Ordered 25 Iris rhizomes, Never received them. Eden Brothers stated they sent them and it's not their problem. No help in replacement. Spent 78.00 for these plants and I'm out 100% of that money and nothing to show for it. This company is not interested in you. Do not support them. Buy from a grower who will back their products. They are a "shipping" or "Online" grower and problems happen, and obviously they aren't willing to accept that fact. I spent time asking for their support, but they won't help me, and I suspect they won't help you either.Company representative comment on March 18, 2014: On Mar 18, 2014 12:53 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
Your order was placed with us on October 7, 2013. It was shipped on October 11 and confirmed delivered by FedEx on October 12. You would have received a shipping notice from our company when the order left our warehouse that would have provided you with a tracking number and order details. Your next contact with our company came on March 3, 2014 via email, in which you stated that you never received the shipment. We are extremely sorry for this situation and the inconvenience. However, since your only contact to let us know of the issue was five months after the incident, there is unfortunately nothing we can do. If this contact had come back in October, we would have been able to investigate the situation and been able to work with you to find a solution. All of our items are clearly indicated on the website, shopping cart and email confirmations, as to which season you can expect them to ship in and all items on your order were for Fall Shipping.
I just received my order on Friday and I am so impressed I had to write a review which I never do. The order came lickety split and everything looks fresh. I think the order took 3 days from start to finish - the fastest I have ever had. I ordered tulips and crocuses for planting now and they look great! I also got some wildflowers whcih I may plant in the spring to be safe.
I am now a big fan of Eden Brothers and will surely order from them again.
TheDahliaLady Ventura, CA (Zone 11) (1 review) September 23, 2013
Posted on July 20, 2013, updated September 23, 2013
I am a commercial dahlia grower in California. I have a lot of demand for the Cafe Au Lait dahlia. We supply many weddings as well as flower wholesalers all summer. I ordered 400 Cafe Au Lait from Eden Brothers and anticipated great sales as well as happy buyers. As the plants grew we also took cuttings to increase stock. A lot of cost goes into that process with labor, heating, water and lights. So far 150 of the puny pot roots have bloomed and they are not Cafe Au Lait. Worse yet they are White Perfection which is anything but perfect. The company said they would credit me as each wrong bloom appears but have not credited my cc. My account with them is "locked" so I guess no credit there. I not only do not have this variety to sell to wholesalers I have had to back out of all weddings this summer. Not only a crop loss, a credibility loss. Not happy.
Love House DahliasOn September 23rd, 2013, TheDahliaLady added the following:
After a terrible experience Eden Brother's did finally give me a full refund for the botched order. My business and credibility loss is huge.
What a great growing season you have given me! Every time I go outside I marvel at the many and beautiful blooms your dahlia bulbs are producing. I am new to dahlia growing and did not know what to expect or even how to properly plant them but by following the advice I was given by your company, they are all growing beautifully and prolifically. I also planted strawberries which I expected to hold off on giving berries till next year since I planted them rather late, but they actually gave us some good berries this year! I am looking forward to more next year. My mini pumpkins are already producing; so much so that I think I will be sharing them with the neighbors for their fall festivities. And best of all was the wildflower mix I purchased for my daughter's wedding! We gave them out as favors which everyone loved, and the ones I have planted myself are so beautiful. I go out everyday to see which new flower has come up for me to admire.
Thanks so much for your wonderful products! I plan to keep on using your company for my gardening needs and I will be telling all my friends and family about you.
My issue was simple. I ordered Calla Lily bulbs and they sent gladiolus which were labeled as the lily bulbs.
I planted, mulched and watered the bulbs lovingly only to have them come up and not be the plant I wanted or that fits well where planted!!!!
They gave me a refund, but imagine if it had been you and you planted the bulbs and have to wait an entire year to replant before your vision can be realized.
Very disappointing. Company representative comment on July 31, 2013: On Jul 31, 2013 2:48 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
Mr. Woodard, we spoke with you regarding your order on July 5. At that time you expressed your concerns that an item you received had been mislabeled. We sell a Pastel Mix of both Calla Lilies (which you ordered) and Gladiolus (which you accidentally received). During that phone conversation, we requested a photo to confirm the mix up, but assured you that a full refund for the incorrect selection would be provided. We are sincerely sorry for the error but we did immediately offer a refund for the product received, with our apologies for the inconvenience. It was simply an honest mistake that could have happened to anyone, but is actually very rare for our company. A refund for the full amount of the selection was posted back to your credit card on July 11. We feel we have done all that we can to correct this issue for you.
