Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'MeyerLemonTree.com'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
MeyerLemonTree.com

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 373
Leesburg, Georgia 31763 (United States)

Phone: (229) 325-7210

» E-Mail them

Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 0 0
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company is affiliated with 2 companies:This company specializes in:

  Company Comment, posted on February 2, 2012:  
In an effort to show a more positive light on our company I will address the issue that happened 2 years.

We have had no bad vendors since... due to what we learned and working with the USDA to make sure it does not happen again!

We have also asked our past customers if they could also give a good word on sites like these and will most likely see many new members to this site due to our requests.

The company is setup like an FTD of citrus and fruit trees. We have contracted with vendors (wholesalers and nurseries) in every citrus growing state we could find. By doing this we are able to ship to every state except AZ and parts of SC. See the USDA website saveourcitrus.org for more details.

This makes us unique in the sense that we can ship everywhere citrus is allowed to be shipped.

As you can read below we acknowledged one of our vendors was shut down. Luckily we talked with the USDA and resolved that we would replace any confiscated tree at no cost. The USDA agent typically informs our past customer to CONTACT US to get a replacement tree. Believe me when I say if we where not following the rules the USDA would shut us down. We apologize to those affected and we will replace your tree.

When this surprise happened 2 years ago we asked the USDA to verify the vendors we use and were told everyone on our list was approved. Companies like Four Winds, Monrovia, etc.

So be assured if you order for Texas you will get a tree USDA approved and grown in Texas.

If you order in California, You will get a CA grown tree like Monrovia (who also supplies Sam's and Costco across the country).

If you order in Florida, you will receive a FL grown tree.

If you order in Louisiana, you will receive a LA grown tree.

If you order in Beaufort, Charleston or Colleton Counties of South Carolina you will receive a tree from CA, TX or LA. The other SC counties are not able to import citrus from any state right now.

Arizona: The entire state is under quarantine for sweet orange scab. A portion of Yuma County is under quarantine for Asian citrus psyllid.

For regulatory information regarding the movement of fresh citrus fruit, citrus nursery stock or other citrus parts (cut foliage, seeds, wood, etc.), contact the USDA State Plant Health Directorís office at (602) 431-3200.
It's is so bad here that counties in AZ can not ship to other counties in the same state.

In summary, certain citrus growers can ship OUTSIDE their state and others can not. An example would be Texas. Texas approved growers are currently allowed to ship to the rest of the country other than AZ, CA, FL, LA, parts of SC.

This is a very competitive business and companies actively try to badmouth one another. So just take the negative posts for what they are and also believe that if any company was violating the laws that the government would step in.

That said, please consider us in your purchase and we welcome our customers to verify there tree is USDA approved or your money back.

Meyerlemontree.com

  Feedback History and Summary  
8 positives
3 neutrals
10 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Positive ThaiCooker
Walterhill, TN
(2 reviews)
October 4, 2012
Ordered a Kaffir Lime tree from this company and I was very surprised and elated at what I received. My tree was 3 1/2 feet tall with well developed branches, an abundance of bright shiny, fragrant green leaves and a foot taller than advertised. I love it!!
My mom wanted one also.... so I ended up ordering one for her. I would recommend this company if you are looking for a Kaffir lime tree.
Neutral jwnix
Baton Rouge, LA
(1 review)
September 30, 2012
It never occurred to me to look at DG about this issue and interesting to see this discussion.
Initially, I purchased myer lemon trees from them and they are great!! In 11/08 I purchased 3 key lime trees that never thrived. in 2010 USDA contacted me and seized my trees. I did not receive replacement trees, nor a refund. The lemons continue to be prolific and thrive and i am pleased with them. so plus for the lemons and minus for limes.
Negative jimcolgan
Lima, PA
(2 reviews)
July 19, 2012
Posted on December 29, 2011, updated July 19, 2012
Posted on August 22, 2011, updated August 24, 2011
Posted on August 17, 2011, updated August 22, 2011
Purchased a 4-5 ft Lime tree last summer. Struggled with it thru the winter, but with spring came a beautiful set of flowers. The tree was thriving and producing limes until early this afternoon when the USDA came and confiscated it. I've got the paperwork to prove it.
On August 22nd, 2011, jimcolgan added the following:

The company returned my email quickly and offered to send me another tree to replace the one the USDA took. They explained that one of their suppliers made the mistake and they are offering a replacement trees to costumers.

