we are here M-F, 9-4 ET.
Posted on June 29, 2014, updated June 29, 2014
I ordered ten of the perennial milkweed plants from The Grower's Exchange earlier this year. When the shipment arrived, I noticed one of the plants was not secured like the others, and assumed there had been some rough handling of the package during shipping that loosened it. Soon after planting, I noticed a few of the plants starting to get some yellow leaves. I had planted all of the plants within a day of receiving them, mulched all around them well, and kept them watered. My first thought was simply that there was shock from the shipping and transplanting and they would perk up soon. When they kept getting worse and others started to do the same, I called Customer Service and was instructed to send an email. After several emails back and forth I realized this company does not stand behind its products AT ALL. I originally got a response that said they only replace plants due to damage from shipping; then was told they will guarantee plants for ten days after receipt (I was only told this after I told them I wasn't sure how long I had waited to contact them. I didn't see a need to contact them if the issue was simply stress related. I'm not sure that they even know what their policies are and make them up to suit their needs as they go! in one of my last emails I explained how I have bought much product online from Spring Hill Nursery and have never had a problem with getting plants replaced. As hard of a winter as we just had, they stood behind plants I got last fall, as well as plants that I got this spring just prior to the late hard freeze we had (I'm in NC). No questions asked..the plants that didn't survive were either immediately replaced or scheduled to be shipped at the next shipping season for the particular plants in question. I will NOT order from The Grower's Exchange again and encourage anyone who reads this to shop Spring Hill Nursery if you enjoy buying plants online! On June 29th, 2014, jrn added the following:
Of the ten plants I ordered, five are dead, one has started blooming, one looks like it may bloom soon, one looks like it may or may not survive and two are barely hanging on...Company representative comment on July 2, 2014: On Jul 2, 2014 4:33 PM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower's Exchange) responded with:
Hello Mr. Nelson:
Sorry for any misunderstanding regarding our policies. We do guarantee our plants past shipping, but what we do know is that after 2 + weeks, there is a point at which there are a lot of things that could happen that are basically outside of our control ~ as a gardener, you know what I mean! We try to make our policies clear for customers before checking out ~ you actually can't check out until agreeing to the guarantee.
So, your shipment took one day and we ruled out stress. It was difficult to say exactly as we only had one photo to go one, but we are more than happy to provide you with a store credit to be used in the fall. Just let us know how you'd like to proceed and sorry for any misunderstanding.
We are a small, family owned and operated herb farm and we've been in business for 30 years. We even have an A+ rating with the BBB as well as over 50,000 pretty happy customers. We are VERY sorry that we have let you down as we are not in the business of disappointing folks. We aren't a 'Money back guarantee with no questions asked company' and we tell folks that right up front. But, we are gardeners and try hard to work with our customers.
NO EXCUSES - just stating facts!
Get back to us when you can ~ we'll leave the ticket open until we hear back.
I ordered 4 Heavenly Blue Morning Glory Plants from this Company. Was my first time purchasing from them as other suppliers I have used in the past didn't carry, so I really didn't know what to expect. I was delighted, the plants were all healthy and after hardening off I planted them below my deck below the lattice I wanted them to climb and attached string to train them. Even though our spring/summer here has been wet with hardly any sun to speak of 3 of the 4 have already wandered up 2-1/2 feet and are now twining around the lattice, and the 4th has had 3 gorgeous blooms already!! If we ever get much sun and they really take off I'm going to post a picture. Would highly recommend this company and I'm sure I will be ordering from them again in the future!
I had a poor experience with this company. Half the plants in my initial order were the wrong plants, and some of the others were in very poor shape (and did not survive). After they sent replacements for the plants I was supposed to have gotten, I find that these are the wrong plants too!! Now they are claiming that these are the plants I ordered. Nonsense. I have ordered from this company for years now, but they have really gone down hill, both in terms of quality and customer service. I would not order from this company again.Company representative comment on June 17, 2014: On Jun 17, 2014 2:20 PM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower's Exchange) responded with:
We are sorry that you had a bad experience with The Growers Exchange. It is hard to address this concern, as we don't know who you are, but the only issue we've had this spring regarding 'wrong plants' has to do with Green Holy Basil. So, we all know not to assume, but if this IS about the Holy Basil, we can only address it this way:
We grow, advertise and sell Ocimum sanctum - it has numerous common names including Tulsi, Holy Basil, Tulasi, Sacred Basil. But, as we list on the website as well as in our catalog, we grow true to species plants. The photos are our own, taken of the plants that we have grown from seed.
