Photo by Melody

The scoop on 'Dancing Oaks Nursery'

bookmark
  Company Profile  
Dancing Oaks Nursery

Dancing Oaks Nursery has 203 products listed in PlantScout.

Mailing Address:
17900 Priem Rd
Monmouth, Oregon 97361 (United States)

Phone: 503 838-6058
Fax: 503 838-6058

Visit Dancing Oaks Nursery at:

» E-Mail them
Add to Bookmarks
» Visit their website
» Like them on Facebook
Recent reviews:
Past month Past 6 Months Past 12 Months
Positive 0 2 3
Neutral 0 0 0
Negative 0 0 0
This company offers a variety of bulbs and plants.

This company specializes in:

  Company Comment, posted on March 16, 2011:  
We offer a collector's mix of unusual plants that have proven hardy in our zone 7 garden in the foothills of the Oregon Coast Range.

  Feedback History and Summary  
19 positives
1 neutral
No negatives

Comments:

RatingAuthorContent
Positive WTCHHoDog
Monroe, OR
(4 reviews)
July 28, 2014
Got a coupon at a local garden seminar, and since I had wanted to visit for several years, finally had a good day to go, so I went. Leonard is THE go-to guy for Japanese Maples. He truly has not only a passion for them but knowledge about growing them in pots, in our area of Oregon, about an hour SW of the nursery. And the selection of rare, unusual and exotic plants is second to none! It's well off the beaten path but so worth the long drive up the gravel road thru farmland and natural areas.

This review is for plants bought AT the nursery, NOT via mail order/website.
Positive coquina
Baltimore, MD
(1 review)
April 16, 2014
My order was taken care of immediately.
They did not have one of the two Astrantias I ordered and telephoned me to offer a substitute Astrantia.
Very helpful person on the phone. I received everything sooner than promised - from Oregon to Maryland!
Sturdy plants with lots of healthy green foliage.

Positive MulchingMan
Eugene, OR
(6 reviews)
November 4, 2013
This is one of the few nurseries that carries a good selection of xeriscaping plants and is within reasonable driving distance of my house. A couple of months ago, I purchased a Ceanothus 'Blue Jeans', an Arctostaphylos 'John Dourley', and a Salvia pachyphylla (good luck finding one of those elsewhere in Oregon!). The plants were of high quality and seem to be doing well in my dry border so far. I inquired about availability via e-mail prior to visiting and they did a good job of getting back to me quickly, even offering to put a two-gallon plant on hold for me. The person that I spoke to at the nursery was also very nice and helpful.
Positive Gourd
Mesilla Park, NM
(22 reviews)
July 31, 2013
Posted on July 29, 2013, updated July 31, 2013
Posted on July 24, 2013, updated July 29, 2013
Posted on July 24, 2013, updated July 24, 2013
This is my first order with this company and I'm delighted and pleasantly surprised at the size the clematis plants were. I ordered three of the small flowering Clem's and was also sent an extra bonus plant. I've ordered from several sites that charge alot more for their plants and this is the first time anyone sends a free bonus plant. It sure is nice to have a positive expire eve on your first order.. Would definitely recommend to others and will not hesitate to order from them in the future.

Antoinette
On July 24th, 2013, Gourd changed the rating from positive to negative and added the following:

Well, I just came in from potting up two of the clematis and am extremely disappointed in the fact that this company potted UP into a large clematis pot a clematis what appears to be a tad larger than a plug, one in each pot. It was very deceiving when I received and unpacked my box. They appeared to be larger than what they really are. What was in the pots were two very small three inch roots that were in these 7 or 8 " tall black plastic pots that were nothing but mostly soil, very few short roots. I feel cheated and this type of behavior needs to be posted when companies do this. This is happening more and more often with the mail order companies that think we have no recourse.

Changed my rating to negative, a freebie small plant does not make up for deceit.
On July 28th, 2013, Gourd added the following:

Sent message to dancing oaks in hopes of a resolution and hopefully get a bit larger plant in the fall. I will change my rating at that time. I am sure this was an over site and it sounds like they want to correct this error. I look forward to resolving this matter.
On July 31st, 2013, Gourd changed the rating from negative to positive and added the following:

A full refund is to be credited to my card. Changed my rating to positive and will check card statement next month. Representatives have been very pleasant to deal with, only now they have opted to only sell this clematis in store only which is too bad because this is one of the loveliest of the bell type Clem's.
Company representative comment on July 25, 2013:
On Jul 25, 2013 8:20 AM, Dancing Oaks Nursery responded with:

Hello Antoinette,

Our apologies for any perceived deception, this was not our intent. We are sorting out the bugs for the entire mail order process. These plants should have waited to be shipped to you this Fall; an inventory oversight we are working to address.

Of course, if you have any concerns about your order please feel free to contact us. We will do all we can to rectify the situation. We strive to keep our customers happy and want to make things right with you.
Have a good day,
Dancing Oaks Crew

Positive mboutet
Rochester, NY
(12 reviews)
July 5, 2013
I ordered Gillenia trifoliata 'Pink Profusion' and Corydalis elata. 'Pink Profusion' is hard to find and they sent a very nice 16" plant. Corydlais elata is also not that common. I ordered 2 and they sent me 3 All of the plants were healthy and growing strongly. The packaging was all biodegradable. The plants were packed carefully and received minimal damage during shipping, which took 2 days from Oregon to upstate New York!