We live in an apartment out west, but my family and I visit friends in Murphy, NC, whenever money and vacation times allow. Even though we’re obviously there for the friends, I’d be lying if I didn’t say their flower garden has become another thing to look forward to. What a stunner! Everything in it is apparently from Eden Bros. Seed Company, and the lilies are especially stunning and always there to meet us whenever we pull up over the summer. They have all kinds of them, but the most unforgettable are the big white Casa Blanca lilies, which they say are "dependably perennial." The plants now have up to 16 flowers on each tall stem! The red Star Gazers are just as fantastic, but on shorter stems. There’s also a lot of hostas, canna lilies, big clumps of Purple Coneflower, and a bunch of others a city-dweller like me can’t remember. Hell, they’re even growing some vegetables from Eden this year.
All I really wanted to say is that Eden must be doing something right, because all of those flowers/gardens just get better (and bigger!) every time we’re there. So thank you again for splashing our friends’ lives (and our visits) with such a rainbow of color. If we ever make it out of the city, it’s Eden Brothers seed we’ll be planting. Guaranteed.
bjl110 Pleasant Grove, OH (1 review) June 20, 2013
I ordered both the Darwin Hybrid Tulip mix and the Electric Asiatic Lily mix from Eden Brothers Last year. When the flowers bloomed this year it was quite evident that they were not mixes and were just the bulbs that they needed to get rid of. Not that in the sense that the flowers weren't beautiful, they were, and the bulbs were quite nicely sized when they arrived. However, out of 50 Darwin hybrid bulbs 40 were the same two varieties, with the other ten being 8 of one variety and two singles. Not my idea of a mix. The "mix" of 10 lilies was comprised of one single kind. By definition, not a mix. I wrote poor reviews on the companies site and was offered 50% of my money back, which I consider very fair. They said in the email that they "couldn't guarantee any color scheme", which is understandable. However, this was never said on the site, wasn't so much about the scheme as the lack of a good mix, and in the case of the lilies I was just charged more for a "mix" than the all electric orange bulbs that I got. I really just wanted a sorry and some new bulbs, which is what I got. Awesome. I considered the matter closed, and *was* still going to do business with them, just being sure to avoid the mixes this time.
When on their site looking at some other bulbs (I plan to plant crocus all over my small front yard this Fall), I went to go see if anyone else had a similar experience, since all of the other reviews had been glowing. Well, I found out why they have such great reviews. Even though I checked to see if my negative reviews warning of their mixes were posted a week or so after I made them, and they were then, but they sure weren't there now! I can think of no other explanation than that they scrubbed the review after they reimbursed me. I'd have been happy to amend my review or something of the sort, saying that they handled the situation very fairly. However, to act like the mistake just didn't happen is not the way to handle it. It is misleading and just plain wrong. I'll use my gift certificates that I have, but don't see myself doing much business with them after that. Not cool Eden Brothers. Shame on you for scrubbing your site and giving consumers a distorted view of your business.Company representative comment on June 21, 2013: On Jun 21, 2013 3:08 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
You are correct when you say the review you posted on our site has not yet been published. Our system allows us to delay posting so we can try to solve our customer’s problem in a satisfactory way, which, in your case, we did.
Once in a while, the bulbs in a bin are not mixed properly and a customer ends up with very little color variation, which is what happened to you. We offered 50% of your money back so you could, should you chose to, order different colors to add more variation next season. As you mentioned in this review, this was quite fair.
We therefore felt your “issue” was not an issue anymore and marked it as “resolved”, so it did not post for that reason only. Should the issue remain, please let us know and your review will automatically post in 48 to 72 hours. Thank you.
I've been buying from Eden Brothers for a number of years now. I live in a very difficult growing area, and have to be brought down to earth occasionally about what I can and cannot successfully grow. I have had many other online dealers tell me "oh sure, if you do this and that, you'll be fine with this plant, flower, whatever". Eden Brothers brings me back to some semblance of reality, (greatly overrated, btw) and gently but firmly won't sell me things that simply are going to break my heart...along with my budget. They have some of the best customer service I've ever known (they really DO pay attention to those little notes .....I KNOW beyond any doubt they do! ) and I'm old, picky, and getting crankier every year. The ONE time I had an issue with an order (it didn't include a "bonus with order" type thing, it was handled and then some.
I have had fantastic results with their Cosmos and Zinnia mixes, and Burst of Bloom wildflower mix, as well as veggie seeds. This year I have crazy amounts of green beans from my tiny side yard plot!
As I type, I have a shipment on the way....lots of lovely herb seeds that are hard to find sometimes. I make herb gardens for my friends who like to cook, and Eden makes it so easy to pick and choose what I want, when I want.
Love these guys.