I'll be back in two weeks to let you know how the new tree was received and it's condition.
On August 24th, 2011, jimcolgan added the following:

****Under NO circumstances should you do business with MeyerLemonTree.com, Keylimepietree.com or Palmtreeplant.com****

As you will note in my previous posting, the USDA came to my house and confiscated the tree I purchased from them because the plant was sourced from a quarantined area and could have several citrus diseases.

When I contacted them, they blamed everything on one of their suppliers and then promised to send me another one. I then came back to this site and updated my comments to note that they were going to send me another tree. As soon as I posted the update, they emailed me back and told me that they would NOT send me another tree unless I changed my rating of them on Dave's Garden. Can you believe that? Blackmailing me to change my rating even before they sent a replacement. I wonder how many of the previous posters changed their rating from Negative to Neutral just to get another tree. My guess is that all of the below neutral ratings are really Negative.

Buyer beware of MeyerLemonTree.com, Keylimepietree.com or Palmtreeplant.com as if you buy from them you could expect a visit from the USDA. Purchase another quarantined tree from them after the USDA visits and you could be slapped with a fine of up to $60,000. As well as any damage your plant causes to citrus plants in your area. Don't believe me look it up on-line at the USDA.

Also after a little investigating I found that MyerLemonTree.com has an "F" rating from the Florida (BBB) Better Business Bureau. DOI NO do business with these guys unless you want to face the possibility of diseases and steep fines.

Consider yourself warned, but again don't take my word for it. Do your own research and check out sites like the Florida BBB, Pissedconsumer.com and Daves garden just to name a few. They have a long trail of very unhappy customers.



On July 19th, 2012, jimcolgan added the following:


All of the negative comments on this site has forced the company to address the issues they have had with the federal government. I find it interesting that they are directly responding to people with negative comments, but have chosen to ignore my comments. Well I'm back with an update to tell you to stay away from this company. They point to a high rating on Amazon, but they still maintain a "F" rating with the Florida BBB and have a long trail of unhappy customers on this and many other rating websites. To this day they have not returned my money or provided a replacement tree. Do not do business with this company!
Company representative comment on July 19, 2012:
On Jul 19, 2012 8:20 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi Jim,
Please forward your contact information to usacitrus@yahoo.com and I will personally take care of your issue. We have worked hard to establish a good working relationship with all of our customers. I apologize profusely if your order was not properly replaced. We actively work with the USDA to ensure we are consistently in compliance.
Thank you for your time. In all sincerity I hope to hear from you soon.
Diana, meyer lemon tree

Negative sakapur
San Jose, CA
(1 review)
June 2, 2012
This company operates under different websites. They show the plants are available. You place the order, they charge your credit card. After charging the credit card, they stay quiet. If you remember to follow-up, they come back with one of the following answers :

- Not in stock --> Why charge to credit card if not in stock ?
- We don't ship to your state -- Why charge to credit card if you don't ship to California ?

Now, it is your turn to follow-up on the refunds. My personal experience with this company has been very bad (this has happened 3rd time). They charged me for Orange tree on 18thMay,2012. Immediately after the charging, I asked status of the order and got back reply, we don't ship to California (I fail to understand why they charged if they don't ship to California).
Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 2:58 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi sakapur,

We apologize for going out of stock on the particular Orange Tree you ordered. We are in the process of updating our website to show we will not be able to ship that item into California right now. Your money has been refunded.

We do have many other varieties available in California such as the Valencia, Washington Navel, Cara Cara, Blood Orange.

Take care and thank you for your patience.