If we could do anything more for you, we will try. However, we have already reshipped the order and at this point, we are at a loss as to how to move forward. We are not in the business of disappointing customers and we want you to be satisfied with your order.
This was my fist time ordering from them...I ordered 8 plants. They were not the biggest plants, but they are all healthy and are thriving. Great plant selection! Shipping was swift and hassle free. I will buy from them again.
Posted on May 1, 2014, updated May 4, 2014
I have ordered plants from Grower's Exchange before and they always look wonderful!
When I placed my current order, I never received an email confirmation, but I always save my confirmations at check out to PDF, so I was covered. I contacted them and asked about the order and attached a copy. I received my plants in a timely fashion and they all look great! But the packing slip showed I was shipped a comfrey and a chamomile along with the rest of my order. What I received were two chamomiles and no comfrey with the rest of my order. I sent photos and asked what was the possibility of my receiving the comfrey I wanted - I also told them how great the plants looked and that I loved chamomile.
The next email I received said I would be receiving a refund. I responded again with the question is the comfrey out of stock, because I'd really like to receive it. Several hours later I receive email confirmation that my refund had gone through.
No response as to whether comfrey is in stock. It shows in stock online. Now, if I want the comfrey I originally ordered, I will have to pay shipping costs toward someone's packing mistake because someone conveniently issued the refund before my question could be answered.
I find that underhanded and just a little slimy and won't order again, no matter how good the plants look. It's not worth the frustration when, with a little extra time and effort, I can get my own from seed. Especially since I just got the display model mini-greenhouse from a local store at half off.On May 4th, 2014, SearsR changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
I am changing from Negative to Positive because I received the following email:
Sorry for any misunderstanding; we try to tell customers that it can take up to 48 hours to respond to emails. We are a small family farm, so everyone's pretty busy as you can imagine. We weren't ignoring you.
We are out of Comfrey; not sure why it is showing up as it has no stock.
Yes, it was a packing error and we apologize and have definitely taken it up with the folks that pack and ship.
The only option is a refund ~ and as a gardener, I know how frustrating it is NOT TO GET what you want this season.
I sincerely wish I could make this right, but we just don't have any more.
I will NEVER order anything from Grower exchange again ! The plants I ordered arrived in poor condition and half of them never made it through the hardening stage. I sent photos back to the company showing them how badly they looked right out of the box and instead of just sending me new plants they allowed me a CREDIT on my NEXT order!
There will never BE a next order I explained (They did"nt get the first one right). I was certainly not going to throw good money after bad.
My advise to any one thinking of buying at Grower Exchange...find a REPUTABLE dealer that is trust worthy and stands behind their products and will refund your money if your not satisfied.Company representative comment on June 17, 2014: On Jun 17, 2014 2:24 PM, The Growers Exchange (aka The Grower's Exchange) responded with:
Sorry that we missed this; a bit late but we did want to address the issue. We did provide credit as we had stopped shipping in mid-summer. We do stand behind our plants, in fact we really care about both the plants and customer satisfaction. No one would appreciate a box shipped mid-summer when our outside temps are in the mid-90's. We begin fall shipping in September, so the credit was intended to provide an opportunity to reship.
Again, sorry that you had bad experience with The Growers Exchange. We work hard to make sure that customers have success with our plants, and we are sorry to lose you as a customer.
I ordered lavender, rosemary and a terracotta pot from the Grower's Exchange and it was a very positive experience. Communication about my order status was good, shipping was relatively quick and the plants were large, robust and healthy when they arrived. They're now growing well in the ground. Would definitely buy from again.