Guess what time it is? It's time for the DG County Fair! Now in it's sixth year, enter your blue-ribbon photos or mouth-watering recipes for a chance to win a gift subscription! Click here here to get all the details, dates and entry rules.
Tyankees10 Albion, NY (2 reviews) January 19, 2012
Ordered some plant containers from Home Harvest. The prices were reasonable. However the shipping prices were rather high. Two days after the order, i received my shipment. Very quick shipping even with the cheapest option. Would recommended this company to anyone.
MamaBuch Memphis, TN (2 reviews) September 13, 2011
Bought a bunch of seed from them this year. 2 packets were missing, and they fixed the issue immediately. VERY pleased.
cbe76 Birmingham, MI (2 reviews) September 8, 2010
Flashy store, huge sqft.age. Worthless staff. 1st issue, my buddy had a mite problem, the staff tried to sell him "Green fuze" a root stimulator, and tired to tell him he needed to use that. HA, and it gets better, all sales w/ them are final, they don't post this anywhere except the receipt you get after the sale. Funny? Lastly I ordered 500 worth of Nuit. alone, they said it would arrive on day X, it arrived day x plus 3, and they flat out refused to do anything about it. I ended up waiting 10 days for my order. Don't mess around, contact Grow Co. These guys are a total rip off job, joke. No wonder they have such a big nice store.
Posted on August 12, 2010, updated August 19, 2010
DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY!!! I am writing this to let you know how my experience was in dealing with this company. I ordered 6 packets of seeds on August 7. Yesterday I received the package and was surprised to see that there was only 1 pack of seeds in it. I looked back through my email and saw that this company had sent me an email on August 9 stating that the other packets of seeds were on backorder and would be shipped as soon as they are available. Today I received an email from Elizabeth Kelly apologizing for the confusion and letting me know that this company will not honor backorders for seeds that were on clearance. I called their customer service to ask about what that means and was told that the website clearly states this. I checked their website and as far as I am concerned saying "Very Limited Supplies, While 2010 Supplies Last, No Rainchecks, No Returns" does not mean that they will not honor backorders. If they do not have the seeds then why did they let me order them to begin with? And after I ordered them why did they send me an email saying that I would receive them as soon as they were available? I ended up spending over $9 on 1 packet of seeds because of the shipping cost. I did not know that these seeds were even on backorder until the 9th. Perhaps I did not do enough research before ordering from their site but I guess I thought I was just making a simple purchase. I now know better and will be more careful about who I do business with, even for simple purchases.On August 19th, 2010, claircd changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
Thank you for the reply and refund.Company representative comment on August 17, 2010: On Aug 17, 2010 2:26 PM, Home Harvest Garden Supply (Division of Superior Growers Supply, Inc.) responded with:
Please again accept our sincere apologies for the confusion surrounding your order, which should have never occurred in the first place. Once a year we clear out the current year seed stock to make room for the next season's seeds, and while we update out-of-stock varieties online daily, occasionally multiple customers order the last packet of a particular variety of seed before the website can be updated. While we do not ever charge you for unshipped seeds, in this case where you ordered six varieties and we only had one, you should have been contacted first and given the option of canceling the order. The back-order email you received was supposed to have been suspended for clearance seeds, but as you can tell, we had a glitch in the system. I have instructed the accounting department to issue a full refund for your trouble and I will also be sending you a discount coupon via email for a future order should you decide to give us another chance. We very much appreciate your business and once more, apologize for our mistake.
shipping was very fast, all products delivered at once, yes, will use them again.
geminitrv Marshall, TX (Zone 8a) (6 reviews) August 23, 2008
I placed an order with Home Harvest for many propagation flats and several sheets of bedding cells. I received my order in less than a week and everything looks great! Their prices were also very reasonable. I will be ordering from them again.
