Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Sustainable Seed Company'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
Sustainable Seed Company

Mailing Address:
PO Box 38
Covelo, California 95428 (United States)

Phone: 877-620-SEED

» E-Mail them

Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 1 4
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of seeds.

This company specializes in:

Other helpful information:

  Company Comment, posted on February 26, 2013:  
Our family owned Seed Company provides gardeners with over 1570 varieties of organic and heirloom seeds. We offer the largest variety available, making us the best source for Certified Organic Heirloom seed. We sell: 1570 types of Heirloom Vegetables, flowers, grain, herbs and tobacco seed.


  Feedback History and Summary  
32 positives
No neutrals
4 negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Positive lakenvelder
Chapman, KS
(9 reviews)
May 21, 2014
I have ordered corn and grains from this company since they sell them larger sizes. The prices of seeds and shipping are very good. The seeds arrived promptly, nicely packaged, with some planting instructions printed on the packages. The 5 pound bags of corn seed came in a neat bag. I plan to reorder from them again.
Positive HaneHouston
Houston, TX
(1 review)
March 29, 2014
I have ordered for 10 years from a seed company that emails a lot (ugh). Last Fall a typical delivery took 3 weeks instead of the days it always had. Then there were 2 pkgs of ancho seeds that never sprouted... it takes a lot to drive me to change.

Last Fall I saw Sustainable Seeds on a link list and tried them. Loved the extensive variety of heirloom seeds. My order arrived in 4 days and I was shocked at how quickly the seeds sprouted compared to my previous supplier. I ordered again this Spring with the same great results so I am now convinced and converted!

Placing another order today because I dug a new bed for more Sustainable Seeds. Highly recommend them.
Positive shirefolk
Shrewsbury
United Kingdom
(1 review)
February 28, 2014
I ordered seeds from this company and was very pleased with the speed with which they were shipped and subsequently arrived, easy to order ..... I'm looking forward to planting
Positive kpeavey
Lake City, FL
(1 review)
January 28, 2014
Late Friday I placed an order with Sustainable Seed Company. An hour later I placed an order with Seed Savers Exchange. I've used Seed Savers before but found the same varieties, heirloom, open pollinated, and many certified organic, with more seed for a lower price at Sustainable Seed Company. The savings paid for the shipping for both orders.
Tuesday morning I got an email from Seed Savers saying the order had been shipped.
Tuesday afternoon my order from Sustainable Seed Company arrived in the mail, complete, and in good shape.
Positive ellenbrooks
Ocala, FL (Zone 8b)
(1 review)
September 14, 2013
Posted on August 31, 2013, updated September 14, 2013
I had every intention of ordering from this company and went through picking out seeds. I had around a 30 something dollar order and then got to the shipping part. They told me it would be 16.00 for priority mail shipping. I ship things everyday myself and know that all of these seeds would fit in a priority mail flat rate envelope for just over $5.00. With that I would receive at least $50 in free insurance and it would also provide the customer and the company with free tracking. It seems that this would be much more affordable for the customer and that you would get more customers by making the shipping more affordable and safe. Even if you had a different package, I know it would not weigh over 1 pound and that is typically around $6.00 for priority mail. Please consider making your shipping more in line with the price the post office charges.
On September 14th, 2013, ellenbrooks changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

I was originally very frustrated with the shipping costs from this company. Immediately after, they changed their shipping costs to a very reasonable priority mail (which has free tracking and insurance) option.