Absolutely love them!
I have been very happy with my many purchases from Eden Brothers. My vegetables have become the pride of my neighborhood and I'm almost reluctant to share my "secret" with my neighbors, LOL.
This year I branched out more and also added flowers into the mix. Their customer service was very helpful with the questions I had, and I'm happy to report that everything I planted so far has grown nicely.
I ordered and paid for begonias on April 18th., from Eden Brothers in GA. After receiving no product and no shipping details from them, I contacted them by email, without response. I then called them and was told the begonias would now ship from NJ the following week. No begonias received even ten days after the latest promised ship date. I contacted them by email, again. No response. I called them during regular business hours, again, and had to leave a message. I then emailed them yet again asking them if they intended to honor my paid for order. If not, refund me my monies. No response. I emailed them once again and informed them that I would have to take action for fraud on their part. Still no response. This is definitely a supplier to be vary wary of doing business with. I will never ever order from them again, obviously, and I will pursue legal recovery of the monies paid. Arrogant disregard of the customer is never acceptable if a company wishes to stay in business on an honest basis.
kimmac maywood United States (1 review) May 1, 2013
Posted on May 1, 2013, updated May 1, 2013
I ordered bare root Phlox plants and they were tiny and more like "dead root" Phlox. No responses to my email or from the plants. Do not waste your money and time on these people!On May 1st, 2013, kimmac added the following:
I have finally received an email and the company was very cooperative. I chose replacement plants and hopefully will have better luck this time around.Company representative comment on May 2, 2013: On May 2, 2013 10:06 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
We are sorry the Phlox roots you received did not grow well. As you know, roots are fragile and occasionally can get damaged in transit. A new bag of Phlox is on its way to you as we speak. We trust these new roots will do better and be to your satisfaction. We remain available should you have any question and hope we have resolved this claim appropriately.
I have had nothing but good experiences with Eden Bros. I have placed 4 orders and each of them has been shipped promptly. Last spring I planted both seeds and bulbs and the results were excellent. These guys are my go-to company for my seeds and bulbs. I have recently placed a large order with them and I look forward to more good results.
Posted on July 19, 2011, updated April 15, 2013
Last fall I ordered a significant amount of seeds and bulbs from this company. The seeds (a zinnia mix and a wildflower mix) arrived within 4 days after I ordered them. The bulbs came a liitle later, on time for planting in my zone (i live in NC). the bulbs looked great - big and firm- and both seeds and bulbs produced amazing bloom this spring My neighbors have been commenting on the beautiful and very numerous flowers now in full bloom in my garden and I gave them the name of Eden Brothers. I am very satisfied with the quality and service provided by this company. I will order again from them this fall. On April 15th, 2013, daisy71 added the following:
I have been ordering from Eden Brothers for the last 2 years now. All in all, I have placed a total of 5 or 6 orders I think and have been satisfied with them all. I don't think of myself as a very easy customer to satisfy but so far so good. Eden has had a good tracking record at shipping on time, their prices are fairly competitive and germination rates have been excellent. I am a huge fan of Zinnias and Eden Bros offering can't be beat. I am ordering some Dahlias now and will post my findings once they grow. Hopefully Eden Bros will continue to keep me happy.
I took a chance and placed a first order for several items. Big mistake.
1- Seeds had no dates, no weight, no planting instructions.
2- peony roots were shipped poorly.
3-When I sent them pictures, they agreed the products were inferior. In writing.
4- they made re return process as difficult as possible.
5- they refused to refund shipping, even though they admitted they shipped inferior product.
6- they still haven't refunded my money.
Don't do business with Eden Bros! Company representative comment on May 8, 2013: On May 8, 2013 9:29 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
Upon receiving customer’s photos, we did notice that the peonies did not have as many eyes as described on our site. We immediately offered to reship a new bag of peonies free of charge. Customer chose a refund instead which we provided in the form of a check as customer’s credit card was expired so the refund did indeed take a little longer to reach its recipient.
Last, we also reached out to the customer in order to find a satisfying solution to her complaints but have not heard back from her.