I have placed two orders with Home Harvest Garden Supply over the past 2 months. Both arrived complete, well-packaged and within 4-5 days. While the site may be on the simplistic side, I found it very easy to use and they have more products for "gardening" than I've ever seen on one site.
i ordered some lime/sulphur on january 7. here it is, january 21 and still no product. i know it's only been two weeks, but i'm used to dealing with fast shippers. i'm usually very good about checking the watchdog, but i didn't on this purchase. regardless of the outcome, i won't be ordering from them again.On January 22nd, 2007, trackinsand added the following:
well, one day after my post and fedex just pulled up with my order. unfortunatley, i am a bottle short. i just emailed customer service to give me a credit on the missing bottle, plus some shipping refund too. now we wait...now the "fun" begins. i just hate this.On January 31st, 2007, trackinsand added the following:
a follow up post: i emailed the company for a refund and waited two days for a reply. none came. i called them and talked to a nice woman who apologized and told me i would receive a refund on the missing bottle and also, after asking, a refund on half the shipping since i paid for two bottles. i also asked how soon i would get my refund and she said soon. i was pleasantly surprised when i did receive notice of a refund within two days. i think i got off good considering the bad rating this company has. i am keeping my rating neutral inspite of the fast refund. the slow shipping and missing products in the shipment are enough to let me know this isn't a place i want to trust very much.
Toni05 Brookfield, IL (61 reviews) September 2, 2006
I've ordered from Home Harvest several times without problems..shipment was well-packaged and order arrived quickly.
I placed an order with this company, waited over 15 days and then inquired on its status. I got the run around that they were having issues with their computers and were having problems processing the order, and then sent the order out the following week. If I never questioned about the order, I may never have seen it. I hate companies that take your money, and then frantically ship items weeks later after the customer wonders where it is. If I never questioned, I 100% feel like I would never have seen the order.
My order of Schultz Fungicide3 (20 fl oz) cost me $24.95 plus
Shipping. While Walmart price is $12. I mad a mistake by thinking price is about the same.
gardenbug56 White Oak, PA (Zone 6a) (2 reviews) February 9, 2006
Their website noted that they were having problems with their shipment trackign software, so when my shipment was delayed, I called Customer Service. My call was returned within the hour, noting that a couple of items had been back ordered, that my shipment had gone out, and tracking numbers were provided. Nice product selection at good prices. I will order from them again.
Keyring DC metro, VA (Zone 7b) (12 reviews) August 25, 2005
I used to buy from them but the last two attempts have been frustrating, so now I am buying from another source. About a week ago I placed an order through their website, but the next day I got an email saying the order was cancelled. No explanation as to why they cancelled the entire order - just some form language about how they try to fill orders promptly, which obviously doesn't apply. I emailed them that day, but still no response. I expect more communication from an online retailer. I'm disappointed because I used to be happy with their products and service.
The good news is that I then looked for other sources within a day's ground shipping and found better prices. In fact, I've now tried two new-to-me sources and they both had better prices and shipped the next business day. One of them had excellent customer service (email communciations), too.
bluekat76 Ijamsville, MD (Zone 6b) (5 reviews) April 14, 2005
Great Customer Service. I love the fact that you can choose your shipping options and see the prices beforehand!!! I ordered flats, 2.5 inch pots and row covers. In the special instructions I added that they were out of netting but if they got it in before my order went out to please add it in. They did! and wrote a little note on the order invoice - a nice touch.
This is the 3rd year I have ordered from these folk. I ordered 63 different seeds types on March 4th, Shipped UPS on the 5th, seeds on my door step today. Perhaps they had some delays during their move but they were very prompt with my order. I do not know of another suppier with a better combination of selection and price.
I ordered a HydroFarm light system on December 7, 2004 and a month went by and I had not received or heard anything from Home Harvest. So I contacted Home Harvest by e-mail. After contacting them they said my order would be on its way. I received my order in good condition on February 1, 2005. Almost two months after I ordered it. I am giving this company a negative rating because of the lack of communication on their part. I had to contact them first. If the items were back ordered they should have contacted me or at least listed the inventory status on their web site.
bbc Chesterfield, NJ (Zone 6b) (11 reviews) November 29, 2004
I purchased a HydroFarm light system in October and my credit card was charged at the end of October. It is now well over a month later and I have not received this order. I contacted Home Harvest by e-mail on 11/9 and received no reply immediately, so I called them directly. They indicated that the order was being drop shipped directly from the manufacturer and they would check why it had not shipped. I have not received any other information since then.
The 800 number was not in service the first time I called and I had to use the local (toll) number. Other times using the 800 number I get an answering machine that does not even indicate what company it is, just "leave a message". Overall, this has been an extremely disappointing buying experience. On January 16th, 2005, bbc added the following:
Home Harvest eventually contacted me to say that the light was backordered and was not expected until "early in the next year". They apologized and offered a 10% discount and free shipping if I still wanted the item. As there was no clear expectation of a delivery date, I declined. Although they tried to correct this mistake, there was a long delay in responses, and my credit card should never have been charged for an item that was not going to be delivered.