I ordered from them and am very happy with the seeds and shipping rates. Thanks.
Company representative comment on August 31, 2013:
On Aug 31, 2013 10:18 AM, Sustainable Seed Company responded with:

Hi there Ellen,
Thank you for bringing this to our attention regarding the shipping charges. We don't see an order attempt or a login by you so we had to estimate the shipping of a package, not knowing exactly what you were attempting to order. There appeared to be a shipping glitch in our postal calculations which has been corrected. A one pound package now shows approximately $11.50 shipped to Cape Coral Florida.
Unfortunately, flatrate shipping options are difficult to automatically calculate on the website, which is why it is calculated on weight.
In response to multiple complaints (see the comments below) from our customers regarding woefully insufficient tracking and handling from the USPS, we are in the process of migrating all shipping options over to FedEx for their far superior tracking and package handling. In a few months once all the kinks have been resolved, you will no longer see USPS options on packages over one pound from our website - for now we are offering customers the ability to choose USPS Priority (by weight) in addition to FedEx.
In the future, please understand the impact that a negative comment on this forum has on a merchant and please consider contacting the company directly first before posting on here - we are happy to explain our policies and even to investigate and respond to any and all claims, as we have done in this instance.
Thank you!

Negative KYHeirloomer
Richmond, KY
(1 review)
June 1, 2013
Seeds we ordered have still not been delivered. When we contacted the company, the woman who answered, in effect said, "once it leaves here it's not our problem."

It's easy to blame the post office or other outsiders for a company's poor customer service. But that doesn't wash with me. I'll never use this company again, and will spread the word in the heirlooms community about their lack of service.
Company representative comment on June 5, 2013:
On Jun 5, 2013 7:56 AM, Sustainable Seed Company responded with:

We deeply care about our customers and want to make sure that customers are satisfied with their seeds, customer service and reliable shipping.
As we explained over the phone, when seeds leave our warehouse we have no control over them. We requested that you contact your local post office as they will have more information than we do. Many times when people call to notify us that there seeds have not arrived, and after contacting the post office their package arrives within a few days. We offered to contact the post office to find out if I could locate the package for you. When you hung up on me I was trying to explain to you that once you have contact the post office, if you still did not receive your order in a few days, we could issue you a gift certificate for $4.98 (the cost of your seed order) so that you could reorder the seeds.
Again, we tried to resolve this problem with over the phone with you. However, it is unfortunate that you hung upon us. We offered to resend the seeds in the mail; although you were not happy with that and wanted the seeds sent overnight shipping. We tried to explain that we do not offer overnight shipping as we live in a small isolated rural community so we do not have that service available to us.
This spring season the Post Office has lost many packages. We are in the process of switching over to UPS/FedEx exclusively, but it involves software/hardware changes and is taking some time. We hope to have this issue resolved soon. We are very sorry you had such a poor experience with us.

Positive hedy
Ocala, FL
(3 reviews)
April 27, 2013
I have ordered some heirloom and organic seeds from this company. The prices of seeds and shipping are very good. The seeds arrived promptly, nicely packaged, with some planting instructions printed on the packages.
No complaint what so ever. Will order again.
Negative rroonan
Fairfield, CT
(1 review)
April 10, 2013
I bought $50 worth of seeds from this company and never received them. I wrote to the company and this was their response:
Hello Randy

Unfortunately, we track the package with the same tracking number and have no additional information. I am sorry you have not received your order. If a package does get returned we will let you know immediately. Once packages leave our warehouse, they are the responsibility of the Postal Service. I believe the best thing for you to do is to contact your local post office. They will have more up to date information and should be able to answer any and all questions relating to your package. None the less, I am very sorry you have not received your order.

Sharon
Shipping Manager

The only information the Post Office will have is that I never got my seeds. Thanks for nothing.


Company representative comment on April 18, 2013:
On Apr 11, 2013 8:55 AM, Sustainable Seed Company responded with:

As an owner of this company I'm so frustrated to see this Randy. This spring season the Post Office has lost HUNDREDS of dollars worth of packages and take ZERO responsibility putting it back on us to replace the lost seeds at our expense. This is exactly why we created the $2.75 insurance option. Sharon would have instantly sent out your seed again if you had it. I don’t blame you not wanting to pay for insurance to get your seeds. It is sad our Post Office has come to this point. Just yesterday we posted to Facebook asking our customers if they would pay a dollar or two more for FedEx and we would completely refuse to ship anything USPS…yes it is that bad. We got over 150 comments about how frustrated people were with the PO and how they wouldn’t mind paying the extra to get their seeds. So, it sounds like we will join other small biz owners in abandoning the USPS. I did check your tracking # and it says it was expected to be delivered April 1st. This is why Sharon sent you that email as they sometimes turn up. If you would like we can send you replacement seed today at no expense. If they do turn up please donate them to a charity of your choosing. Again, I am truly sorry. Soon we will no longer use the USPS.