At this point, we believe we have done everything in our power to resolve this customer’s issues but have not been successful. At Eden Brothers, we strive to offer the best service and products at the lowest prices possible and are sorry this particular situation could not be resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Posted on August 18, 2012, updated April 10, 2013
Posted on July 10, 2012, updated August 18, 2012
I was not able to afford plants this year so I looked to order seeds. Eden Brothers had very good quality seed. I think I placed the order in the winter months. They were quick to send the seed, giving me more then enough time to plant. I live in Georgia and the heat can become intense early, making seedlings struggle to get established. I would say the viability of the seed I purchased was at least 90% germination. So often that is not the case from other vendors. It was obvious that the seed I received was fresh. I will use them again in the future.On August 18th, 2012, nicomyth changed the rating from positive to neutral and added the following:
I am not sure how I feel about this company now. I want to say that I am still happy with most of the seeds that I bought. (The orange bell peppers were wonderful) However I cannot recommend the cosmos "Bright Lights" seeds. I ordered a 1/4 lb and wish I had simply bought a packet. The flowers have never bloomed. I emailed Eden Brothers and the response was, as I understand it to be, there is no guarantee on seed. I have grown this variety before (from Burpee's catalog) and it has grown and bloomed. These grew into 4ft huge plants but never produced flowers. It is mid- August now. So I have to remove them. I don't think I will use this company next year.On April 10th, 2013, nicomyth changed the rating from neutral to negative and added the following:
It would seem that this company does not care about their customer after the sale. After reading some other negative reviews I must tell you that they are believable. I never did receive a good resolve on my issue with the Cosmo seeds. Eden Brothers sent me a standard email response of "Other customers have not complained of any problems with these seeds. . " Which I find slightly amusing since I found another comment to the same affect online regarding these same seeds. . . Hmmm. So I have decided not to order from them this year. Even though the germination of the seeds was great the customer service is non-existant.
bmbranno Avra Valley, AZ (1 review) March 10, 2013
I have given this company plenty of fair notice that I would post a negative email comment if they chose not to respond to two previous emails I have sent them in the past several weeks. They have yet to respond but were very willing to take my $115.90 when I ordered from them (February 5, 2013). My complaint is simple (beyond their very bad customer service when it comes to responding to complaints), they only gave me 5 Black Beauty zucchini seeds, 7 Crookneck Squash seeds, and a pathetic 9 Acorn Table Queen seeds. I simply asked them to be professional enough to respond to their emails in a timely matter (if at all), and to explain why I received so little of these seeds. I am constantly doing reviews as a professional online for Amazon.com, Yahoo, Hubpages, google +, etc. and to be honest, this company clearly does not care about anything beyond receiving payment for their product. Beyond that they cut the customer out of all contact. Poor customer service is every bit as detrimental to sales as no customer service, and so far Eden Brothers has indicated they really don't care what the public thinks when they failed to respond to the two previous emails I've sent them giving them more than enough time to remedy the problem. I would not recommend this company to anyone considering the vast number of other options available, and am surprised that Eden Brothers can stay in business with such terrible customer relations. It's situations such as this that damage the credentials for all online sales, which is a shame considering there are numerous other retailers online who offer superb service and respond readily to all email through their hotlines. I can't imagine them providing a rebuttal as they haven't replied at all so far. It'd be a shock if they did at this point. And to work things out? Really? Why should it take you as a liaison to work out something they could have provided all along? What's the point in that? All they had to do was simply respond. Instead they continue to send even more emails pushing their products. Why would I buy more from a company that cannot communicate with dissatisfied customers? And if they cannot handle the vast number of emails then they need to expand on their hires to cover that area as well, which I suggested in a previous email to them.
kblazey Minneapolis, MN (1 review) February 7, 2013
I recently placed an order for the upcoming season, great prices and quick delivery. I really like the large variety of seeds offered, I bought some things I've never heard of and am excited to get planting this spring! Will definitely be back for more!
pddrake Centerville, SC (1 review) January 28, 2013
Eden Brothers flat SUCKS! I asked a single question before purchasing and they were far too busy to answer. Ordered from Sustainable. WILL NEVER order from Eden. Caveat Emptor.Company representative comment on May 8, 2013: On May 8, 2013 9:33 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
We here at Eden Brothers sincerely value our customers and we do our best to respond to all emails and voicemails in a timely manner. Mr. PDDrake's email was sent on a Friday afternoon, during a very busy time of year here in our warehouse and we are not in the office during the weekends. He received a response shortly after with a detailed answer to his question. He was also thanked for his efforts to help improve our site by bringing our attention to an additional area of information to be included on the product listing.
We do regret that we are not able to answer emails immediately upon their receipt, but they will always be answered as quickly as possible. We also provide a phone number on our site for more immediate service.
The LOOP THE LOOP IRIS said #1 rhizome on Eden Brothers site.
Notice in their reply they refer to them as TULIPS>>
Below is the Answer to my E Mail:
We have not heard of any similar complaints on the quality of the Loop The Loop TULIP so I do believe that you were sent a product in good condition.
I was looking for more kinds of Kale and came across Eden Brothers and signed up for their Ads.