Diana
LemonCitrusTree

Negative Bunny0217
Adair Village, OR
(1 review)
April 25, 2012
Terrible customer service. It's amazing they're still in business.
After a week of no shipping confirmation I wrote them an email (per the request on the website), I never got an email back. The next week I called Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday. Each time I left voicemails explaining the problem and asked that they call me back. No phone call. The next Monday I called multiple times during their business hours (only 12-4pm) and no one answered. I then wrote another email informing them that ignoring a customer was unacceptable, especially after you've taken their money, and that I would be contacting the BBB and taking legal action next. That afternoon I got an email back. This is all it said:
Hi,

Your order is shipping tomorrow and you should expect its arrival by the end of this week.
Thanks and have a wonderful day.

Kind Regards,
Meyer Lemon Tree.com

That's it? No apology for ignoring someone for 3 weeks or explanation? I also got a phone call from them that afternoon. A woman left a message saying that they had some shipping issues where many orders were lost and that it would be shipped. Still no remorse for the terrible customer service.
I wish I could have gotten a refund and bought from another company instead. I would never recommend that anyone patronize this business .. ever.
Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 3:05 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi Bunny,

I agree.... and I apologize for you not receiving a phone call back promptly. Our Customer Service goal is to have a 100% response rate within 24 hours and we meet that goal with 99%+ of our customers. It looks like we dropped the ball in your situation. No excuses we should have done better with your order.

I hope you are pleased with your tree and we do stand behind our Warranty if any issues arrive.

Diana,
MeyerLemontree.com

Positive sanfrangirl
San Francisco, CA
(1 review)
February 7, 2012
I was surprised to see the bad news here. The company told me if I liked their products to please tell people. So here I am :)

I order some trees for Christmas for myself and family in different parts of the country. Each member got beautiful trees. It was hard to find 4-5 foot trees since most of the website offer 6 inches to 3 foot only.

I did check the tags on my tree and googled the rest from my family members and they all showed up on the Dept of Ag of each state as approved shippers of citrus trees.

So I see they admit they had a problem in the past. And I think they did the right thing by offering replacement trees. I know we had one tree damaged in transit and they quickly replaced it after UPS came out to inspect the box.

So I got good customer service and will buy from them again.


Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 3:35 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi SanFranGirl!

Thank you for your kind words and nice review!

Although 99%+ of our customers are happy with their purchase it is our goal to reach 100% satisfaction level.

Take care and I hope your family enjoys many good years of harvests and beauty.

Diana,
MeyerLemontree.com


On Jun 4, 2012 3:37 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com added:

Hi SanFranGirl!

Thank you for your kind words and nice review!

Although 99%+ of our customers are happy with their purchase it is our goal to reach 100% satisfaction level.

Take care and I hope your family enjoys many good years of harvests and beauty.

Diana,
MeyerLemontree.com

Negative hoosierquilt
Vista, CA
(5 reviews)
February 2, 2012
Gardengallie and Growyourfood are new DG ID's and have also just been created over on the GardenWeb forums as well, yesterday or today. They have both resurrected very old threads on the GardenWeb Citrus Forum in order to promote this company. Quite obviously this is the company trying to repair their much-damaged reputation based on the past illegal practices. Just read through the many, many, many negative comments on this forum about their illegal shipping of quarantined stock. Or, Google them on the Internet. Based on this new less than ethical attempt to promote themselves, it's merely another example of why you do not want to do business with this company. They and others like them, are responsible for putting our citrus states at risk for spreading HLB. Shame on you.
Company representative comment on February 3, 2012:
On Feb 3, 2012 2:29 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

In an effort to show a more positive light on our company I will address the issue that happened 2 years.

We have had no bad vendors since... due to what we learned and working with the USDA to make sure it does not happen again!

We have also asked our past customers if they could also give a good word on sites like these and will most likely see many new members to this site due to our requests.

The company is setup like an FTD of citrus and fruit trees. We have contracted with vendors (wholesalers and nurseries) in every citrus growing state we could find. By doing this we are able to ship to every state except AZ and parts of SC. See the USDA website saveourcitrus.org for more details.

This makes us unique in the sense that we can ship everywhere citrus is allowed to be shipped.

As you can read below we acknowledged one of our vendors was shut down. Luckily we talked with the USDA and resolved that we would replace any confiscated tree at no cost. The USDA agent typically informs our past customer to CONTACT US to get a replacement tree. Believe me when I say if we where not following the rules the USDA would shut us down. We apologize to those affected and we will replace your tree.