On Apr 18, 2013 11:49 AM, Sustainable Seed Company added:

Just wanted to check back. I saw the post office did finally deliver your package on April 15th (tracking # 9405510200986069044192) Today the replacement package was delivered by FedEx tracking # 344059015012707

Positive LilyD
Bristol, VT
(2 reviews)
April 9, 2013
I ordered a fairly large order this spring for my vegetable garden. The order was reasonably priced for organic heirloom seeds and was sent out promptly. Shipping was reasonable and the company as a whole was a pleasure to deal with. I can also say that out of the seeds that I have started in my green house. (Banana Pepper, Jalapeno, Green Pepper, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Artichoke and Eggplant) All have produced with at least 95% germination and are doing well. I plan on saving seeds from these plants for my plantings for future years but will definitely order all my other seed needs through this company again. I can't be more pleased.
Positive barnstormer737
(1 review)
April 8, 2013
I just wanted to write a review to praise Sustainable Seed. This winter i got bored and started to germinate seeds in my 65 degree house. Even though my temperature was lower than what the seed packets called for (Wonder Peppers) I still had over 95 percent germination. I am very happy with how fast my seeds come when I order them and they always throw in a freebie. I love this company and I stand by them.


Jon
Positive croatian
Karlovac
Croatia
(3 reviews)
March 29, 2013
I'm very pleased with this company.
I made an order on 18.3.2013. and seeds arrived by mail on 29.3.2013. It's very prompt considering I'm from Croatia.
Beside 5 seed packages which I ordered I also received one as a gift.
Good service, I will certainly order from them again if I'll need it.
Positive melody
Benton, KY (Zone 7a)
(40 reviews)
March 12, 2013
I'm very pleased with how promptly and carefully my order was shipped. The seed packs are made from recycled paper and I'm proud to do business with a vendor that has consciously decided to provide an organic and open-pollinated product in a sustainable manner.
Positive raspberryjenn
(Zone 5b)
(1 review)
February 19, 2013
My experience with Sustainable Seed Company was completely positive!

They carry so many different varieties of USA-grown heirloom seeds that I had a hard time choosing which type to indulge in this year. The prices are so reasonable (I did not have a single seed packet above $2.75, and I paid extra on that one for organic seeds. Most seeds were below $2.00.) that I was able to afford more seeds than I had originally planned.

As for the company's reliability and promptness: Not only did they ship my seeds the day after I placed my order (which I was not expecting, as I did not pay for expedited shipping), but they got my order right, and even included a handwritten 'Thank You' on the order slip.

When you check out at the SSC online store they include an inexpensive option to insure your package before they ship it, which I personally find reassuring. (Anyone who has dealt with mail issues with any company knows that insurance on a package is worth whatever it costs--in this case, only around three dollars.)

The seed packets were sent in a well-padded envelope for safe shipping. They are bright, colorful, and informative, and they are made of recycled materials. It is obvious that this is a small company, and that they are truly committed to their work to make the earth a better place to live.

I plan to save seed this year from my lovely heirlooms, so I won't be ordering the same seeds next year...but I will most certainly consider ordering some new varieties from SSC to add to my garden.

Highly recommended!
Positive jeremybro
Saint George, KS
(4 reviews)
January 18, 2013
I have ordered from them several times. In all cases, I have received prompt shipments of exactly what I ordered. Kudos.

I have been experimenting with small scale grain raising on my acreage, and they have just the size packages I need, not hybrid or GMO, so I can save my seed for next year.