I have ordered from this company several times and I was very satisfied. They have one of the largest selections of high quality plant propagation and seed starting equipment and supplies for the home owner who wants to take the step from "beginner" to advanced. The selection is impressive and the goods they stock are high quality and extremely helpful in making this step. For example, they have large amounts of organic alternatives, seed growing medias, excellent fertilizers (including my favorite: the flora series from advanced hydrophonics). This seedling fertilizer is high nitrate with the ability to blend your own NPK ratios. It can be extremely difficult to find such high quality seedling fertilizers elsewhere. The website is also easy to use.
mlm01 St. Louis, MO (Zone 5b) (16 reviews) October 3, 2004
I have ordered several times from this company. Very convienent for me because I do lots of online shopping and they take paypal. Products were on time, in good condition and true to what is presented on the site.
I had one time when the order was taking to long to come. I called the store and they sent the package via 3 day shipping at no extra charge. It was taken care of right away and I liked being able to call and talk to a real person.
Also--they have one of the largest selections of organic fertilizers I have ever seen anywhere.
PaisleyRioux Manhattan, London, NY (8 reviews) April 26, 2004
Rats! I was near Baltimore last week and wasn't aware that Home Harvest has a retail store. Actually, that's probably a good thing because I would have parted with several hundred bucks. If you're looking for unusual, reliable, and well-priced garden items, check out this supplier. The web site is a snap to use. Shipment is very prompt. Neato!
I have ordered from this company a few times over the last two years. I have always received my order promptly and the prices are very reasonable. The one time that I was missing an item, I emailed them on Sunday and they shipped the missing item on Monday: no questions asked and free of charge. Highly recommended.
Weezingreens Seward, AK (Zone 3b) (10 reviews) November 13, 2003
I found this company when I was doing a Googles search. I was so impressed with the reduced prices on the seed packets that I decided to place an order. The site was very user-friendly and I got an immediate email response to confirm the order. I received my seeds in less than a week. I've done many online seed orders with many different companies, and this was one of the easiest to use. I'll definitely order from them again.
I ordered 6 trays and 6 48-cell insert sheets from Home Harvest. I received them in less than a week and they were well-packaged with not as much as a dent. The price was great too. $.69 per sheet and $1 per tray. I'll be a repeat customer.
ShelleyR Winston Salem, NC (3 reviews) August 17, 2003
I have ordered from Home Harvest several times and always been pleased. I think their prices are a little high on some items, but the quality is excellent, as well and the customer service. Their selection of organic fertilizers and soil conditions is the best I've seen. Home Harvest is my primary source for these items and I will continue to use them.
I ordered at least 30 packets of seed from Home Harvest. GREAT selection of name brand (Ferry Morse & Lilly Miller) seeds at half price. I emailed to ask if, for half price, I would be getting old seed. Email came right back saying all the seed was fresh for 2003 planting. Order arrived quickly (a few days) and every thing has done great. I would order again and would recommend them to anyone buying seed.
Hogwaump Rosedale, WV (Zone 7b) (3 reviews) April 5, 2003
In shopping for Jiffy7 peat pellets, I found a good price here so I gave them a try. Also ordered 10 packs of seeds just for fun; the prices were about half of normal and selection was good. My order arrived complete, quickly, and no problems. I will use them again.
WaWild1 Bremerton, WA (Zone 8b) (2 reviews) August 31, 2002
I ordered a seeds via the Internet from this Company. I also calld before ordering to ask a question about some of the seeds. They answered the phone quickly and gave me all the information I need and some. Very pleasant staff. My seeds did not arrive in 2-3 days so I emailed for a status check and got a reply immediately...date shipped...You know the USPS, always a little later than promices. Well seeds arrived in 6 days in great shape. All in all it was a ggood experience and I will continue to buy from this co. I originally chose it because they carry the brands I have always had success with. I highly recommend this co.
msanjelpie Meridian, ID (53 reviews) July 11, 2002
Ordered 2 large humidity domes. Couldn't find them anywhere else. Great selection and prices. Shipped very quickly and excellently packed. Will order from again.