When I received one it had FREE shipping so I decided to try them. I ordered the kale and a few other things and then looked at the Iris and found Loop the Loop, they were a few $ cheaper than Schreiners Iris Gardens and came in a group of 5.
Each year I order a lot of Iris, If the name is a Schreiners Iris then I can usually count on it.
These IRIS were NOT #1 RIZOMES they were teeny tiny and sent in a plastic bag w/ no air in a sealed box. They were NOT worth planting before shipping and worse after being sent that way. Nothing on the box indicating live plants, so they were stuck in the mail box.
Sent: Friday, October 5, 2012 10:39 PM
Subject: Your Receipt Order Number: 78065 1 Bearded Iris - "Loop The Loop" - Bag of 5IRWH 101-3845 -qb5 $19.99
PLEASE PUT MY PHONE NUMBER ON PKG W/ A NOTE TO CALL, I live on a Ranch far from Post Office
The reason I stated in the E Mail that their Cust service was good is because I called to add more Iris to the order and they promptly called me back. I wasn't available and it shipped before I got back to them, Thankfully or I would have a lot more of these NO GOOD IRIS RIZOMES.
I would NOW SAY THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE IS BAD
My E Mail to Eden Brothers
Subject: IRIS ORDER
Your Customer service is good but that doesn't make up for such poor quality plants.
This Very small package has caused me GREAT inconvenience trying to locate it.
1st. the tracking didn't work.
2nd. It didn't state it was LIVE PLANTS so it was put in my mailbox.
Then after all the hassle I get it to find these SMALL half dead Iris in my mail box. The mail lady called me to say she had found them. They always call me if I have LIVE PLANTS.
I WANT A REFUND.
Answer to my E Mail:
We have not heard of any similar complaints on the quality of the Loop The Loop TULIP so I do believe that you were sent a product in good condition.
Last year I ordered 1lb. of their "Burst of Bloom mix", and I was very impressed, but not every variety came out, flower newbie me didn't understand that half the mix was perennials. The small area I planted was wiped out by Hurricane Irene which badly flooded my property. Even so, this year the patch is beautiful from dropped seeds perhaps. So this year I worked hard to clear about 10,000 SF of tall grass at the back of my yard. Cleared debris and then rototilled twice, no lime or fertilizer. Smoothed out by dragging a weighted pallet. This time I ordered 5 lbs of their "All Annual" wildflower mix. I seeded the plot on April 21st. By July 1st, the plot is the MOST incredible display of color and beauty I have ever seen! Everyone is amazed at how stunning this wildflower field is! The price, service, shipping, and quality of this product is unbelievable. I will order from this great company every year, thanks Eden Bros!!!
Posted on June 13, 2012, updated June 20, 2012
I have been growing orchids for quite some time. While I don't see myself as an expert, I do have a basic understanding of how to grow plants and keep them alive. I decided to purchase a decent amount of bulbs and seeds from Eden Bros in the hopes to have an abundant supply of flowers for my wife, and as something to do with my kids.
My order of Lily and Cala Lily bulbs arrived on time, however, I had concerns with several of the bulbs as they appeared simply sub-par. I contacted Eden Bros and even sent pictures of a few of the items I was concerned with. The people I spoke with stated that they would be just fine. I will circle back to the Cala Lilies in a moment. Out of the five blackout Lily bulbs, all grew wonderfully. That was the best and most satisfactory experience with these bulbs. Out of the five white Lily bulbs, one grew amazingly while two others grew not so well and the other two have yet to produce anything. The bag of mixed colored Lilies have yet to mature into anything looking promising. Now, the Cala Lilies, the ones I sent a picture of, which Eden Brothers charges $20.00 for produced two, count them two decent looking yellow flowers. Bulbs I was promised that would grow just fine. When I called the company and expressed my doubt that these would actually be productive, I also asked about a satisfaction guarantee. The person I spoke of stated that there was no guarantee, and that they will "on occasion" consider replacing items, IF they are sent back, and IF the company feels like they should do anything about it, they MIGHT issue replacements.
I have place a few phone calls to Eden Brothers and have not been able to get anyone on the phone.
I had looked at several different growers and all seemed like they had something I wanted, but decided to go with Eden Brothers as I was making a large order that would ship for free. Now I regret that.On June 20th, 2012, dcamz31 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
Since writing to Eden Brothers, we have received an outpouring of support and consideration. Several emails have been exchanged which reflects a complete antithesis of my initial experience with the company. Eden Brothers has offered to replace the products which have not produced the desired, or quality results the company promises. We are looking forward to future business with Eden Brothers and will certainly post additional raves about this company as our relationship and garden grows.