I always end up ordering one packet of their rare grains for more $ than anyone should ever spend on grain seed, but I enjoy raising something different, and, in a year or two, I may have built up enough seed where I can grind some. It is still strange to me to see a row of 25 wheat seedlings being babied like little tomato plants.
Positive Giulianna
Fairfield, CA (Zone 9b)
(2 reviews)
September 24, 2012
I ordered for the first time from Sustainable Seed Company. While another company is my main supplier, there are certain varieties they do not carry. Sustainable Seed met my needs by carrying grains, sugar beets, golden beets, etc and delivered the product promptly. I have just planted two of the items I ordered so I will update this when I see how they germinate. I am growing an indoor/outdoor winter garden. Excited to see how this transpires. :)
Positive mysteeltoes
Cleveland, FL
(1 review)
June 8, 2012
I stumbled onto the Garden Watchdog as I began "googling" sustainable seed info; and in doing so I began reading the reviews for Sustainable Seed Company, and just couldn't imagine anyone having issue with them.
I ordered last September (you must remember that October in S FL is like April in the North ~ we can finally go outside without suffering from heat exhaustion :~). Their website is great. You can just keep adding little tid-bits to your cart so easily! By the time I was done my order was $50+ (small beans compared to most I assume), and the shipping only amounted to $5+/-. I received the order quickly; and while one of the packets was incorrect, they sent the correct one to me right away, and at no additional charge!
I may have gotten voicemail the first time I called, I really don’t remember; but what I do remember is that they were so pleasant on the phone, and treated me like I shopped with them all the time. I’ve since recommended them to as many people as I can, and have every intention of ordering from them again. Their product knowledge and reference info is extensive.
These types of companies are the backbone of our nation; and if we hope to have any shot at maintaining the freedoms that our forefathers so desperately fought for, we better start recognizing it, and not quibble over a few dollars shipping charge. These people are not rolling in dough, or trying to gouge their customers. I think they believe in what they are doing, and provide a quality product for a very fair price. If there is a problem they work to correct it swiftly. It’s obvious they care about what they do.
Oh yeah ~ and the seeds did great ~ organic gardening in S FL is not for the timid ~ I think our earworms must be on steroids ~ if nothing else, we’ve got great beaches and giant bugs!
Positive TLHGardener
Tallahassee, FL
(3 reviews)
May 6, 2012
Several weeks ago I placed a small order for seed from Sustainable Seed Co. I was a little apprehensive after reading some of the comments about their shipping costs on this site.

However, the company has apparently made some (good) changes which give you some clear options on the shipping. The changes also allow you to know exactly the cost of the shipping. The shipping was only $3.07 for my small order. I thought this was very reasonable.

The order was fulfilled quickly and I had the order in less than a week. I will report more on the quality of the seeds in the Fall. But so far I am impressed .
Positive RiverNymph
the Mountains, CO (Zone 4a)
(3 reviews)
April 11, 2012
After researching probably hundreds of seed suppliers, I chose this company to go with this year. I ordered in February, received about 25 packets within five days. I ordered some very unique varieties of black tomatoes, including the Black Sea Man, Chocolate Stripes, Japanese Truffle, great varieties of Kale, Peppers.... My tomatoes are about a month old, and already are are well over a foot and a half tall and putting out flowers. They are truly the healthiest looking tomato plants I have ever grown. I would have to conclude that this company truly cares about the quality of seed they distribute. A+++ I would recommend this company to any one looking to get quality plants this year!!! THANKS!!
Positive mhiker83
Sonoma, CA
(2 reviews)
March 12, 2012
I have place many orders with Sustainable Seed Company over the several years I have known about them and they are absolutely my go-to source for seeds! I have never had any issues with them or their seeds and the staff is great. Additionally, Sustainable Seed Co is very generous with non-profit organizations. I have been involved with a group that Sustainable Seed Company has partnered with to send seeds to an orphanage in El Salvador. Sustainable Seed Co is going to get my business for a long time to come.
Negative endofthelanegar
MacConnelsville, OH
(1 review)
February 10, 2012
Posted on February 9, 2012, updated February 10, 2012
I decided to try this company with a small order first...about $34.00. During checkout, the shipping charge was stated to be $9.20, but when emailed after ordering, the shipping showed as $22.00. I called (got voice mail) and emailed immediately, stating that if the $22.00 was correct, please cancel the order. If the $9.20 was correct, please ship the order. Later that day I got a phone message saying the actual shipping cost was $11.00. I said ship the order but I would not order anything else since I believe a company should stick to its statements. (Nowhere on the website did anything say the shipping cost was an estimate. Besides, $22.00 shipping on a $34.00 order. Come on.) The company's response was to cancel the order. That's not the behavior of a company I want to deal with.