Just a wonderful experience.
Positive morningloree
Heathrow, FL
(12 reviews)
February 6, 2013
I had ordered 2 Winter Daphnes, but only one was available. I was contacted promptly and my order sent out that day. My Daphne arrived very healthy and beautiful, a wonderful bonus plant was also included. A Hebe speciousa tricolor was included. I had not tried this plant before, but it was perfect for my yard and zone. I am really impressed with the promptness in processing my mailing order, courteous service and thoughtfulness. Will be ordering again soon. Highly recommended.
Positive psychloman
Brooklyn, NY (Zone 7a)
(50 reviews)
May 13, 2012
Posted on September 17, 2011, updated May 13, 2012
Order of six cyclamen purpurascens and one alstroemeria arrived in perfect shape.Packaging is top-notch and rootballs had just the right moisture level which they retained during shipping.Plants are very nice size and, given the price, an excellent value.Also a very nice selection of plants.
On May 13th, 2012, psychloman added the following:


This year I ordered 1Tropaeolum speciosum,6 Cyclamen purpurascens and one Mitraria coccinea. these plants are not easy to find on line but Dancing oaks sent me beautiful specimens.I've ordered from them in the past and their plants always do well for me.Highly recommended.
Positive willisjw
Frederick, MD
(5 reviews)
April 20, 2012
I received 3 Lathrus aureus as a gift. They arrived uniformly large and healthy.
Neutral magnaastra
Charleston, IL (Zone 6a)
(42 reviews)
April 12, 2012
First order with this company. Also, last order with this company.

Ordered six Amorphophallus konjac tubers advertised as "6 inch rounds" on their website.

Received six packages of tiny bulblets, averaging the size of a marble. Largest two bulblets were the size of a half-dollar, the rest considerably smaller. thus, marble-sized average.

Bought seven A konjac tubers from another vendor for the same amount of money. Averaged three-and-one-half pounds PER TUBER, and were uniformly FIVE-AND-ONE-HALF to SIX INCHES in diameter...they had to be shipped in two boxes. Healthy bulbs, too, just coming off a bloom cycle.

Only reason I'm not giving Dancing Oaks the big "N" rating: their customer service rep was easy to work with re: a billing issue; and even though I am tremendously disappointed with the product, their management did perhaps make it a bit easier to swallow by adjusting down the sales and shipping prices from the original [exhorbitant, IMO] amounts.

Caveat emptor.
Positive Ispahan
Chicago, IL (Zone 6a)
(55 reviews)
April 5, 2012
Posted on March 24, 2012, updated April 5, 2012
Wow, wow, wow! I placed my first order with this nursery and was delighted when I received my shipment of plants. Everything was large, healthy and lovingly packed. In fact, some plants--like the Trifolium ochroleucon (sometimes spelled ochroleucum)--were so unbelievably huge that I divided each one into two before planting. Had I wanted to, I probably could have gotten many more still sizable divisions from each plant. Shipping was absolutely lightning fast and Leonard was wonderful to deal with when I e-mailed him some order changes. And considering this nursery is located in the Pacific Northwest, shipping costs to my area were quite reasonable.

There are so many wonderful plants for sale on their website that I know I will be placing many more orders with them in the future. I have ordered from dozens and dozens of nurseries over the years and Dancing Oaks is definitely right up there in the top 10 for value, quality and friendliness! I hope they keep up the excellent work in the future.
On April 5th, 2012, Ispahan added the following:

Just received a second order from Dancing Oaks and it was just a good as the first. Highly recommended!
Positive DaveH
San Francisco, CA (Zone 10a)
(29 reviews)
January 25, 2012
I just received my first order from Dancing Oaks, and am pleased with my plants. Since it's January, they are all dormant, so I can only judge the size of the plants from their root balls. I ordered four plants, and received a free bonus plant, a cute little Dicentra. The plants were very well packed in damp newspaper and plastic wrap, although I would fault them slightly because three of the plants were sent taken out of their pots. I suppose it saves a bit of weight that way, but it was a bit messy having to immediately repot the somewhat crumbly root balls. They have some interesting plants, and prices are very reasonable.
Positive SwimmingJewel
Southold, NY (Zone 7b)
(6 reviews)
October 8, 2011
I received my order from Dancing Oaks at the beginning of this week. I am still smiling ear to ear because the plants are so beautiful and big! The plants came all the way across the US, to the very east end of Long Island, and arrived looking like they were hand delivered, thanks to Dancing Oaks awesome packing. I can't forget to mention the excellent customer service via emails back and forth before I finally ordered. Leonard was very patient with me as I deliberated which plants to get this late in the season. But I could not resist such an awesome selection.

Thanks Dancing Oaks and Leonard!
Positive temporary
Hood River, OR
(1 review)
August 24, 2011
Perfect experience: This was a phone order and they answered the phone right away. No leaving a message and waiting for a call back. I was helped by a very knowledgeable person who was patient, answered all my questions knew his inventory including the age and size of various plants and accommodated a rush order.