We are also members of a church which is under renovations and plan to add a garden. Hopefully we will be able to post some pictures in the future of the success of this project.
Oberon46 (Mary) Anchorage, AK (Zone 5b) (6 reviews) May 4, 2012
Posted on May 4, 2012, updated May 4, 2012
Posted on March 13, 2012, updated May 4, 2012
Posted on March 13, 2012, updated March 13, 2012
I ordered 10 mixed begonia bulbs, 1.25". I received them timely but while the package said 'qty 10' I only received 5. I sent them an email on March 9. Waiting for a reply. At first I was a little disappointed in the tiny size of the bulbs, but then reread and determined that they were about the size specified. I had bought some locally at a much higher price ($3.95 to $4.00) but they were 3-4" across and budding. I paid about $3.00 each for the Eden Brothers bulbs so I guess I got what I paid for in size. Will let you know their response on the missing bulbs.On March 13th, 2012, Oberon46 changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:
I heard from Eden Brothers today. They are sending the missing bulbs. Can't complain about that. Am looking forward to how the bulbs perform.On May 4th, 2012, Oberon46 changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:
Well, here it is May 4th and no bulbs. I am sure it got lost in the shuffle and I am not inclined to spend time chasing 5 bulbs. Not a big deal but I won't order from them again.On May 4th, 2012, Oberon46 changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:
That was amazing. They called me just now, only minutes after the above post and were wonderfully nice. They offered me 10 bulbs and profusely apologized for having somehow missed the 5 bulbs back in March. I told them that the 5 would be fine and I could understand in the rush of spring and all that 5 little bulbs could easily be missed. I was really impressed with the sincerity of the apology and concern that my little order didn't make it timely. Most certainly will look at their seeds and bulbs again next spring.
dlaurence Richmond, MO (Zone 5a) (4 reviews) April 19, 2012
Ordered several rubrum lilies, dahlias and astilbes. Prices very reasonable--cheaper than eight other competing vendors (including a popular auction site); shipping free. The lily bulbs, in particular, were the largest size I have ever seen in any lilium (ranging between 18-20 cm), let alone a species lily.
desert_witch Lucerne Valley, CA (Zone 8a) (2 reviews) April 5, 2012
I recently made a decent sized online seed order from EdenBros. I shopped only in their "Heirloom" section as I am primarily interested in heirloom, open pollinated seeds. When I began to catalogue my order (adding my entries to my journal here at DG) I discovered that one of the varieties of corn seed that I purchased from them, "Silver Queen" is in fact a hybrid that will not set viable seed. Having already done a bit of research regarding the definition of "heirloom" and finding that it varies a bit I called EdenBros to inquire.
The young woman I spoke to was polite and helpful and said she would look into it and get back to me either by phone or email. I received an email the next day, the text of which reads:
"Thank you for your order with Eden Brothers. I have gotten some infomration for you regarding our Silver Queen Corn and the heirloom/hybrid question. Silver Queen is a Hybrid Sweet corn, however, it is a very old hybrid. The Silver Queen was hybridized in 1955. Everyone has their own definition of heirloom - for our site we use 50 years - a seed has not been modified within the last 50 years and we consider it a heirloom. Other people use 80 years, 100 years, etc. I hope that this gives you more information
and do let us know if we can further assist you. "
Although I did find their explanation acceptable (regardless of the fact that in the main the definitions of heirloom I found elsewhere on the web stated that an heirloom should be open pollinated or listed as an "heirloom hybrid"), I am finding myself leaving them a "neutral" rating because as I further catalogued my seed purchases I discovered 2 more seed varieties that they sold me as heirloom, that did not meet their own stated minimum of being at least a 50 year old unmodified hybrid.
Much of what I learned from the customer service rep was new to me. I'll admit it - I'm a rookie. (but I'm learning quickly!) She took the time to carefully explain things in terms that I could grasp. I'm sure I wasn't a delight to deal with. I can't hear very well and I called back numerous times. I was extremely pleased with the customer service & the speed in which my order arrived. I'll let you know how good the firework show is when they bloom! Count me among the happy customers of Eden Brothers.
Nothing but good things to say about Eden Brothers. Great service and great results. Keep up the good work!