On February 10th, 2012, endofthelanegar added the following:

I would normally not take the time to answer the company's response, but in this case, the response was untrue, so I must. My voicemail said no such thing...it said if the shipping was $22.00, then cancel the order. At that point the company had not even told me that it would reduce the charge to $11.00. This company is obviously attempting to make the mistreatment of a customer look like something it was not. When the company told me the charge would be reduced to $11.00, I very specifically, in an email, told the company to send the order. My email was answered telling me the order was cancelled. The exact words were, "I have just cancelled your order and have refunded your card, you will no longer need to be concerned with this order." Mistreating a customer is bad enough...misrepresenting that mistreatment is even worse.
Company representative comment on February 10, 2012:
On Feb 9, 2012 1:04 PM, Sustainable Seed Company responded with:

Hi there Debra,
As we stated in our email to you, the $9.20 was only an estimated shipping charge, which is what shows up BEFORE you enter your address information. Once logged into the system with the ACTUAL address information, the shipping system gave several shipping options, one of which was $22 (which if you go on the USPS site and estimate the shipping of 7 lbs from 95428 to Ohio, shows a shipping of over $24, so we were actually "eating" $2 if shipped via priority). In response to your voicemail, we called back a few hours later (left a message w/your daughter) and assured you that we would choose the lowest price shipping option, which was a flat rate box. However that turned out to be $11.35...
Your voicemail was quite clear though, that if the shipping was to be the $11.00, to immediately cancel the order, which we did. We ordinarily refund orders in 7-10 days, but since you seemed quite upset, we made sure to refund it immediately as a courtesy.
We did just as you asked. I'm sorry you misunderstood the shipping system. In order to keep this from happening again, we have removed the estimated feature of the shipping program so no one becomes confused again. Happy Gardening!


On Feb 10, 2012 2:09 PM, Sustainable Seed Company added:

Sent: Wed 2/8/2012 10:08 AM
"I left a message on your answering machine...when I ordered this, the shipping shown was $9.20...then it showed up here as $22.00. If the $9.20 is correct, continue with the order...if the $22.00 is correct, cancel the order. Either way, email me with the correct amount."
====

We left you a message with your daughter when we called and couldn't get you, sent an email, and did as you requested - cancel the order.

Your voicemail asked us to do the same as your email - you were clearly upset regarding the shipping costs as you told us to immediately cancel the order if it were to be $22 and to ship it if the shipping costs were $9.20.

Your dollar amount of $9.20 as we previously stated was an estimated amount that calculated prior to your entering your shipping address. The system cannot calculate an actual cost until you log in and it has your zip code. Then it calculates the weight based on your zip code and gives you a couple of options to choose in price.

Given the tone of your email, we thought it best to simply cancel the order, and issue an immediate refund as your email said that "you would not be doing business with us in the future". We thought this course of action was best so as to avoid any further misunderstanding. You were never "mistreated" and I don't understand how you make that claim. I've personally talked to everyone involved with your complaint. We responded to all of your requests within hours of you making the request and did just as you asked. Again, I'm sorry you misunderstood the shipping system as I feel you still don't understand what happened. We have eliminated that part of the shipping program so this misunderstanding never happens again.