Perfect plants: The plants were carefully packaged and arrived in pristine condition. All of them were of the best quality and large for their quoted size.

Perfect prices: I got a great value.

Could not have asked for a better plant buying experience.
Positive Beckah
Memphis, TN
(4 reviews)
August 18, 2011
I have now dealt with quite few online plant companies .and I have to say the Dancing Oaks Nursery is right up there among the best. The Jasmines (Fiona Sunrise) that I ordered arrived in beautiful condition; a great size and very healthy. They weren't packaged in a pot but were wrapped very securely in a waxed paper and tape sort of configuration that worked just as well. You could tell they hadn't moved an inch during transit. They were still very moist and lovely. Leonard was nice enough to email me of their concerns about shipping during the intense heat of summer and asked if I would prefer that they defer shipping until we got a cooler spell of weather. The plants would have left the nursery in fine condition they just would not have been able to guarantee viability on arrival with temperatures above 85 degrees. ..They were concerned with the health of plants by the time they got to me. I opted for them to wait a bit. The next week the weather was a lot better and they arrived with no problem whatsoever. ..Will I be doing business with Dancing Oaks again? ..You bet I will.
Positive Desertdenial5
Tolleson, AZ (Zone 9a)
(26 reviews)
June 9, 2011
Posted on June 9, 2011, updated June 9, 2011
Just received my order and it was fantastic! The plants came in perfect shape, They were well packed. I was amazed at the size of them. The postage on mine was also more than was charged and I made sure to send the difference. I also received an extra gift plant. The e-mail communication was excellent too!
On June 9th, 2011, marieortiz added the following:

I wanted to add that I sent the difference in shipping to them because more often than not I am charged way more than it cost to ship an item and I really appreciate the fact that they are not over charging
Positive plant_collector
Oak Ridge, TN
(13 reviews)
June 2, 2011
This was my first order from Dancing Oaks and I was well pleased. The plants were of decent size for the price and well packaged. This is one of the very few plant orders I have ever received where the shipping cost was actually more than I payed. They also included a free bonus plant in my order - wish more nurseries would do this. Will order again from them.
Positive dtpforu
Winston-Salem, NC (Zone 7a)
(7 reviews)
May 1, 2011
I just ordered from them for the first time a week ago. The plants cam packaged very well and made the trip from OR to NC with no problems or damage. I am VERY pleased with the size and rootsystem of the plants. I would highly reccomend them.
Vickie
Positive colchie
Vashon, WA (Zone 8a)
(12 reviews)
April 27, 2011
I was looking for Carpenteria "elizabeth" after seeing the shrub outside the gym, and then finally figuring out what it was.
I ordered frdom Dancing Oaks, and bought a couple of other plants, as mentioned, to offset shipping costs. The plants arrived nicely packaged. Not in pots, but in brown wax paper surrounded by plastic wrap. These were as secure as in a pot and with less weight. All were good sized and very healthy. I will order from these guys again!
Positive InsaniD
Columbia, MO
(9 reviews)
April 14, 2011
Wow, What a great outfit. We were a bit leery of ordering from a company with only one review and that being by a "local", but we were looking for Hacquetia after seeing it in "Fine Gardening" (issue 137) and "Dancing Oaks" was the only US retail website that seemed to be offering it. When we contacted them about availability, we were told, "...we sold out the Hacquetia this year so fast it made my head spin." And we were asked if we would like to go on a waiting list, which we said yes to. A week later we get a email from them and they have found some root divisions and wondered if we would like them?

Since shipping is quite high, we decided to add a couple of other plants to the order to offset some of the shipping cost. The Hacquetia was a bit on the small side (sort of expected - but it does have flowers on it!), but the other plants were just as we expected, or even better. The packing was ok - not the best I've seen, not the worst, and no matter - it worked. My only concern it that they do use shredded paper stuffed down among the foliage, and that might be an issue in the hotter days of summer as the paper absorbs moisture and could "steam" the foliage.

But all in all, we really do recommend them. They have some really hard to find plants and send out healthy, strong specimens. And they go beyond what they need to for customer service - like finding you the plant you really want when they are all out of it...
Thanks "Dancing Oaks"!
Positive susybell
Vancouver, WA (Zone 8a)
(20 reviews)
March 16, 2011
This is one of my very favorite regional nurseries. Great selection of interesting plants and really friendly people. A visit here in the spring is a great treat. I've also bought from them at plant shows and their quality is always very high. I didn't know they did mail order, that must be new.

Read the rest of the comments


Add your own comment and rating to this company

Return to the Garden Watchdog homepage

Learn how to link to this page


We recommend Firefox
Overwhelmed? There's a lot to see here. Try starting at our homepage.

[ Home | About | Advertise | Media Kit | Mission | Featured Companies | Submit an Article | Terms of Use | Tour | Rules | Privacy Policy | Contact Us ]

Back to the top

Copyright © 2000-2014 Dave's Garden, an Internet Brands company. All Rights Reserved.
 

Hope for America