When this surprise happened 2 years ago we asked the USDA to verify the vendors we use and were told everyone on our list was approved. Companies like Four Winds, Monrovia, etc.

So be assured if you order for Texas you will get a tree USDA approved and grown in Texas.

If you order in California, You will get a CA grown tree like Monrovia (who also supplies Sam's and Costco across the country).

If you order in Florida, you will receive a FL grown tree.

If you order in Louisiana, you will receive a LA grown tree.

If you order in Beaufort, Charleston or Colleton Counties of South Carolina you will receive a tree from CA, TX or LA. The other SC counties are not able to import citrus from any state right now.

Arizona: The entire state is under quarantine for sweet orange scab. A portion of Yuma County is under quarantine for Asian citrus psyllid.

For regulatory information regarding the movement of fresh citrus fruit, citrus nursery stock or other citrus parts (cut foliage, seeds, wood, etc.), contact the USDA State Plant Health Directorís office at (602) 431-3200.
It's is so bad here that counties in AZ can not ship to other counties in the same state.

In summary, certain citrus growers can ship OUTSIDE their state and others can not. An example would be Texas. Texas approved growers are currently allowed to ship to the rest of the country other than AZ, CA, FL, LA, parts of SC.

This is a very competitive business and companies actively try to badmouth one another. So just take the negative posts for what they are and also believe that if any company was violating the laws that the government would step in.

That said, please consider us in your purchase and we welcome our customers to verify there tree is USDA approved or your money back.

Meyerlemontree.com

Positive Gardengallie
Houston, TX
(1 review)
February 1, 2012
I was concerned after reading this since I live in Texas and received a tree from them.

I called the local USDA and they told me the company has a number of vendors throughout the country and they are in compliance. They told me they shut down one of their vendors in Georgia a couple years ago.

Even then I ask them to come look at my tree since I did not want any surprises later. The refused to come out but the USDA person told me to read the tag on the tree to him. It reads Produced in Texas #2305 Brownville, TX. It has alot of small type about "limited permit" and "USDA/APHIS not for distribution in AZ, American Somoa, etc."

He assured me this is a Texas Tree and is approved in Texas. He told me that Texas nurseries can not ship to CA, AZ, FL, LA and parts of SC. Otherwise they can ship the rest of the states.

He gave me some great articles too:
http://agrilife.org/today/2011/01/06/texas-citrus-shipping-a...

http://www.texasagriculture.gov/RegulatoryPrograms/PlantQual...

I found this one too:
http://sites.google.com/site/johnpanza/texascitruslaws

Anyway, I love my tree and I'm glad I get to keep it

:)
Negative SanJoseFool
San Jose, CA
(6 reviews)
February 1, 2012
They are illegally shipping citrus to quarantined states.

See reviews or GW for more references.

http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/citrus/msg0111262124...
Company representative comment on February 3, 2012:
On Feb 3, 2012 2:28 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

In an effort to show a more positive light on our company I will address the issue that happened 2 years.

We have had no bad vendors since... due to what we learned and working with the USDA to make sure it does not happen again!

We have also asked our past customers if they could also give a good word on sites like these and will most likely see many new members to this site due to our requests.

The company is setup like an FTD of citrus and fruit trees. We have contracted with vendors (wholesalers and nurseries) in every citrus growing state we could find. By doing this we are able to ship to every state except AZ and parts of SC. See the USDA website saveourcitrus.org for more details.

This makes us unique in the sense that we can ship everywhere citrus is allowed to be shipped.

As you can read below we acknowledged one of our vendors was shut down. Luckily we talked with the USDA and resolved that we would replace any confiscated tree at no cost. The USDA agent typically informs our past customer to CONTACT US to get a replacement tree. Believe me when I say if we where not following the rules the USDA would shut us down. We apologize to those affected and we will replace your tree.

When this surprise happened 2 years ago we asked the USDA to verify the vendors we use and were told everyone on our list was approved. Companies like Four Winds, Monrovia, etc.

So be assured if you order for Texas you will get a tree USDA approved and grown in Texas.