Positive criplegarden
SNOW CAMP, NC
(4 reviews)
January 7, 2012
I ordered Several pkts. of various seed last season and was very impressed with the seed. I had no problems with shipping and the germination seemed to be fine to great. I will use them again. I am hard to please & I recommend them.
Positive carthur
Keller, TX
(2 reviews)
October 21, 2011
First time purchasing seeds from this company and had a positive experience. I placed the order online and within a few hours had an email stating it was shipped. The package was received completed as expected in a timely manner. Prices and service were good.
Positive Emmentaler
Baldwin City, KS
(3 reviews)
May 31, 2011
Posted on May 3, 2011, updated May 31, 2011
The seeds arrived in a timely manner. They were labeled with seed year, germination rates, exact variety. Great quality packaging and excellent web site. I will be using them as much as possible for grain seeds.
On May 31st, 2011, Emmentaler added the following:

Flax seed in and germination is excellent. I will post when buckwheat is up. I placed another order with them and they went out of their way to fill a request for a bulk item.
Negative dernce
(1 review)
February 22, 2011
Seeds didn't arrive and tracking number said USPS received electronic label but nothing else. Called the company and they blamed the post office, said they would research and email me. Then just emailed me the same tracking number. I replied and their next response said the post office sometimes doesn't update until delivery and asked me to call USPS. Did but they claimed SSC didn't deliver to them. I had to call SSC again and then wait for refund to be approved.

They sound like a small company and this doesn't seem to be a common occurance. Hope its a one off and they continue to please others - though I probably won't risk them again. Too late to plant my Goldman's this year. :( Reviewing here in case the Sustainable Seed Company turns out to not be sustainable.
Company representative comment on February 22, 2011:
On Feb 22, 2011 4:00 PM, Sustainable Seed Company responded with:

Dear David,
As you say we are a small family owned company and to that end we are very conscientious of packages going out. In fact our mail lady has had the same route for 23 years and is excellent in taking care of our packages.

Your package was mailed 2/8/11 and assigned a tracking ID. You were emailed this tracking number 2/8/11. This information is a part of postal record. Your package was sent.

Unfortunately, we have no control over that package once it leaves our warehouse. The second time we contacted you and sent the tracking ID again because the P.O. said you failed to claim your package. We wanted to make sure you had the right tracking # to claim your package.

When you called today and said you still didn't have your package we said we would send it again or refund you. You asked for a refund. A refund of your total amount of $9.81 was issued. I'm not sure how this constitutes a negative rating or how this could have been handled differently. I'm open to suggestions. I'm very sorry your first experience with us was not a positive one.
Farmer John

Positive SherrySKennedy
Hillsdale, WY
(4 reviews)
January 31, 2011
Excellent selection of grain and cover crop seeds. I ordered several varieties a few days ago. They arrived today, well packed, plus a free packet of watermelon seed was included.
Positive JDWHIT
Andrews, TX
(6 reviews)
January 5, 2011
Good prices, quick delivery, and a free seed packet even though my order was small.
Positive lolapooch
Saint James, NY
(1 review)
April 13, 2009
The web site is very hepful and informative. As a first time gardener, I ordered many heirloom seed vegetable varities, and a few flower packets. My order arrived from CA to NY in 3 days! I also received a complimentary packet of carrot seeds! I also like the idea of sustainable gardening. On the web site, they offer information about how to save heirloom seeds for the following years planting!
Positive bcoulam
Cedar Hills, UT (Zone 6a)
(1 review)
April 11, 2009
My feedback would be more valuable if I'd ordered from other seed companies before and could compare, but it looks like I stumbled on the right one the first time.

Getting around to thinking about growing my own seedlings a bit late (middle of March), I was dismayed to find some seed sites claiming 3 to 6 week waits. Through someone's blog, I came upon Sustainable's site and was immediately impressed at the variety, prices, promise to ship as fast as possible, and personal attention and comments on each seed; good stuff for a newbie like me.

I was able to find everything I was hoping to plant on their website, and then some. Other heirloom sites had fairly limited selection. I am very excited to try the self-blanching cauliflower.

I believe my order arrived with the week. So far I've gotten 90 to 95% germination of those I'm starting in seed trays. I would have been just as pleased if they hadn't thrown in some "thank you" seeds, but they did, which sends a clear message they want to exceed expectations and keep you as a customer.