4justice2 Bullhead City, AZ (Zone 9b) (1 review) December 29, 2011
Posted on December 28, 2011, updated December 29, 2011
I received an email from Eden Brothers offering free shipping good for 24 hrs on any order no minimum. They also stated in the offer that it wasn't a gimmick. It was good on the 27th of Dec thru the 28th at noon. So on the 27th I went to their site and put together an order but when I went to check out it stated that the offer was expired. WHAT ? So I called customer service which was a joke. They directed me to send an email to customer service. Well, that was also a joke as 2 emails later and 2 days later I have yet to receive a reply. When a company will lie about special offers to consumers will they also lie about the quality of their products like "heirloom" ? You make the call. I for one will never order from this company and I will make sure I steer people away from them. I believe this company thinks it's a joke when they receive a customer complaint.On December 29th, 2011, 4justice2 changed the rating from negative to neutral and added the following:
Okay, finally received a reply from Eden Brothers from Laura in Cust Serv on the 29th. She apologised and said they had a glitch in their system and offered free shipping thru the 29th. This was the first time ordering from them so I am giving them the benefit of the doubt because those things happen but I am only changing my rating to Neutral because I am taking a wait and see attitude till I receive my order.Company representative comment on December 28, 2011: On Dec 28, 2011 11:10 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
We apologize for the problem you encountered while trying to take advantage of our recent free shipping offer. Our system encountered a technical glitch which seems to have prevented our free shipping offer from working correctly on a small number of would-be customers like yourself.
This issue has been resolved and now the free shipping coupon is working properly. If you have sent an email to our customer service, you will receive an answer within 24 hours and be allowed to place an order with shipping free of charge as promised. Again, we apologize for the error.
Misty, Customer Service Specialist @ Eden Brothers
steve_mass Millbury, MA (8 reviews) December 26, 2011
Posted on October 6, 2011, updated December 26, 2011
I placed an order for 100 daffodil bulbs with this company last fall. They were shipped on time and arrived in good shape. I planted them and they emerged this spring looking good. Unfortunately, 50 of these bulbs turned out to be the wrong bulb. I emailed the company, sending them a picture of the bulbs that had emerged. They agreed that these were the incorrect bulbs and offered to either refund my money or replace the bulbs in the fall. I asked for them to replace the bulbs.
So in late Spring I removed the incorrect bulbs and replanted them elsewhere in my yard. As of October 6, I haven't heard from Eden Brothers about the reshipping of these bulbs. So I emailed them again. I'll let you know what happens.
I was annoyed to be sent the wrong bulbs in the first place as it has caused me a lot more work. But mistakes are made and thus far their customer service has been good.On December 26th, 2011, steve_mass changed the rating from neutral to positive and added the following:
I emailed the company on October 6th, as I wanted to be sure I wasn't forgotten. I received a reply from Laura asking that I be "patient" as this was the "height of the season" for them, and that they would contact me next Monday.
I waited two Mondays, then emailed Laura again, asking for the status of my replacement bulbs. I got another email response from Laura on the 19th of October, saying that they had been waiting for the bulbs to come in from their grower and that they would be sent out in the next available shipment.
Finally, I got a phone call from someone else in Customer Service asking me about my unfilled order. I explained my situation and she promised that the bulbs would be sent out right away and that they would include and additional 25 bulbs for my patience. Within two days the bulbs arrived in great condition, including 25 extra of the daffodils I had ordered and they went into the ground with plenty of time to spare before the ground froze.
Any company can make a mistake in an order, but Eden more than made good on this order.Company representative comment on October 10, 2011: On Oct 10, 2011 10:36 AM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
Thanks Steve. We apologize for the mistake, and we'll be sure to get you the proper bulbs. We appreciate your business.
I have ordered vegetable seeds for my summer garden for 2 years now through Eden Brothers and have been happy with my results. Large selection to choose from, great germination rates which has resulted in a big, bountiful garden - so I couldnt be happier. I just ordered seeds for my fall/winter garden (I can garden year-round where I live) and received them within days of ordering. I've never planted a winter garden, so wish me luck, I cant wait! My experience with Eden Brothers has been very positive and I will continue to use them as my vegetable seed source.
Scooty Peterborough United States (8 reviews) November 15, 2011
I ordered 1/4 lbs each of two types of penstemon and seeded them in August.
The germination has been fantastic!
Very happy with this company so far! Price has been right (free shipping was the cherry on the cake) and I just received the beautiful bulbs! Nice size and very healthy looking!! I just planted them and will write back in the spring to report on the results. But so far so good...
bottlegreen Saint Paul, MN (5 reviews) October 14, 2011
If there were a "mixed" category, I'd have chosen that. The order I'd placed last May finally arrived (35 daffodils, 100 crocuses) and the bulbs all looked healthy and were a good size. The problem? I did not receive the 50 'Cream Beauty' I'd ordered, receiving instead 50 'Snow Bunting.' I was never contacted by the company to ask if I wanted a replacement or a refund.Company representative comment on October 24, 2011: On Oct 24, 2011 2:07 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
We apologize for the mixup. Have you planted the bulbs that were incorrectly labeled? If not, please forward them back to us and we'll be happy to double your order.