If you order in California, You will get a CA grown tree like Monrovia (who also supplies Sam's and Costco across the country).

If you order in Florida, you will receive a FL grown tree.

If you order in Louisiana, you will receive a LA grown tree.

If you order in Beaufort, Charleston or Colleton Counties of South Carolina you will receive a tree from CA, TX or LA. The other SC counties are not able to import citrus from any state right now.

Arizona: The entire state is under quarantine for sweet orange scab. A portion of Yuma County is under quarantine for Asian citrus psyllid.

For regulatory information regarding the movement of fresh citrus fruit, citrus nursery stock or other citrus parts (cut foliage, seeds, wood, etc.), contact the USDA State Plant Health Directorís office at (602) 431-3200.
It's is so bad here that counties in AZ can not ship to other counties in the same state.

In summary, certain citrus growers can ship OUTSIDE their state and others can not. An example would be Texas. Texas approved growers are currently allowed to ship to the rest of the country other than AZ, CA, FL, LA, parts of SC.

This is a very competitive business and companies actively try to badmouth one another. So just take the negative posts for what they are and also believe that if any company was violating the laws that the government would step in.

That said, please consider us in your purchase and we welcome our customers to verify there tree is USDA approved or your money back.

Meyerlemontree.com

Negative GraceD1981
Orange, NJ
(1 review)
December 29, 2011
Do NOT DO BUSINESS with this company! They are scam artist selling trees out of a shell company in GA, but they really reside in Florida.

I to was visited by the USDA who physically confiscated my plant (While I had my in-laws visiting) Imagine my embarrassment! The inspector was very nice, but determined to take the plant. After producing multiple legal documents, I was left no other choice but to allow him to take it. I asked him if I should call the company to try and get my money back or another tree and he told me to watch out because if he had to come back I could get a heafty fine.

After reading the previous posts and a quick look up on the USDA website, I decided not to attempt get another tree because of the huge fines and possible civil lawsuits.

Don't make the mistake of buying from this company!


Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 3:28 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi Grace,

I am sorry for the issue you had with the USDA. We have changed our vendor from Georgia and we NO longer have ANY USDA issues. As noted above, the few customers who had any issues were shipped new trees or were completely refunded. We have shipped well over 5,000+ trees since that issue and we have received glowing reviews of the quality of our trees.

We have a 4.8 star rating out of 5 on Amazon and its our goal for all of our customers to be happy with their purchase

Diana,
MeyerLemonTree.com

Positive john999
Bordentown, NJ
(1 review)
October 3, 2011
I was told by the USDA agent that meyer is approved to replaced the trees.

They apologized to me as they too were surprised by the confiscations.

They sent me an email that allowed me to reorder my replacement tree. I was told that since this problem vendor they used they have had all their vendors approved by the USDA. They told me to keep my USDA approved tags that come on the tree with the tree Forever. This is so if there is ever a re-inspection by the USDA there would be no questions.

Neutral LOVIE2
Boston, MA (Zone 6a)
(8 reviews)
June 6, 2011
Posted on August 26, 2010, updated June 6, 2011
Posted on August 17, 2009, updated August 26, 2010
I am in between a high neutral and a positive as a rating for this company. I received a Satsuma orange and meyer lemon tree as gifts from a friend via this company. They were very green and beautiful but the orange tree never recovered from whatever shock it experienced via the delivery or the growing season. The reason for my feelings of a high neutral is because communication with them is difficult for lack of a better word. When trying to find help in regards to the orange tree, I've had to emailed and call and email and call before getting one response. When it still didn't improve the satsuma orange tree was eventually replaced but again only after my chasing them down.While I LOVE my trees I may think twice about going through them again. I kept the rating as a positive because their plants are truly gorgeous and healthy but if they could improve upon the communication they'd be above the rest in the field.
On August 26th, 2010, LOVIE2 added the following:

I had to come back to say my trees are STILL living and thriving! I am floored at this because I had such a hard time keeping citrus alive in the past. These trees are outside and have been since about April/May. No fruit as it keeps dropping before it's ripe but it still flowers and still tries to produce. i will definitely order from them again in the near future.
On June 6th, 2011, LOVIE2 changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:

I am worried about placing another order with this company. After reading the comments about the plants being seized I very skittish. Is there anything available in writting about why they are doing this?
For the person who mentioned lemoncitrustree.com - they are indeed one in the same company. same #, same prices but it's discounted from the other sites "sale" prices. I felt scammed when I saw this, yet my trees continue to thrive. I don't know what to do.
Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 3:16 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi Lovie,

We have shipped well over 5,000+ trees since the USDA issue we had last year on a few of our trees. We replaced or refunded everyone of the 86 customers who had an issue. We have worked diligently with the USDA to ensure we do not have any issues in the future.