Very impressed. Highly recommended.
Positive kwells
Petaluma, CA (Zone 9a)
(4 reviews)
March 25, 2009
I'm so sick of the large seed companies like Park:( etc. charging such high prices and then short changing the amount of seed I finally got. I decided to try Sustainable after seeing others such positive reviews. I placed my order on Sunday online & got my seeds on Tuesday. It is so great that most of the seeds are 99 cents, it allows me to try several different seeds I would normally not buy because of the cost.
There was no "thank you" seed packets, but who cares at these prices!!
2 big thumbs up for this company!
Positive lesleyscasa
Paicines, CA
(1 review)
March 24, 2009
My first experience with Sustainable Seed Company was unbelievable! After finding other companies quoting order delays of 2 and 3 weeks (or more!), I determined to check out other sources on Dave's Garden; SSC had excellent reviews so I decided to try them.

Their site was quite nice and easy to navigate; they offer open-pollinated, heirloom seed...vegetables, flowers, grain, herbs, wildflowers, books, etc. They had all the old, time-proven varieties I wanted and a notation of how much of each was in stock. Many of the packets were priced at 99 cents. The history and info was something not found elsewhere.

They stated that they were dealing with the order surge by working 14 hour days and were thus able to get orders out within 48 hours. Here's the unbelievable part: I ordered at 6:57 PM (after hours) and received several emails; one came in at 7:03 PM stating that my order had shipped, SIX MINUTES after ordering! A couple of days later, my order was here, well-packaged; the packets were very pretty and had lots of info, and a usable thank you gift was included. Actual postage on the box was $4.95; I had been charged $4.99, so I guess I paid all of 4 cents for the packaging, labeling, paperwork, etc.(!)

But 2 packets were missing! An email to Farmer John produced (again in six minutes) a nice apology and a promise to send them out "in today's mail". He must have done that as I received them only a couple of days later. Mistakes can and do occur; the important thing is that this company goes out of its way to make things right.

Now, all seeds are planted and are showing a real high germination rate. I also appreciate them pointing out when certain varieties may be difficult and giving me advice as how best to proceed with those.

I've left the most important thing for last...Farmer John and his staff clearly have a mission...a most wonderful mission. While the name of the company says it clearly, you can find it better expressed than I can do by clicking on the "About Us", "Philosophy", and "Community" tabs on their site.

Remember, sustainable agriculture is that which allows us to grow food and beauty year after year for ourselves, our families and friends, irrespective of what goes on in the world outside our gardens. I have been saving seeds for many years; it is easy and fun.

This small company is truly a gem; they and their mission deserve our support...and when and if we give that, we too reap bountiful rewards. Thank you, Farmer John and Sustainable Seed Company for being there for us.
Positive jadesboutique
New Ringgold
United States
(1 review)
March 15, 2009
I can't say enough good things about this company. I placed an order with Sustainable Seed Company because they offer open pollenated, heirloom seeds starting at .99 a package. I liked the layout of the site as it was very easy to understand & to navigate. The information about each of the seeds was helpful and I liked reading about the seed growers.

I placed my order 3 days ago (from the opposite coast) & I have already received my package. Everything was packaged nicely with cute seed packets and I even got an extra thank-you seed packet.

The customer service is also superb. I emailed a question in to the site & recieved an answer within literally a few minutes. They were helpful & very friendly and it was a personal response - not a computer generated one.

I am thrilled with my purchase & will come back to this site to buy my future seed purchases. I recommend this company to anyone who wants the best seeds for the best money.
Positive Reversemidas
Vienna, VA (Zone 7a)
(8 reviews)
March 7, 2009
Yes, and double Wow from me as well. I tried this seed company after reading the other posts here and figured I'll give them a try. They are super super fast. I put in my order on Sunday, they confirmed it within that hour, got email notification of order, as well as order shipped email. Now that is customer service for you! Even with a small order that I placed, I got a pack of thank you seeds as well. And yes, that thank you seed packet was even something I would of tried as well. The seeds came in on Wednesday. That was only 3 days from the West coast to the East Coast. Yes I totally agree as the other posts the packets are filled with more than indicated. I think that makes a lot of good sense to be on the plus side when they were filling these packets. Give them a try just like I did. Also ordering on their online system was very straightforward and showed a lot of thought put into standing up this startup seed company. Thought they didn't have some selections yet, but I'm looking forward to coming back to see what else they offer.
On March 7th, 2009, Reversemidas added the following:

Oppsss...forgot to mention. They carry open pollinated seeds and that's a definite plus for me.
On May 24th, 2009, Reversemidas added the following:

Did my second order and it was just as fast. Ordered online on 14 May 2009 and received my seeds in my hands on 18 May 2009. Four Days is all it took to get seeds back to me from their location on the West Coast to my location on the East Coast. Now that is exceptional service compared to other vendor's feedback of taking one week, two weeks, months or never. This Sustainable Seed Company has the customer interest in mind and reflects that in the service they provide, that gardeners like us home gardeners have a some window of opportunity to grow flowers and vegetables. It's very refreshing to purchase from an exceptional online seed company. This company is a keeper in my books for future seed purchases. Also my seeds were send to me priority mail just like that. Also got a free pack of parsnips seeds. I will give that a try, never grew parsnips before. :-) Give them a try just like I did and you will find yourself coming back for more and with the 99 cents sale on some of their vegetable seeds, what more can you ask for. Heck, even the other seeds are to me at reasonable prices too. I am looking forward to them expanding their selection of seeds as well. Super happy with the seed selection and the time of arrival. Also they even sent me 3 emails, 1) an email within the half our that they have my order, 2) an email that they were processing my order and finally 3) an email that they shipped my order. And I got my seeds in Four (4) days total. That is super fantastic. What more can you ask for? I hope they continue with their fantastic service for years to come. :-)
Positive zzzil
(1 review)
March 5, 2009
What a great experience! I received email saying my seeds had shipped before I even left the computer after ordering. The seeds arrived a couple days later and I've just popped some Neon Chard and Oregon Sugar Pod II in the dirt. The service was just great! I got exactly what I ordered plus some thank-you seeds. The web page ordering is simple, straight-forward and fast. I highly recommend Sustainable Seed Co!
Positive drub
Cupertino, CA
(1 review)
February 28, 2009
This is a new supplier, judging from the web site. It lacks some product photos.

Just received my first order. I am quite favorably impressed. They really got some things right! Each envelope had about 50% more seed than advertised. I spot check such things. *All* packages were over weight!

My order was received in about 4 days.

A lot of their prices were very low. Especially when considering the extra seeds in the envelopes. There were a lot of $.99 and $1.49 prices available.

They also tossed in a few extra "thank you" envelopes as a bonus. My order was modest, so extras were also pleasant surprised me.

This kind of customer care is pretty unusual these days. Very nice! They will be my first destination for my next order. Easy to recommend them.

Have a good growing season!
Positive savanah2233
Medford, OR
(1 review)
February 27, 2009
VERY Positive. The site is super easy to navigate, no glitches in the check out line, and I got an immediate email about one of my choices that needed to be changed. I had the seeds in my hot little hands in less than 5 business days! AND I got free seeds that I didn't order!! And I didn't even need to get out of my pajamas.

It's a great seed company with the quality I require. I'm looking forward to getting my sprouts ready for the garden.

These guys have primo sources, so look no further - you'll have wonderful food this summer and fall without spending nearly as much as you did last year.
Positive SonomaWine
Sonoma, CA
(2 reviews)
February 27, 2009
I can't think of any of the Heirloom, Open Pollinated, Non GMO seed companies that have seed packets starting at 99 cents and they have over 99 varieties at that price.

Plus when I got my seeds they came with extra "ThankYou" packets that I really will use.

They had the grains I was looking to grow for my chickens plus the vegetables for me and flowers for my wife!!

I found Sustainable Seed Company prices, fast service and web-site excellent.

Well worth an Order.

Have a Great Day!!
Frank

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America