I ordered a substantial quantity of both seeds and various bulbs. I received them promptly and they are absolutely the gems of my landscaping. Thank you!
rubykate Richmond, VA (1 review) September 20, 2011
I called for clarification on an order I was submitting on line during regular office hours and no one has returned my call. This is not the reason for my negative review.
The customer service rep response to the unhappy wildflower seed customer (8/23/11) was enough to convince me NEVER to purchase anything from Eden Brothers. Regardless, of the fairness of the customer's criticism, the matter was handled by Eden Brothers in a rude and unprofessional manner. Attacking a customer personally has convinced me to take my business elsewhere and to steer my fellow gardeners away from Eden Brothers. I can only hope the company sees this review and seeks to rectify the damage done.
I ordered well over $100 of wild flower seed mixture from Eden Brothers Seed Company in the summer of 2010. Come Fall 2010, I sowed them as directed in 3 out of the 4 locations that they were planted. The seeds were both annual and perennial mix and were planted in Montana, Ohio and Tennesee respectively. To date, August of 2011, little has sprouted or bloomed with exception to a few small blue flowers.
When bringing the situation and my concerns to Eden Brothers attention, they seemed baffled and I felt like they did not believe me, almost like I was making it up. They said they could not do anything about it money wise and offered me a gift card ( a small fraction of what I actually paid for the seed) toward product in their store. I asked them for seed replacement and was denied.
After this very negative experience, I will not do business with the company again. In my opinion, any company today which does not stand behind its product is living in the Dark Ages. Eden Brothers Seed Company's customer service in my opinion, is horrible if even existent. Other seed companies will now receive my business.....any recommendations? Company representative comment on August 23, 2011: On Aug 23, 2011 12:16 PM, Eden Brothers Seed Company responded with:
As this "customer" states, he purchased a total of 3 pounds of seed from edenbrothers.com on July 23, 2010. It was shipped immediately. The order consisted of: 1 LB "Burst of Bloom" Wildflower Mix, 1 LB "North American Natives" Mix, and 1 LB "California Dreaming" Mix. This order totaled $109.00.
These are all wildflower seed mixes - and many, if not most - of the species are perennials, which any real gardener understands will not bloom until the following year (2012). As for the annuals, emails to our company (responded to in rapid fashion) and his own admission above, indicate he had some annual growth. It's unfortunate that this "customer" has not seen the growth he envisioned, but obviously he has seen some bloom as of August 2011, and will no doubt see much more in the ensuing months and years.
Eden Brothers maintains a loyal customer base of over 50,000+ satisfied seed customers that is growing rapidly. We are honest people, and we stand by our products and we treasure our true customers.
I ordered Seeds and Bulbs from Eden Brothers. The seeds shipped the same day and the bulbs 2 days after I ordered. The packaging on the seeds was very appealing, and when they bloomed I was just thrilled! I got the All Annual Wildflowers, and they are so much better than the picture. I ordered Gladiolus Bulbs, the Border Mix and I am so very pleased! The Bulbs were large and in great condition upon arrival and again the bloom was so much better than I could have every expected. I will order many more times and I tell all my friends to try them out! WAY TO GO BROTHERS!
I am thinking of ordering some lilly bulbs from this company. I was confused because the address for Eden Brothers listed on Watch Dog is in Florida and the site that I found on Google is in Georgia. They have the same phone # , so they must be the same company. Their web site is great & rhe lady I talked to in customer service was helpfull, friendly & knowlegable. I think I may give them I try.
tervuren Jacksonville Beach, FL (1 review) February 2, 2011
Is Eden Brothers still operating?
I tried ordering online but could not complete the transaction as their d/b saw a conflict between paypal's zip code for me and the one I entered for shipping. There was no difference I could see. A phone call to customer service led to a voice mail box. My voice mail was not returned.
I bought a new home and have been doing a lot of research for flowers and some seed to plant in my gardens. After reading the reviews on DG I chose three companies to order from based on what they offer and the reviews I found here on DG. I love Daves garden communities and all of the information! :-*
I ordered some seeds and some flower bulbs. The ordering process took a long time because I had a lot of questions but the lady I talked to in there customer service department was really helpful and friendly. I never received an email that they promised with my tracking number so I started getting nervous. I was going home after work and was planning on calling them back but when I pulled in my driveway there was a box next to my door.
Everything looked really nice but the bulbs were smaller then I thought they would be. I am sure they will grow but I am wondering if they will be as nice as some of the other bulbs I bought from other companies.
I will be buying from them again.