We ship beautiful trees and we are well reviewed (4.8 stras out of 5) on Amazon. You will not be dissapointed in your purchase with us

Diana
Meyerlemontree.com

Negative NewgardenR
Atlanta, GA
(1 review)
May 16, 2011
I purchased the largest, most expensive meyer lemon tree from meyerlemontree.com in 2009. It was confiscated by USDA from my home. It was a very traumatic and scary experience. I had no idea what was going on and was extremely upset since it was growing very nicely. I contacted meyerlemontree.com and wanted a refund. They convinced me to let them send me another tree instead of the refund promising that these trees are not diseased and will not be confiscated. They said they only do replacements and do not have a refund policy. What company does not have a refund policy? WELL a few weeks ago, my second tree was confiscated!! This time it was when I was hosting a family party. How embarrassing!!!!

I will never purchase anything from meyerlemontree.com again! I do not recommend this company since obviously they are illegally sending diseased trees to unknowing consumers! I donít want to even contact them again regarding this issue. All I want is my lemon tree back.

I was looking on other sites to purchase a new one. I came across lemoncitrustree.com. Sketchy thing is that their contact phone number is the same as meyerlemontree.com. A lot of the pages on the 2 sites are the same. I just donít understand that it says USDA approved Ė then why were my trees confiscated a few weeks ago!? They have very cheap prices for the lemon trees right now. Lowest being $5.99. BUT! The shipping cost is $26! Iíve seen other sites ship this same tree for half the price. Obviously, they are spiking up their shipping cost to make up for their cheap prices. It seems like a SCAM to me and I will not be buying anything from either of these sites.

Does anyone know of a reputable website?
Negative citruslover100
breckenridge, CO
(1 review)
May 13, 2011
I ordered a few small citrus trees from this website. Although the sight is very cheap and sketchy looking, I ignored my gut feeling anyway and ordered.
To make a long story short i received my trees and although one of the trees were snapped in half I still re-potted them and they grew accordingly.. Well they had little white spots on them but I didn't think anything of it..
All seemed well until a USDA investigator showed up at my doorstep to confiscate my trees!! I asked him what the issues were and he informed me that there was a investigation going on and that they received my information via meyerlemontree.com files that had been seized. apparently they were or are shipping diseased trees illegally.
Thank goodness I didn't put them near my other citrus trees.
None the less I DO NOT appreciate the way they do business. It is not honest and it turns my stomach to think there are companies doing this.

Company representative comment on June 4, 2012:
On Jun 4, 2012 3:50 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hi CitrusLover100,

I am truly sorry for the situation you encountered. We worked hand in hand with the USDA to correct the situation and all of our customers were issued replacements or they were refunded their money.

We have shipped thousands of trees since and with glowing reviews. Our trees are top-notch and we stand behind the product we deliver to our customers.

Thank you for your understanding ... it is our goal for 100% of our customers to be satisfied with their tree!

Negative lemon2011
Fort Wayne, IN
(1 review)
May 3, 2011
DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!! I was just contacted today by the US Department of Agriculture - they have to SEIZE my tree!!! The Improved Meyer Lemon tree was purchased online in 2008, the USDA said the tree was illegally sold by this company from GA to avoid a FL quarantine! I can not believe the company has put my family in such danger! AVOID! Pay a little extra and do business with another company!!
Neutral Averum
Seneca, SC
(1 review)
February 21, 2011
Posted on February 21, 2011, updated February 21, 2011
I attempted to order a tree on 02/20/2011. I later received the following email.

"We refunded your order in full. We cannot ship into your part of SC.

Best regards,
Meyer Lemon Tree

http://www.meyerlemontree.com

To place an order or customer service please call 12-4 pm Eastern time M-F: 229-299-5555
If no answer, Please leave detailed message for a return call."

I replied with the following.

"Any particular reason?"

They replied with.

"Agricultural relations."

So I have no idea what the real problem is with a reply like that. All I know is I can not order from them. I also know that I will not attempt to order from the in the future with such cryptic replies to my queries.
On February 21st, 2011, Averum changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:

I will change my rating to neutral. Had you given me this information in the first place this would not have been an issue. Replying from you iphone with a two word reply that means nothing to your average customer was not acceptable.
Company representative comment on February 21, 2011:
On Feb 21, 2011 10:56 AM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

We can NOT ship into certain parts of SC because it is illegal. Again sorry for any inconvenience, but we are only following the law. There are only three counties that citrus can be shipped into in your state. The Counties are listed on saveourcitrus.org. I am not sure what we did to have a negative comment, we have only followed the laws set by USDA. We also refunded your order in full immediately.

Negative Novice40
Chicago, IL
(1 review)
December 29, 2010
I ordered a tree as a gift for my brother in July from this company. Tonight, the Department of Agriculture showed up and seized the tree. They said it was sold illegally and is diseased. The Dept of Ag had seized the company's records and is now working at seizing the trees sold. DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!
Company representative comment on February 1, 2011:
On Feb 1, 2011 12:32 PM, MeyerLemonTree.com responded with:

Hello Sir,
We were completely unaware of your situation. I do understand your frustrations. Please give us your contact information so we can address the issue at hand and replace your tree. You can email us at lemontreemeyer@yahoo.com or call 229-299-5555.

Positive Dragonfly4645
Chattanooga, TN (Zone 7a)
(1 review)
November 6, 2009
I ordered a meyer lemon tree that, according to the description, would be 4 to 4.5 feet tall. It was shipped on Monday and I received it the next day. It was healthy and full of dark green leaves with a good, strong root system intact. The tree is 6 feet tall! I potted the tree, following the instructions enclosed, and placed it in the greenhouse. It has been a week and not a leaf has dropped. I would definitely order from this company again.
Positive ajholland
Longview, TX
(1 review)
May 20, 2009
While I am in no position to vouch for the quality of this outfit's citrus trees, I can say that much of their Web content is copyrighted material being used without permission. As the author of this content, I noticed it immediately upon entering the site. I had to go through a proxy registration service to determine the owner(s) of this place and now ó meyerlemontree.com and keylimepietree.com are asking me to prove the work is mine.

Before you order from either of these companies, know that either they do not know much about what they are selling; or they disregard basic principals of honesty and integrity.

Either way, caveat emptor!

ajholland
On May 27th, 2009, ajholland changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

It appears I was too quick to judge. I have talked to the folks at this company and believe that my original material was used by mistake. They seem to have their stuff together and I would gladly order from them if I didn't live in Texas.
Positive madial
Madison, AL
(1 review)
February 13, 2009
I ordered a Meyer lemon tree as a gift for my granddaughter and had it shipped to Birmingham, AL where she lives. The tree arrived today, Feb 12, 2009 and was very nice and in perfect condition. From my daughter's description by telephone, it sounds as though the tree was even better than I expected. All email inquiries were answered promptly and some were sent by me late in the day.

I ordered a tree from them last winter and it produced 12 beautiful, delicious lemons the first year. I'm most pleased with the fruit trees and service from this company and will order from them again. My experience it that they try very hard to please customers.
Positive apierot
Summerfield, NC
(2 reviews)
September 4, 2007
I received my first lemon tree as a gift. I was impressed by its quality -- lots of leaves, good height and even a lemon. I have never received a bareroot plant of this quality. I have since ordered two more -- a lemon and a key lime. The lime was even better than the lemon that I received as a gift.

The only issue I had was neither tree was marked. I e-mailed the company. They were very quick to respond, within a couple of hours. I sent a few pics via e-mail and they were able to identify the lime from the lemon. Now I can too.

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America